Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Walking Dead Volume 19: March to War
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
223
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 20, 2013
gathering a little more steam than volume 18, this trade volume of the Walking Dead ramps up the power struggle between Rick and Negan. It's full of intense moments and closer looks at characters that were glossed over before. In my opinion the War storyline is probably the best in the book's run so far.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
Over a 100 issues in the series, Kirkman continues to keep things interesting and readers on their toes. The title of this volume is very fitting, March To War. I will not give much away as the joy of reading Walking Dead for me is anticipating what comes next.

The first half of the volume primarily focuses on Rick and his people along with those from the Hilltop and the Kingdom coming together as they plan and prepare for war against Negan and the Saviors. A much needed back story for Ezekiel is provided during this part. Kirkman assures things never stay calm for long though. The second half of the book is an exciting page burner climaxing with a confrontation between Negan and Rick. Predictable in parts but still a joy to read. Considering how Volume 19 ends, the next volume promises to be all out war.

It wasn't the best volume but still a pleasurable way to spend an hour. Walking Dead continues to be one of the best comic series. I recommend this volume for any Walking Dead comic fan and can't wait to see what comes next in Volume 20.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
The art is fantastic as always. The story is getting bad, though. Volume 18 was silly enough with the psychotic, potty-mouthed surfer-talking lunatic dropping f-bombs every other word (which really gets annoying when reading). Now we have a guy worshiped as a king who apparently rules his "kingdom" with a wild animal as a pet by his side. I'm not sure why, but I thought of Cherry 2000 with the continually-extending absurdity of the post-apocalypse world one-upping itself over and over. In short, so long "graphic novel", hello "comic". Big turnoff to me. If you're reading this, you've invested a lot of time following Rick and company over the years. That means you're pretty much committed to continue reading into the future, but you should know the story jumps the shark in this volume.

This volume drags on with a build-up to "the war". There are some interesting parts that I honestly enjoyed, but the overall story is so over-the-top silly, it's hard to stay in it. New characters are introduced in the matter of a couple panels and that's it. There's no attempt to build any interest in them nor tell their back-story; I couldn't care less whether they live or die. They're just plot devices for the remaining handful of characters that have survived the series to this point.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
I've purchased all volumes up to 22 and the TV show has just about caught up to wear I am in the novels. These books are friggen awesome. I don't read much and my buddy lent me VOL 1 after he knew I liked the show. Well, I burned through the first one and then just went on a tear buying 4 volumes at a time...the price is pretty good for what you get out of these. $9-$15 is the range I've paid per novel, I'm not sure why they aren't the same but anyways, I keep buying them none the less. The story was written before the TV Show and the show follows the story but there is some differences. The written story is more violent and graphic then the tv show but the tv show does a decent job of sticking with main ideas. I've noticed that certain plot things that happen in the book also happen in the show but there is a unique twist like a different character it happens to or something like that. Which makes reading these volumes great cuz I have some idea of where the story is going (after having watched all tv episodes) but there are still surprises. If you like the TV show and haven't read these, give it a try and you will get a whole new experience of the Walking Dead story. I'm putting this same review under every volume I've purchased (1-22) so people can see it. go buy these!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 24, 2013
The conflict between Rick and Negan has been going towards full-blown conflict for the last two trades of THE WALKING DEAD, but now, with Volume 19, titles "March to War", it seems like that we were finally going to get the conflict that the fans been clamoring for.

Alas, that is not to be.

This volume is more about character building and a really tense stand-off and some very scary moments for the few remaining members of Rick's original group. Aside from Kirkman's smart writing and Charlie Adlard continuing to do incredible work on this title, the whole thing seems like a bit of a tease to me. The suspense seems to be building for too long, and more than anything, I'm afraid that it's losing momentum. It's almost as if Kirkman likes the idea of Negan and how he out-Governors The Governor in his sheer vulgarity and psychopathy and he just wants him to remain part of this world for as long as he can before giving him (or someone else) up.

Kirkman's big about subverting expectations, but I don't know if drawing this out much longer will help or hurt the flow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
This is another solid edition to The Walking Dead saga, a step above what has taken place in the last couple of volumes. There are some surprises in this volume-a few neat twists that keep you on your toes. At the same time, there is the danger that Negan, who is as much of a homicidal maniac as the Governor was, will follow the same path. There have been, and still are, enough changes with how Rick has been playing this one out-realizing how much he needs not just his close circle of long time survivors to support him, but other friends both older and newer to join together to not only go to war, but to insure there is something left that they are fighting for after the smoke clears. While this is another volume that is building up rather than bringing everything to a head, it has plenty of action and makes clear that Volume 20 will likely be one of the most explosive volumes to date. Kirkman and company continue to keep this series intriguing and I keep wondering how much longer they can do that. But so far, so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
It takes a village to stop the nasty Negan...well, actually THREE villages.

Rick's finished with sitting on his hands and he's raising an army. That's right. The three communities will join forces to stop that evil psycho and his spiky bat named Lucille. That's the plan, anyway, so you can imagine that NOTHING will go as planned.

This one probably only deserves 3 stars, but there were some nice moments. Michonne gets all giggly and girlish with tiger-guy, and there's some good, snappy rhetoric between Negan and Rick.

Once again, Jesus Saves...the day, then takes Rick aside to tell him, "You're a leader we can follow" as the sun sets over the zombie-proof fence. And the glory of the Lord shown all about them, yadda, yadda, yadda.

Time out for some father/son bonding with Carl, and...it's all over. It ends pretty much the same as the last book only Negan is EVEN MORE pissed off this time.

One of these days, there's gonna be a war...maybe...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
I love how Jesus is able to sneak in and out of places. He kind of takes Glenn's place in that respect. Rick,Jesus, and Ezekiel are trying something bold. Negan's not one to be played with , and I'm sure has a plan of his own. Carl is really anxious to get into the fighting fold. He is no longer a kid and that makes me sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
I was so excited to receive this in the mail! I always wait in eager anticipation for the next volume of TWD. War is looming with Negan’s group in this volume and Rick is ready to put an end to the difficulties that have been facing them since this newest villain showed his ugly face. Rick reveals his plans to take down the other group with the help of Jesus’s camp and Ezekiel’s kingdom. He almost ruins everything, though, when he jumps the gun in a misguided attempt to end it all quickly. We are set up nicely for the big battle to come. I can’t wait to see this bastard taken out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
Get ready for another war in the your favorite flesh eating saga! More, and more is at stake in this latest volume from the Walking Dead. Do you really want me to spoil this for you? Really? Don't be lazy. Buy this book today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse