Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 96 reviews
on April 25, 2017
Super interesting, especially if you easily buy into myths around gender norms (and let's be real, we all do!)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
Stephanie Coontz is the top historian of the family in America. Although this book is not entirely up to date, since its focus is on the historical development of the family (or families) in the U.S., it's still quite valuable and insightful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
I'm not through this yet, but expect it will be great. Ms. Coontz is coming out with a new edition in March 2016, so depending on your needs you may want to wait.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2016
If you want to know "how it used to be", I really think one should read this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
This book unravels the fake history of the America Family created by Hollywood movies and television. This false history has been used, and is currently being used, to denigrate women and minorities.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
too much about her writing the book, too little facts about families
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2016
Bought because this was referenced often in my Gender and Poverty class. I love her easy writing style that doesn't dance around with academic flourished language. Easy to follow by 'layman' society and an interesting time capsule to how things really were back in the day.
I would also recommend her other books and a book with the title The Good Ole Days, They Were TERRIBLE!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2016
Engaging and sheds light on so many of our current thoughts about the dreamworld of the 50's. It is thoroughly researched and well written. The preface to the newest edition fills in to take us to the 21st century.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
Very good book to read on how families really were vs the presentation on how people thought it was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2015
I got this book for a class but ended up reading it mostly for fun. It's very interesting and informative for anyone interested in social history and a willingness to change preconceived notions about recent american social ideas. It covers topics such as race, gender, economic status, as well as others. The author does a great job sticking to the theme of dispelling myths about american society and instead gives facts and examples to show a very different view, sometimes good, sometimes bad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse