Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Virginity Club
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
30
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 18, 2004
What a cute, funny novel - and that means a lot coming from an adult reading a teen novel. Yet, the plot intrigued me from the get go and I couldn't resist. Call it a guilty pleasure.
Revolving around four best friends, the story finds Mandy, Kai, Debbie, and Eva vying for a unique $160,000 scholarship, one that requires its applicants to be "pure." The problem is that everyone, including school personnel, are stumped on the purity portion. How can you judge who's really pure?
To answer this burning question, Mandy (with her friends' help) brings The V Club to life - an organization uplifting the virtues of virginity. Yet all four girls are keeping secrets that could dismantle the club before it even gets off the ground.
With all these secrets, tensions are flaring. Through it all though, the girls learn valuable lessons in friendship and what it means to pure at heart ... and that's where it really counts.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2006
I read the book The Virginity Club by Kate Brian. This book was full of drama and was very easy to relate to. The story has 4 main characters, Eva, Kai, Mandy and Debbie. All four girls are best friends who come from four completely different families. Being their senior year all of the girls are getting ready to graduate but before the big day there is something left to do, and that is to win the Treemont scholarship offering a free pass to any college of their choice. But there is one requirement that seems to throw everyone off: "Purity of the soul and body." Mandy decides that starting the Virginity club, a social service club offering support, would be a great idea for everyone who was participating in the scholarship. But all of the girls promising to keep their virginity until the big day is another story since Kai, Mandy, Eva and Debbie all have a secret of their won. You will see as lies unfold, friendships change, and who gets the scholarship.

I read this book because the subject sounded like something that I could relate to, being in high school like the girls. Once I began reading the book and I got to know each of the characters, it was hard for me to put the book down because I got so caught up in their drama and their lives. While reading the book I came to like certain characters more then others. My favorite character was Mandy because she reminded me of myself. She was very whole hearted and caring. I didn't seem to like Debbie because of the way she acted around others. She seemed very fake and people pleasing. Overall the book was very suspenseful and fun to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about high school drama and doesn't mind reading about topics like virginity.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2004
one of the greatest books i have evcer read. it discusses almost every topic imaginable. one of the reasons i loved this book was because it discussed sex and what can happen after you have it. Mandy did it for the wrong reason and this book can show girls the bad effects of having sex. it showed how girls can work hard to get what they want. it shows how firends help friends out when their in bad situations. it shows how doing things another person wants you to do can hurt you. this book show inspiration, determination, and much more. it's easy to read and discusses all sorts of types of situations. it was really inspiring.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2006
When the Treemont Scholarship is announced to Ardesmore High School as $40,000 for four years of college, everyone wants to win it. But it comes saddled with an unusual requirement: "purity of body and soul." Of course, everyone assumes that means holding on to the Big V-- virginity. Four friends, Eva, Mandy, Debbie, and Kai, go out for the scholarship, each of them wanting it for their own purposes. For Eva, it's the only way to fulfill her dreams of going to Wesleyan, though she's still working on her dream first kiss. Mandy can't let anyone find out why she's after the scholarship, or that she might be losing her virginity-- soon. Debbie has to convince her father that she doesn't want to go into science, and the school that despite her reputation, she is a virgin. Kai is having trouble concealing her past, expecially when her past suddenly appears on her doorstep. The girls' secrets, if found out, could cost them something much more valuble than even the scholarship-- their friendship. This book casts virginity in a positive light, and emphasizes the importance of friendship, even when your world is crashing.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2005
The V-Club(virginity club) starts when Mrs. Treemont suddenly passes away and leaves behind a mysterious scholarship. The Treemont Scholarship requires that you "exemplify purity of soul and body" in order to recieve it. Becaus of this scholarship, four friends, Eva, Debbie, Mandy, and Kai, must learn how to deal with the problems in their lives. They all want, and need, the scholarship for there own secret perosnal reasons. In her book " The V-Club", Kate Brian tells a intriguing story about the crazy lives of four best friends who compete with each other for a scholarship that requires them to expain why they think that they are pure enough to recieve it. This is a very funny, but serious book, relatable to "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants", that helps you to understand what most all teenage girls in high school go through every day. It lets you understand just how hard it is for teenage girls to juggle boys, family, and school, while still trying to take care of themselves. Brian tells a profound story that's up-to-date, and unpredictable, which any girl can relate to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2005
The V Club

By: Kate Brian

The V Club by Kate Brian was an exemplary book. It all starts when a very wealthy woman named Victoria A. Treemont passes and leaves a $160,000 scholarship fund to one student that meets her standards at Ardsmore High. In order to receive the scholarship you have to be smart and well rounded just like any other scholarship but there is a catch. In the scholarship it says you have to be "pure". All the kids are nervous about what she means by the word "pure" but most of them think she means you have to be a virgin. The counselor tells people that want to be scouted for the scholarship to go to the counselor to tryout. The four friends Mandy, Kai, Debbie, and Eva are trying out. Everyone is wondering why Mandy is trying out because everyone knows she filthy rich. People are wondering why Debbie is trying out because no one believes she is "pure." Kai is a volley ball player and no one thinks she will need a scholarship because she'll get it on athletics. Eva is the only one that anyone believes will have a chance 1) because Eva is definitely "pure" and 2) because Eva is very intelligent. But is Mandy so rich? Is Debbie "un pure?" is Kai pure at all? Find out when you read the book it's full of surprises. I recommend that children 11 and up should read this book, but you should be mature enough to read it so know your maturity level. Mostly girls should read this book.

The writing style of this book is really different. The author took time to let you know how each girl is feeling and what she's going through and you know a lot things about the characters before the other characters do. For instance, "I think you should withdraw your name consideration" Mandy said. "Why don't you?" Kai demanded. "It's not like you need it." "How do you know what I need!?" Mandy said before she could rethink it. "You have no idea what's going on with me!"... "Well, maybe there's stuff I'm not telling you because it's none of your business." I really like the theme of this book. I have never read a book with the same plot and the theme is not commonly used.

I think this book was delightful. It was full of surprises and mystery. It had a lot of good points. Anyone of any sex can read this book. I would recommend it for girls though because of the content. Children that are mature can read this but I recommend it for children ages 11 and up.

A. Arrington
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2004
The V Club is started when a group of high school students vie for a scholarship to be awarded to someone on the basis of "purity," among other things. What does that mean? No one knows for certain, but friends Mandy, Kai, Debbie and Eva think it may be about virginity.
In the same style as the popular SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS by Ann Brashares, this story follows the four girls on a rotating basis so readers see their points of view individually. They each need the scholarship for college in the fall and grapple with certain issues.
Mandy was just getting ready to take things with her long-term boyfriend to the next level. Kai may or may not belong in the V Club (she's not saying), but why does the presence of ex-boyfriend Andres cause her such pain? Debbie is known as a tease, but dating several guys does not make her promiscuous, does it? She is also trying to get her father to understand that she doesn't want to study math and science, but rather fashion design. Would he pay for that or even accept it? And Eva --- she's sweet, nice and smart, but still waters run deep. Eva has it bad for the fabulous Riley --- but does he want Debbie like the rest of them?
THE V CLUB takes this likeable cast and intertwines them in a plot with many surprises. Rather than identifying with a certain character, readers will be more likely to find that there is some of each of the girls in themselves. This book is not about sexuality --- it's about wanting to grow up and knowing when you are (or are not) ready to do so.
--- Reviewed by Amy Alessio
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
I second the reviewer that said this was embarrassing to carry around. I kept hiding the title.
This book is about 4 girls who are best friends who also are competing against each other for a scholarship where you have to be the most "pure" to win. Everyone thinks that means being a virgin. Fortunately there are no invasive gyno exams here and you don't have to be gearing for a nunnery, just a purity essay, but still. How old fashioned.
The girls (who are not all virgins) create a "virginity club" to enhance their chances at winning the scholarship. One of my favorite scenes in the book was when they went to a nursing home to volunteer and told the elderly what the club was about. I loved the elderly's reactions because I could totally picture some of my former residents doing that.
I also liked when one of the girls (I believe it was Kai?) dropped out of the scholarship because she said that the whole idea was stupid and that it was pitting her friends against each other. I thought that was extremely brave of her. I was rooting for Eva throughout the whole book because I thought she most deserved the scholarship, but my idea of Kai changed a lot after that scene.
I could relate to all the girls in their own ways. I also really liked Riley because he seemed to be a very adorable guy and while I was reading I couldn't wait to see how he tied into the end of the story.
Even though there was a lot I liked, I didn't like the plot in general. The whole theme did not sit well with me, in that that would be a scholarship requirement. However, I do think that the author handled such an awkward topic with grace and ease, and for that, the read was enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2007
Wow! I'm really surprised by the number of negative reviews of this book by my fellow Readers. Yes, it's not great literature, but it's definitely a page-turner. Brian writes with an engaging and charming style that mirrors the interactions of modern-day teens. I enjoyed it (though it seems more of a "chick" book) and would recommend it.

However, it seems many of my fellow Readers downgraded the book for two reasons: 1) realism and 2) sex.

First off, the book never purports to be a documentary. How "realistic" is Anderson's "Speak"? Rowling's "Harry Potter" series? Hinton's "Outsiders"? Yet, all are popular w/teen readers. The four main characters are representative of groups/cliques many students encounter at their school every day. I never once assumed they were "real" people, nor did the fact that they weren't "real" detract from my enjoyment of the book.

As to the sex: Be warned! THERE IS A SEX SCENE IN THE BOOK. One of the chracters in a moment of vulnerability gives in to her boyfriend's pressure to have sex. There isn't anything graphic. In fact, it kind of reminded me of those Doris Day/Rock Hudson movies where they are laying on the bed and then there is a flash-forward to the next morning. I know some people can get squeemish talking about teens and sex; however, the book does a great job in presenting the REALITY that there is peer pressure to have sex, that some teens actually want to save themselves for marriage, that abstinence should be respected (even applauded). In a day and age where the sexualization of teens is taken for granted (eg, Britney Spears, Lindsay Lohan, Hillary Duff), I find it refreshing that someone wrote a book advocating that teens should enjoy their childhood (and not leap so quickly into "adulthood").
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2005
The V Club

By: Kate Brian

The V Club by Kate Brian was an exemplary book. It all starts when a very wealthy woman named Victoria A. Treemont passes and leaves a $160,000 scholarship fund to one student that meets her standards at Ardsmore High. In order to receive the scholarship you have to be smart and well rounded just like any other scholarship but there is a catch. In the scholarship it says you have to be "pure". All the kids are nervous about what she means by the word "pure" but most of them think she means you have to be a virgin. The counselor tells people that want to be scouted for the scholarship to go to the counselor to tryout. The four friends Mandy, Kai, Debbie, and Eva are trying out. Everyone is wondering why Mandy is trying out because everyone knows she filthy rich. People are wondering why Debbie is trying out because no one believes she is "pure." Kai is a volley ball player and no one thinks she will need a scholarship because she'll get it on athletics. Eva is the only one that anyone believes will have a chance 1) because Eva is definitely "pure" and 2) because Eva is very intelligent. But is Mandy so rich? Is Debbie "un pure?" is Kai pure at all? Find out when you read the book it's full of surprises. I recommend that children 11 and up should read this book, but you should be mature enough to read it so know your maturity level. Mostly girls should read this book.

The writing style of this book is really different. The author took time to let you know how each girl is feeling and what she's going through and you know a lot things about the characters before the other characters do. For instance, "I think you should withdraw your name consideration" Mandy said. "Why don't you?" Kai demanded. "It's not like you need it." "How do you know what I need!?" Mandy said before she could rethink it. "You have no idea what's going on with me!"... "Well, maybe there's stuff I'm not telling you because it's none of your business." I really like the theme of this book. I have never read a book with the same plot and the theme is not commonly used.

I think this book was delightful. It was full of surprises and mystery. It had a lot of good points. Anyone of any sex can read this book. I would recommend it for girls though because of the content. Children that are mature can read this but I recommend it for children ages 11 and up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here