Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Sworn Sword: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones)
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 29, 2014
I'm a GOT/ASOIAF junkie, and had sought out the three "Dunk & Egg" stories in print after finishing "A Dance of Dragons." To be honest, it was "The Mystery Knight" (D&E #3) that got me to read "A Game of Thrones." I didn't even know it was a story in the same world until midway through, and by the end, I was hooked.

The 3 (so far) "Dunk & Egg" tales take place a few generations before the events of A Game of Thrones- and they cover life in the fall out of the Targaryen schism known as the "Blackfyre" rebellion. Long story short, some Targ bastards got legitimized upon their King/Father's death, and an uprising for the Iron Throne happened. The Blackfyres lost, leaving the question of "Did you support the Black or the Red [Dragon]?" to be a dangerous political statement in its own right.

15 years after that uprising, its affects are still felt across Westeros.

The first 2 Dunk & Egg tales were made into graphic novels, and these editions are great. #1, the Hedge Knight introduces you Dunk & Egg and #2, the Sworn Sword, is a bit of standalone adventure. From what I understand, George RR Martin has plans for more of these, and they tend to be a bit more stand-alone in nature than his other writing.

In short, if you like the politics and intricacy of Westeros, but long for something a little less grim (but no less bittersweet), READ THESE. Ser Duncan the Tall (Dunk) is what Sansa Stark would call a "true knight," and would make good pals with the likes of Ned Stark, Davos Seaworth, and Brienne of Tarth.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
I think I like The Sworn Sword (The Hedge Knight 2) a little better than the first one. The first one was great and it did an awesome job of setting up the story but now we get to enjoy a real adventure with Dunk & Egg.

This graphic novel is beautifully illustrated just like the first one and kept me entertained throughout. Afterwards I looked for the final adaptation (The Mystery Knight) only to realize that that novella hasn't been adapted yet! This was disappointing but I did some research and it does seem like they are planning to complete the trio (hopefully soon).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
Great story and art, but the kindle fire edition is WORTHLESS unless you use a magnifying glass. I had assumed I could just flick and enlarge, but not so. Get the paper edition of this. Don't bother with the kindle
33 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
The second graphic novel in the Dunk and Egg series, and an interesting on in what it sets up for both Ser Duncan and Aegon. The Red Window story is actually fairly trivial and somewhat predictable, but it enables Martin to give some necessary character development as well as background to the Blackfyre rebellion, which is of much more importance to the "Song of Ice and Fire." These Dunk and Egg stories are interesting in the world-building they give in the background as well as insights into political situation before Robert's rebellion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
The illustrations are great, story is deep and has the GRRM twist on everything. What made me laugh is I was watching Season 4 of GoT and Joffrey was looking at the book of the great men of the Kings Guard and mentioned Sir Duncan the Tall, "4 pages on his deeds, thats impressive" he said. Thats the character that this graphic novel series is about so I thought that was pretty cool. There was also another GoT episode where a character mentions certain Knights that sleep under Hedges or by Hedges (The Hedge Knight), clearly a little nod to the graphic novels as well. Well done GRRM well done.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
The artwork is quite good and, though the plot is not overly complex, the story is enjoyable. The ongoing adventures of Dunk and Egg make for fun reading while awaiting the next volume in George R.R. Martin's 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series. I can heartily recommend both The Hedge Knight and The Sworn Sword to fans of Martin's books and fans of HBO's Game of Thrones. I look forward to the next installment of The Hedge Knight. Until then, I will resume The World of Ice and Fire and crack open A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
The graphic novel adaptation of the second of George R.R. Martin's Dunk & Egg novellas, not only stays true to the originally written story but gives it life with fantastic renderings of all the characters, the locales, and the action. Drawn by artist Mike S. Miller and livened by colorist Mike Crowell, "The Sworn Sword" gives both "Game of Thrones" book and show fans a great look into the history of the Seven Kingdoms as Ser Duncan (Dunk) the Tall and the future King Aegon (Egg) V learn about the greatest threat to the Targaryen throne nearly a century before Robert’s Rebellion—the Blackfyre Rebellion.

The story begins almost two years after "The Hedge Knight", Dunk and Egg are in the service to Sir Eustace Osgrey who holds a small tower but reminisces about his family’s ancient glory and his own immediate family’s misfortune. A nearly two year drought has gripped Westeros after the Great Spring Sickness—think the Black Death—resulting in water and people being short, which is when Ser Eustace’s stream disappears. After Dunk and another sworn sword, Ser Bennis, search upstream they discover that Ser Eustace’s neighbor Lady Webber has built a dam to divert the water. Soon things escalate and the two nobles begin to lob threats and promise blood vengeance as Dunk tries to find a way to make peace.

Of the work surrounding the graphic novel itself, I can only praise the work of Miller and Crowell who not only brought into visual life Dunk and Egg but so many other historically important characters in very consistent way throughout the entire book. It is hard to find fault with the work of these two men save with pointing out a few continuity errors, which unfortunately happen in every graphic novel. But when it came to the memories of Ser Eustace Osgrey about the Battle of the Redgrass Field that ended the threat of Daemon Blackfyre, the artwork is fantastic and brings the memories of the battle alive and giving justice to some of Martin’s best writing.

If you're a fan of the "A Song of Ice and Fire" world and haven't gotten this book yet I, what are you waiting for? I highly recommend this graphic novel adaptation of "The Sworn Sword" as well as the novella itself, you won’t be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have been a fan of well written graphic novels for many years. This 176 page soft cover (The Sworn Sword: The Hedge Knight by George R. R. Martin) volume takes place one hundred years before the events in “A Game of Thrones.” This is considered a Prequel to the popular series.
This fully illustrated with mostly color illustrations, as well as black and white illustrations really makes the story come alive. This story is about the adventures of the Knight Ser Duncan the tall and his squire, Egg. Their search for honor and glory in the seven kingdoms is the theme of this graphic novel series.

This issue begins with Ser Duncan and Egg investigating why the moat no longer has water flowing. They discover the flow has been damned up so it flows to crops on the coldmoat land. The order to change the direction of the stream came from “The Red Widow” who rules the coldmoat land. Ser Duncan and egg are ordered by Ser Eustace to travel to see “The Red Widow” to persuade her to take down the damn and let the precious water flow.

I never give away too much information when reviewing a novel but his story is full of schemes and political conflicts which keep the story moving at a steady pace. If you like graphic novels about knights and intrigue you should check out this interesting book.

Rating: 4 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Tactical Principles of the most effective combatives systems).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
The art makes the characters still look like models but at least they look good in their armor. My biggest issue is that they failed to convey the story in a good way. The Sworn Sword is an amazing story and it just really felt lacking and hard to follow in the graphic novel.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I thought is book was just as good as the first one. I loved the graphics and The Red Widow :)

MY FULL REVIEWS:
http://melissa413readsalot.blogspot.com/2015/10/the-sworn-sword-hedge-knight-ii.html
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1414794731
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse