BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 7, 2017
This continued to grow the story setup in the 1st book of the trilogy and the first two book pair about the Starflyer war, set in this Commonwealth’s past. I continue to be disappointed in the many shortcuts the author takes, the lack of imagination and sense or continuity sometimes, and it still often seems sexist and homophobic underneath it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2017
This book continues the series quite well. The dream realm is visited often enough to keep me interested. I will be getting the next in the series you should too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
A monotonous, slow, predictable, unexciting continuation of the first void trilogy book. The loosely related story lines continue on their independent ways. Maybe towards the end of the third book one or more of the stories will intersect? I won't find out.

This is essentially a sci-fi epic, plus a sci-fi detective, plus a young-adult fantasy book rolled into one terrible book with little effort to make us care about any of the three independent stories.

Hugely disappointing follow up to the first commonwealth series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2017
Peter F Hamilton never ceases to entertain. I love the way this series ties into Pandoras Star and Judas Unchained. It's like coming home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2017
Books 1 & 2 & 3 are all an awesome read of a future we can only hope for. So many different factions, abilities, and Edeard is just amazing. Highly recommended read for anyone that loves Sci-Fi. I think the Destiny games came from the use of Guardians and also I remember seeing Cabal mentioned also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
I read the fourth book in this series because it was highly recommended by a friend. After finishing it, I was eager to read the first three books and I've not been disappointed. Hamilton has a vast imagination, is incredibly articulate, gives such detail to his characters and plots that you feel like you actually know them and the many "added" senses they have. Long, detailed and thoroughly enjoyable. Escape to another world, another galaxy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2011
The second volume (middle third) of a 2041-page novel, The Void Trilogy. The first seven chapters and the first seven `Dreams' were published as The Dreaming Void (DV). Here the chapter numbering starts over, 1-5, but the `Dreams' continue in sequence, 8-12. Both the chapters and the `Dreams' are a bit better than in DV: chapters, 3¼ stars; `Dreams,' 4¼; overall 3¾ rounded to 4.

Before you begin The Temporal Void (TV), I very strongly urge you to read Pandora's Star (PS), Judas Unchained (JU), and DV in that order, because you will be lost in JU if you haven't read PS, lost in DV if you haven't read both PS and JU, and lost in TV if you haven't read PS, JU, and DV; and I doubt not that you will be lost in The Evolutionary Void (EV) if you haven't read all four of the above.

For the most part the story is compelling, albeit it drags occasionally, and some of the `science' seems like an attempt to sound `scientific' by one largely ignorant of science. I would have to classify this as science-fantasy, rather than science-fiction. By comparison, L. E. Modesitt, in his mostly excellent fantasy saga of Recluce*, seems much more conversant with real science! But if you can suspend disbelief, you can enjoy a pretty good tale, with interesting aliens, and two hitherto (as far as I know) unheard-of methods of interstellar travel: Most everyone takes the railroad train thru wormholes, but some walk the Silfen paths (distant cousin, perhaps, of the Egger Route^) between the stars.

Other reviewers have adequately discussed the events of TV, so why repeat here what they wrote, or add spoilers?

Readers would be greatly aided if each book contained a listing of the cast of characters, and a map of the galaxy showing the locations of the action, and local maps of those locations.

watziznayme@gmail.com

* See Magi'i of Cyador (The Saga of Recluce) and 15 sequels.
^ See The Sorceress of Karres
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2010
Peter F. Hamilton's The Temporal Void is Book 2 in his Void Trilogy. Hamilton is one of my favorite authors, primarily for his Night's Dawn series and the Commonwealth Saga (Pandora's Star and Judas Unchained). The first book in the Void Trilogy was The Dreaming Void and was released in the United States in March 2008. This second book was released in March 2009. The third (and final) book, The Evolutionary Void is expected to be released August 31, 2010.

The Void Trilogy is unusual for Hamilton, because it combines elements of fantasy and hard space opera. The setting is fifteen hundred years in the future from the events that are depicted in the Commonwealth Saga books Judas Unchained and Pandora's Star, although some of the major characters from those books are still alive (thanks to rejuvenation technology), like (my personal favorite) Paula Myo, the openly gay Oscar Monroe and Ozzie (who has become so famous his name is a regular outburst).

The Temporal Void continues immediately after the The Dreaming Void and dispenses with the background details that were necessary in that initial outing to acclimatize the reader to Hamilton's intricately detailed universe.

The best features of The Dreaming Void are included in its sequel: the continuing saga of Eldeard Waterwalker, the development of his telekinetic and telepathic powers and his ascension through the society of the medieval city-state of Makkathran.

Additionally, the space opera components of the story are stronger, but as varied as ever.
Happily, more time is spent with old familiar characters like Investigator Paula Myo and Senator Justine Burnelli, and new characters like the memory-wiped assassin Aaron and the fugitive Second Dreamer Araminta begin to intrigue and impress.

The Temporal Void fulfills the promise of the first book and sets up what should be a thrilling conclusion in the final book, The Evolutionary Void. I can't wait!

Hardcover: 736 pages.
Publisher: Del Rey.
Date: March 24, 2009.

PLOT: A+.
IMAGERY: A.
IMPACT: A-.
WRITING: A.

OVERALL GRADE: A.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 13, 2011
I am a huge fan of Hamilton, ranking him as one of my top science fiction authors. His writing always evokes the awe inspiring images needed to fuel a good space opera. The Temporal Void does not disappoint, although the fantasy elements didn't do as well this time as they did in book number 1.

Hamilton's strong points are his science fiction. Hamilton shines, spreading his wings and showing the possibilities of what a future in space could be and yet still delivers a believable and focused plot to the table. The struggle between the factions comes more in to the light, showing what they are capable of as well as in what direction they are headed. A twist propels the possibilities into any number of directions and I seriously cannot wait to see where we are taken. I love Oscar and the other Higher paramilitary forces involved, the struggle between the Delivery Man and Marius, and then of course following Aaron in his quest to find Inigo.

Where the book lags a little is the Edeard chapters. The story in and of itself is decent and you certainly get to see Edeard in a lot more action. What I don't find is executed too well is the writing of the fantasy elements seem to fall a little flat. Maybe this is because it always follows right after the science fiction, which Hamilton excels at, but it seems to be missing something. I found more often than not that when an Edeard section would start I couldn't wait to get back to the "real" writing, the "real" story. I didn't mind it so much in book 1, but it is more obvious in The Temporal Void.

I still love this series. Not nearly as much as his other two series but good none the less. I can't wait to read book 3 and discover what the Skylords are and see how Hamilton resolves the story lines. When all is said and done I would recommend this series.

4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 8, 2010
Peter F. Hamilton's "The Temporal Void," second of three (after "The Dreaming Void" and before "The Evolutionary Void," which has now appeared) is of course in no sense complete in itself; but it's preparing readers for what I hope will be an exciting finish. If you liked the first volume, you'll want this. If you didn't read the first volume, please do so first, because this is less the middle part of a trilogy than the middle of a single novel in three volumes.

This volume concentrates more on the "dream" (Edeard) sequence within the void, which is likely to displease readers who apparently aren't thrilled with that part of the tale, and maybe Mr. Hamilton does pile on the detail too much in these sequences (some of the descriptive passages could have been shortened). But he did keep my interest. And he does have fun with the hoary old adolescents who are tossed out of the edenic pastoral setting by the bad guys and grow up to . . . (which made me want to stand up and cheer). The dream sequences, too, present us with a plethora of moral conundrums, but in a most entertaining way.

Also dreaming about in the void is Justine, who is desperately finding a way to restore order to the universe, and who better to do just that?

Meanwhile, back in the Commonwealth, Mr. Hamilton finds another kitchen appliance for a character to hide out in (he seems to love doing that), and the gang of characters are getting into place, getting ready for the big finish. It should be a good one.

Stay anxious, my friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse