Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Tomb of the Cybermen: Part 1
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 27, 2012
Tomb of the Cybermen gave Patrick Troughton a great stage to shine on. It allowed to have the Doctor not only working out a solution against the Cybermen but also manipulating the human rivals to get out of a bad situation. I've always felt that the Cybermen were the defining villains for Troughton as the Daleks had bee the defining villain for Hartnell and The Master had defined Pertwee's era. This is a great story in the humanity thinks that the Cybermen have been wiped out 500 years before the story takes place. Unfortunately, certain members of the exploration party are privy that an army of Cybermen lie dormant on the planet and they want to awaken the Cybemen for world conquest. Fortunately the Doctor turns the tables but not before the bad guys plan bites them on the backside.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2012
Tomb of the Cybermen gave Patrick Troughton a great stage to shine on. It allowed to have the Doctor not only working out a solution against the Cybermen but also manipulating the human rivals to get out of a bad situation. I've always felt that the Cybermen were the defining villains for Troughton as the Daleks had bee the defining villain for Hartnell and The Master had defined Pertwee's era. This is a great story in the humanity thinks that the Cybermen have been wiped out 500 years before the story takes place. Unfortunately, certain members of the exploration party are privy that an army of Cybermen lie dormant on the planet and they want to awaken the Cybemen for world conquest. Fortunately the Doctor turns the tables but not before the bad guys plan bites them on the backside.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
This was another awesome classic Who episode with the now almost forgotten 2nd Doctor Patrick Troughton. For those new Who fans not familiar with the classic Who episodes, check out Tomb of The Cyberman. This gives you the wit and humor of the old episodes and gives the greatest of sci-fi with the infamous Cybermen. Check out the costumes and compare with the first Cybermen episodes. Though still with the cool camp of b-movie special effects that make Who special, these costumes look like modern cgi in comparison. The best part of the Who classics is the foundation for the longest running sci-fi show in history that is still carrying on almost 50 years later. Try it out,you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2014
If you haven't seen many of the older Doctor Who shows, this is a great stand alone show to see. The Cybermen in a early on appearance are slow and clunky, probably due to the fact that the actors can't see anything. I never got to see these early episodes back when I first became a fan in the 80's, so it is treat to be able to see the stories start to bloom at the beginning. The second Doctor is part Willy Wonka, part Groucho Marx. It gives the show more whimsical feeling, with killer robots. Word to the viewer, the show is firmly rooted in the 1960's with quite a few stereotypes in it. so bear that in mind as you watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 22, 2011
This is the tale of a rogue expedition of evil geniuses who revive the Cybermen in the hopes of using their force of arms to further the genius' own nefarious plans. It's a fun adventure story in the grand tradition of classic science fiction. Unfortunately, the 60s-era special effects are so inadequate to capturing the essence of the story that it seriously compromises the ability of a viewer to enjoy it. Having seen the Tenth Doctor defeat (or at least contain) the frighteningly awesome-looking badass Cybermen with their intimidating deep voices, I can't help but find these things pathetic.

Still, it's a pretty good story to use for introducing myself to Patrick Troughton as the Second Doctor. He's a little more interesting than Hartnell, a little more believable, less of a grouch. He still comes off a bit too calm and partnalistic to build any real tension (and it doesn't help that the enemy is a joke). None of Eccleston's brooding intensity or Tenant's manic-depressive mood swings to telegraph the seriousness of the situation. The atmosphere does a good job of that, though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
Even though the Cybermen did not walk around repeating "Delete", the story of corruption and the hunger for power was great (Borg has nothing on the Cybermen). The show was filmed in B&W and the Second Doctor was quirky and quite eccentric and the villains were BAD... loved it. However I am giving it a 4 rating because of the delivery... loading the next episode was rough and I had to shut the TV down and bring it back up, search for the episode and try to get it to load.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
While some of the special effects are so old they detract from the story, Tomb of the Cybermen is still enjoyable to watch. Troughton as the doctor is great because he shows the snide humor that shines in later doctors. Sadly because so many of the oldest episodes are missing we don't get the back story of the doctors companions but we do get to start to see some of the origins of the Cybermen mythos. This is great fun and a must for any fan of the doctor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
After watching "Mind Robber" on Netflix, I fell in love with the Second Doctor and wanted to watch more episodes with him. I was thrilled when I discovered that Amazon had this episode. It was very enjoyable. My little sister and I had fun watching it together. It's always cool to see villains that appear in both New Who and Classic Who!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
It's Doctor Who! Patrick was my first Doctor. And while he's not my favorite, I do still love the nostalgia of watching them. Special effects don't hold with time, if they even held with the time they were originally in, but the stories were good nonetheless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2014
This was the first time I have watched a Patrick Troughton episode as Dr. Who. As with all the other earlier Dr. Who episodes, I found the creativity, imagination, and design very well executed. I find my desire to watch all Dr. Who episodes is strong, and look forward to watching the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse