Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Walking Dead: 400 Days [Online Game Code]
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 23, 2014
If you have played Season one of The Walking Dead, there is probably nothing to stop you from getting into this immediate follow-up episode, but just for the sake of record, reviewing seems to be in order, and here I will do it to build on the previous review.

Obviously, if you have not played Season one, you absolutely should play it for the amazing storytelling and tense emotional undulations, you will not regret it and it will be the best thirty dollars you can spend on a good narrative-driven video game right now.

400 days, quite simply touted as the companion episode to Season one and the prequel of sorts for Season two, isn't going to be that all-encompassing experience just like the first series of episodes, but more an attempt to bring the serial storytelling dynamic to a new place. Clementine, the main protagonist of the first season, isn't going to be here, and neither would any of the story arcs from previous episodes be featured here in any shape or form. This is a brand new story, and a fresh smorgasbord of characters appear in a story compressed like a single comic issue.

The analogy of a single comic issue applied here seems apparent when you first dig into the episode, with it featuring five different groups of characters who have no seeming relation to each other. Telltale has said it's going to feed into the main bulk of Season two, and while you wonder how that will pan out, a little testament to the efforts to create a polished serial story, that point isn't going to matter much once you work your way through these nuggets of gameplay.

They all have a story to tell, and of the heart-tugging variety too. It no doubt follows on the same dilemmas of living in a post-apocalyptic Zombie-infested world. To save someone means to sacrifice another, and to do something that looks right to you may have consequences on another front, but the gameplay looks improved here, like Telltale has learned many lessons from making adventure games thus far and applied them.

The improved gameplay would do well to satisfy the hunger anyone waiting for Season two may have. Lots of gunplay, lots of exploration yearns to show just what to expect from further episodes, you will cling onto these stories like a person clinging onto the vignettes in a themed short story collection. Curiosity will kill the cat, and you begin to feel invested in these people's lives.

Not all of them are put-together individuals but are fractured in their own vices and struggles, and Telltale is brilliant for creating a link between them, a clever ending and way of pointing towards the cloudy future. The episode is clever, although short, and if you want more Adventure game goodness from Telltale this is a no-brainer.

For those who haven't played the first season, what are you waiting for?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
I normally don't play anything that's not a full on game (expansion packs, DLC, etc.) but being that this is The Walking Dead, I wasn't going to pass this up. It was the same franchise that many have come to know and love, but of course it's very short, and because of that, you don't have much opportunity to explore many different outcomes, or get to know the characters. This is to be expected, since it's only an hour or two of play time, and that's going pretty slowly through it. If you've played Season 1, and you can get this on sale, I'd recommend it, but for me (being a total cheapskate) I wouldn't have paid 5 bux, though I was glad to get it for what I believe was $1.25 on sale.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
400 days overall is ok compared to the first season of this series. My major problem with this bridge from season one to the next is that the focus on multiple stories made me feel disconnected from each story. As soon as I start feeling some sort of attachment to a story it ends. Without a central focus on one story I couldn't get the same enjoyment as I had when playing an episode from the first season. 400 days while ok doesn't live up to what it followed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
So, you played through Season 1 of The Walking Dead. I'm guessing since you're looking at this DLC, you liked it. If you have a heart, you probably liked it a lot, and want more. So does this do the trick? Lets take a look:

Setting
This DLC focuses around a truck stop and different people/groups who passed through there, some for a short time, some for a longer time, in the first 400 days of the zombie outbreak. It doesn't focus on the same people as season 1 and doesn't do anything to fill in a gap between the first 2 seasons. This is really a stand-alone vignette.

Gameplay
Have you played The Walking Dead? Have you played The Wolf Among Us? You get the idea. Telltale has this genre down to a science. You make timed decisions on dialogue, you occasionally have basically quick-time events or, "move target to right spot and click, usually for some brutal zombie kill," the game tells you that characters took notice of how you're responding in positive/negative ways, and the story plays out. It's not very gameplay-intensive but is an amazing way to tell a story.

Length
As I mentioned, this DLC focuses on different groups of people. You start at a "hub" where you can play any of the people/groups in any order. I don't think the order will change anything, but if you play the stories in timeline order, it'll be a little bit easier to notice little things which go between the different stories.

The whole DLC is maybe 2-3 hours in total. Each story is maybe 15-30 mins, tops. So this game can either be powered through in one session or, if you'd like, you can easily play the game in short bursts over time without a long commitment in any one session.

Conclusion
Some might argue the length is short. I'm more of the thought that a game's quality is much more important than the length. This DLC is exactly as long as it needs to be, to tell a great story in this world. As for the platform to play it on, try to stick to what you played season 1 on, as Telltale has said that decisions you made in season 1 and 400 Days will be taken into account in season 2. I played it on PC and loved it. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
This episode is meant to fill in the gaps between seasons 1 and 2 of The Walking dead. It wasn't extremely long and didn't quite have the emotional impact that the first season did, but it did its job of tiding me over until the next set of episodes rolled out. If you plan on playing the second season, I do recommend playing this first as it does relate to the events in the second season.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2015
Forgot to buy the base game, but I have watched let's plays of this game and I can say this is a great addition to Telltale's Walking Dead games.

Can't give it 5 stars because I don't have experience with it myself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2013
...didn't live up to expectations I've got after playing the great Season 1. And it was little to short, it was supposed to be like 1 episode, but it took me like 40 minutes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
I understand that this is just a filler, but I came along late and bought the entire series at once and played through it.

Soooo... as a stand alone product, which it is, it really was not that good. It left me wanting more of some of the stories, and admittedly wanting to kill off certain non-zombies, neither of which I got.

I think it would have been better folded into season 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
The Walking Dead: 400 days, is split into 5 or 6 mini-sodes of gameplay, around 2 hours. Some of them are extremely short, and it might be a little difficult to feel something for the characters when you only play 15-30 minutes of each of the characters. The situations are still intense as the original game and gives the same feeling, although I think these are more comedic than dramatic compared to the original game. I got this for $1.25 on an Amazon sale, and its definitely worth it for that price. It is still worth it for $5.00 but anything above that is a stretch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
I'm not completely unfamiliar with this particular genre of video games, having played my fair share of quirky Japanese dating sims and other story-based, choice-making adventures. The Walking Dead is one of my least favourite games in the genre, but this isn't because the game is poorly-designed. If you're a fan of emotional drama and fixed endings, The Walking Dead is for you. You'll find that your decisions lead to different paths, sure, but they ultimately converge in the end. It's great that it means there isn't anything like making a 'wrong' choice here, since you'll end up in the same place in the end.
I despised the level of emotional drama in this game. I've always felt The Walking Dead, as a television series, fixated more on the relationships of survivors rather than the sci-fi aspect of zombies, and the game is true to this as well. There's a lot of bickering and tough choices to make, but it seemed like tension was around every corner in the game - good for bewitched game players, not so believable for the average skeptic. The conflicts felt forced and orchestrated, and often I felt that the tension didn't even have to exist in the first place. I do believe the developers wanted players to make tough decisions, but this wasn't the case for me in my playthrough, as I felt that the whole situation had degenerated into needless, faked emotional drama rather than a story about the difficulties of surviving in an undead, chaotic world.
The strengths of the game lie in the dialogue, which lend better dimension to the characters. None of the NPCs came across as stock characters to me, and this was refreshing. Many will find themselves rooting for Clementine as a strong, growing survivor. The mechanics of the game are simple too, and don't require much improvement.
Overall, The Walking Dead just isn't for me, but will probably be a favourite of those who delight in melodrama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here