Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New album by NERD Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $10 on Fire 7. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

The Tudors: Season 2
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 3, 2015
Excellent and well played, the nuances are all there, minor though they may be. I'm a direct descendant of the Herbert family, and though they aren't mentioned much, the last wife, Catherine Parr, her sister Anne was married to Earl of Pembroke William Herbert (my relative).

Anne was also a lady in waiting for all of Henry VIII's wives. One nuance I mention is in the last couple of episodes, when Catherine comes on scene, you'll note that her sister Anne is also imprisoned at her home for a short while, which she was because of suspected complicity with her sister for promoting Protestant beliefs and offending the Catholic Church (Catherine fixed he situation with the King, as it was mainly pushed by the Catholic Church hardliners), and you have to listen carefully but at other times you will hear her referred to as "Lady Herbert".

While it's a minor detail, I was looking for it, and they probably could have glossed over ever even mentioning her or referring to her as Lady Herbert and no one would have noticed.

So it's nice attention to some little details, the filming locations and sets are magnificent. It would behoove someone to read just a little bit of what was going on with the religious aspect under Henry, how the Church, the Pope, the Cardinals, Excommunication, and all that fits into the history, or else you could get confused on religious aspects and wonder what is going on with all that.

Also, there is no real inidcation of the passage of time, and one could believe that all the events happened within a few years, when actually it's about 40 years worth, and Henry only seems to age about 3 times, all very noticeable.

Overall, a winner that the writers, producers, cast, and Showtime seemed to put a lot of thought and effort into. Don't get up without pausing, you may miss something that comes into play 2 episodes later!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2016
I simply cannot get enough of this amazing series so I have watched it from beginning to end TWICE!! Yes, it is a soap opera and what is wrong with that? The history is fascinating and even though so many reviewers here report how 'historically inaccurate' the show is, they always fail to describe exactly how so. Okay, so JRM is smaller than the actual King, so Natalie Dormer has blue eyes whereas Anne Boleyn had brown, so Henry's sister Margaret may/may not have been the sister to marry the near-dead King of Scotland, SO WHAT?? If you need to write a history report about the Tudors and want to forego your research by watching this series instead of reading a book, you will likely run into problems with some of your accuracy. BUT if you are watching for fun, you will be blown away by the costumes, the lifestyles, the quest for power, and how easily some will turn on each other (even their own children) to attain position and wealth. There are few completely blameless people in this entire series as almost everyone is involved in one way or another of conspiring against someone else to elevate their own status or agenda and thus SPOILER: everyone here basically gets their just desserts (perhaps with the exception of Mark Smeaton, Henry Norris and Anne's father) This is the best of all the other historical dramas that have come after and the Tudors sets the bar for all others to follow. The best part is, if you do enjoy the series, it will inspire you to pick up some of the countless history books written about the Tudors. If there are inaccuracies in those books you would have reason to complain but here, just how well they reenact a very complicated history should be acclaimed and not criticized.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2013
Wow, what an amazing series. The costumes are gorgeous and the sets are as well. The acting is superb. I was concerned I might be a stickler for more accuracy in the casting of Jonathan Rhys Meyers as the lead, but I quickly got over the casting of such a young, handsome actor as the king. He portrayed the petulant and spoiled monarch well enough that the disparity in the age and the lack of corpulence was a pleasure to overlook. I frequently loan out the entire series to friends and family and it is always a hit. The torture scenes are unfortunately very well done and I often have to turn away as they are tragic and disturbing. (spoiler: I am referring to you, poor handsome violinist!).

We visited London shortly after watching the entire season and it made visiting the Tower of London so much more enjoyable and meaningful. Standing precisely where so much history occurred and where poor Anne Boleyn met her fate was much more intense for me.

Do yourself a favor and enjoy this series. It is time and money well spent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2017
I LOVE this entire series and was upset when my sister lost one of the disks so I was so happy when I was able to find it here and replace it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 21, 2015
This season centers on the King's women, the purging of his court and his decision to defy the Pope and declare himself above the authority of the church. The Kings men go about systematically dismantling the church system and seizing its wealth. As always exceptional costumes, sets, music, landscape and castles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 30, 2015
The actors did a great job portraying, the central character during this time period. Unfortunately, everyone was attractive and sexy. Not to say that this was one of the reasons I watched it, but... I mean, Henry VIII should be so lucky as to have the looks and shape of Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Every character from Cardinal Thomas Wolsey to Charles Brandon looked great. The only person that looked like he was in character, Thomas Cromwell. The history that was told was fairly accurate. Good T.V.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon July 30, 2009
Season 2 took The Tudors to where the first season was headed, the crowning of Anne Boelyn as queen and her beheading after she failed to produce a male heir for the king. The story is most compelling. The actors and actresses on the show do a wonderful job as well as directors, set and costume designers etc. It's sad that The Tudors doesn't get more love from the Emmys but I know there is a lot of competition out there. The show is great to watch and well developed from beginning to end. No dry spots. And surprise, surprise, the third season after all the drama, is even better! Great show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2016
The costumes...so period perfect.
The acting...so dramatic.
The dancing, sex, and conspicuous consumption...fun!!!
Johnathan Rhys-Meyers at full throttle!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2015
This is a gorgeous production that has me perplexed about its historical accuracy. I think there is a confusion about Henry's sister that combines the real Margaret and Mary into one character. According to most historians, Margaret went to Scotland while Mary married not the elderly King of Portugal but the elderly king of France.
In subsequent episodes, Sir Thomas More is tricked into denying the title by Richard Rich. In the Bolt play, More claims that he did not deny the title but Rich perjured himself in testifying that he did.
I wonder who is right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2015
I finally just finished this on amazon prime. I love the story of Henry the VIII already this just brought it to life for me! I really liked watching the relationship between Henry and Anne and have always thought that Anne was his equal. The actress who plays Anne is excellent, she holds her own easily. This was preferable over the Other Boleyn Girl because to me its closer to being historically accurate. If you are interested in the story of Henry VIII you should watch this season for sure. I am on Season 3 now and can not wait!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse