Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 55 reviews
on June 11, 2011
If you liked Roberto Benigni in La Vita E Bella, you will probably like this. He appears here again with his wife Nicoletta Braschi. This story goes in a different direction, so direct comparison of the two films is probably unwarranted, but you have to like Roberto's personality to like either of them. Funny bits with everything from oxygen tanks to minefields to camels are involved here. Reminds me a bit of a Woody Allen production, sometimes finding humor in unlikely places. There is one part of this film which does not segueway well, at all-it goes from very early in their relationship, to what apparently is much later, and Nicoletta ends up in Baghdad without much explanation, either. One word of warning: If you do not like singer Tom Waits, don't even think about buying this DVD. I actually like him, but they just about beat one of his songs to death in this film. You hear it early on, then maybe 5 minutes later, then maybe 30 minutes later (I didn't time it, just guessing), then again later. Personally I don't have that much tolerance for any song, even a good one, the song almost ruined the film for me. I understand there being a theme song, as there are in many movies, but this was just a bit too repetitive. The end of this movie leaves you wondering about a couple of things, and about what happens later, it could go either of two ways after we see our hero depart, we don't really know what happens, but I think about every viewer will agree on what they would like to happen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2008
Roberto Benigni has again captured the depth and dynamism of human emotion and the beauty, grit, and passion of a world where people constantly struggle between power and love. As a director and actor he has captured, and accurately, portrayed the tension often felt in life between love and pain, excitement and disappointment, hurt and forgiveness. He plays the part of a poet who chooses his profession because he wants to be able to convey exactly what he felt in any given moment to those around him. Yet, this is exactly what he is incapable of doing when he wants to express love - even to his wife. This movie captures a glimpse of the depths of human emotion and the difficulty, even for the poet, to convey what is most desired - love. It manages to be philosophically, artistically, and theatrically astute and rewarding. Benigni has now made two masterpieces highlighting theological virtues - "Life is Beautiful": hope and "The Tiger and the Snow": love. Now we just have to see if he makes another highlighting faith. As always, Nicoletta Braschi is spectacular. She has a gracefulness and charisma that simply endears her to all who watch. This movie is certainly worth having in your collection and is one worth watching many times over.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
This is a very touching movie of a poet's passion for the the woman he loves. He follows her (like Pepi le Peu going after the accidentally stripe painted cat) she keeps getting away from him but doesn't sees how truely passionate his love for her is. After she is injured in a bombing he finds a way to travel many miles to rescue her and do everything his pounding heart wills to save her. This is a wonderful, poignant and funny romance story. Roberto Benigni is such an amazingly wonderful actor, full of life and passion and with his wife Nicoletta Braschi, together makes this a beautiful film. Jean Reno is also in this film as Roberto's supportive poet friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2017
Good bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2017
I love this movie! It's full of courage and heart and surprises. It makes me laugh and cry and laugh again every time I watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2011
I found this film by happenstance while working out of town as a doctor which I do a few months of the year nationally. I caught only the last part on TV and quickly ordered a copy. I just had to have the story. How creative, entertaining, lighthearted yet intelligent. Comic relief not only in words but in motion as well. Roberto Benigni reminded me of a modern day Charlie Chaplin in a sort of way. As many languages are spoken the subtitling of Italian was in no way a hindrance. It has a contemporary feel a bit of "A Midsummer's Night Dream". Love, humor, adventure, and delight. Enjoy. John Schorsch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2015
I love this movie, it's kind of unique for his films. It also couples well with "La vita è bella" or "Life is Beautiful" I use it in class where I teach Beginning College Italian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2014
This is such a touching movie--I can watch it again & again. It runs a little long but for those of you who are fans of Life is Beautiful with Roberto Benigni & his wife--you will fall in love with this one. The scenery, the sacrifices, the humor--it's all there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
I always have liked Roberto Benigni movies. I am sure most Americans do not understand his humor and he can be a bit obnoxious at times, but for the most part he is funny. I call him the Italian Jerry Lewis. The Tiger and the Snow is an enjoyable movie from start to finish and what movie wouldn't be complete without a soulful song from Tom Waits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2007
The Tiger and the Snow is brilliant. Roberto Benigni has incredible energy, wit and intelligence. This movie is poetry in motion. He can bring sadness and comedy into the same moment. As a script, The Tiger and the Snow is creative, well plotted and has a near flawless structure. Benigni is highly underrated for this particular work; maybe because it takes place in Iraq, maybe because there's a bias against "foreign" films in America. Whatever the reason, if you are a lover of good quality work, this is a highly recommended movie. And I haven't even started on Benigni's gift for comedy. Or the magic that Nicoletta Braschi brings to the screen. Or Jean Renoir's ever-present charisma. What a fantastic film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse