Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 301 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 421 reviews
on February 5, 2013
this is paul newman's finest performance. he should have won the oscar for best actor. he plays frank galvin, an alcoholic lawyer who has hit rock bottom. he has one last chance to redeem himself with a malpractice case against a hospital and two renowned doctors. he is given able support by jack warden playing his friend and mentor mickey morrissey. filmed on location in boston and directed by sidney lumet, this film is eloquent in what is not said. james mason also gives a standout performance as frank concannon, the lawyer for the defendants in the case. leonard maltin gives this movie 4 * in his movie review book. don't miss this one. i purchased this movie thru instant video with my amazon prime. i am watching it on my pc. happy shopping. aloha haleiwa jon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2017
Quite possibly Newman's greatest dramatic performance. This is a must-see movie if you haven't seen it. Jack Warden is great as well. The transfer to BD is beautiful and sound is outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
This was an excellent film.

The acting was excellent on everyone's part.

There were surprising plot twists. Incidentally, I disagreed with one online reviewer, I think it was Ebert, that the Newman character was still drinking when the movie ended, giving it a somewhat cynical cast. I didn't think it looked that way at all.

There were a few loose ends. Why did the doctors who were prepared to testify for the plaintiffs convinced that the wrong anesthetic was given, when it turned out that no anesthetic at all should have been given under the circumstances? Was this an educated guess? How would that have stood up in court?

Did the former admitting nurse really change the notation, or did the doctor do it? I thought that wasn't clear. Either way, the outcome was the same: she soon left the hospital and stopped being a nurse, either because the doctor forced her to do it or because she felt so bad about what had happened. I guess the implication was that she changed it. I may have to see it again to be sure.

A fascinating detail for us today is the way that the existing technology, or lack of it, affected the plot very much. The rotary phones were there all the time. Nobody had a cellular phone, making some people unreachable at times. No one had a PC. When Frank Galvin's ex-girlfriend tries to call him, he has no way of knowing who it is because the phone would not have a display panel, but somehow you guess that he suspects that it is she, and he doesn't pick up. Also, nowadays, when you go to the hospital, there's a nurse sitting at a computer taking down the information. I doubt any system is failsafe, but a computer can be set up so that no one can change an entry once the Enter or Submit key has been hit, and if there's an override possible, only authorized personnel, determined by the instituion, can do it. This was true at the agency where I worked--the Human Resources Administration of New York City--regarding comments the workers entered on anything they put into a client's record. You might be able to add a comment that a mistake was made, but you couldn't change the original entry.

The black doctor, who was unable to help as much as he wanted to, was very affecting. I think he probably did have some good influence on the jury. The way he spoke about justice was sincere. The character, and the actor playing the part, would have known firsthand about the need for justice as he had encountered racism. Some racism shows itself in the film right away when he enters the picture, and it was clearly designed by the filmmakers to make a statement about that.

The film haunted me. It seems so dated, and yet all the issues it raises are up to date.

Lindsay Krouse (sp?) as the former nurse was very fine.

I had heard of the film but never seen it before. I learned more about it when it was discussed, with selected clips, in the very fine class on the cinema given at the Aesthetic Realism Foundation by noted filmmaker Ken Kimmelman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
I have always believed, like others, that Paul Newman should have won the Oscar for his performance in The Verdict. I have seen this movie over 30 times and still enjoy some of the smaller details. Although a couple of props like the phones and phone booths are dated, the story is timeless. Trivia: Bruce Willis makes one of his first appearances, albeit uncredited, as an extra sitting in the courtroom behind Paul Newman's character. Last movie I saw with my father, while he was still alive and will always be one of my favorite movies. Pure David vs Goliath in the two legal firm comparisons. Enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2016
I have watched this movie before. It is a simple story told in a subtle way. Great roles for many of the actors. Paul Newman's summary to the Jury
is so perfect without all the pomp of normal courtroom drama. It brings me to tears every time I hear it. Small gestures throughout the film
reveal much. Intelligent and moving. A quiet movie of the best kind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2015
Classic Paul Newman in his later years. He played the part expertly even though we get tired of him yelling "Objection" and the judge replying "over ruled" and him saying "exception" with the judge noting "exception noted", it seems like about 10% of the total dialogue.

But be that as it may, Newman is excellent and Jack Warden has been one of my favorite supporting actors for about my entire life (check out USED CARS starring Kurt Russell with Jack Warden in one of his best supporting roles. Easily one of the funniest movies ever made, in the genre of Airplane.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
I read the book, which was very good, and the move adaptation is brilliant. As for the Blu Ray, okay, some improvement over the regular DVD but not great. The director Sydney Lumet did a great job with this story and they also had one of the great writers, David Mamet, who wrote the screenplay. All of the acting is very good but this was easily Paul Newman's best performance. Before this film I didn't think he was a great actor, but he should have won the Academy Award for this film. Charlotte Rampling plays Newman's lover in this and she has tremendous screen presence. Although this film was made in 1982, it is not dated at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2010
The film opens with down and out attorney Frank Galvin (Newman) spending his day the way he usually does - with alcohol and playing pin ball games. A former editor of his college law review and partner in a prestigious law firm, he is now an ambulance chaser and alcoholic. A professional lapse in judgment which led to almost being disbarred and to the end of his marriage has taken its toll. A friend and former colleague, Mickey Morrissey (Warden) refers him a 'softball' case which should easily settle out of court with the insurance company for a nice fee. With only ten days before the case goes to court (Frank has forgotten) his conscience starts to bother Frank and he really believes he can go to court and win, contrary to the client's wishes and everyone else's advice. What follows is a fascinating courtroom drama as well as character study. Enough surprises and twists to keep you on the edge of your seat until the end. One of Newman's more overlooked gems. If you like legal thrillers and courtroom drama, this is a classic. Great supporting performances from Mason, Warden and Rampling.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
DVD format is wrong for the U.S.; apparently won't work here which means it's useless to me and I wasted my money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2017
Always great to see the finest actor God ever created with a fantastic script to work with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse