Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 92 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 110 reviews
on October 23, 2013
My wife and I are pretty picky about the movies we watch; we don't often get to sit down for two hours and we want to be glad we spent the time as we did. We both enjoyed this film.

This particular story is beautifully wrought. The sunshine, the casting, the details... it's quite an immersion. There is nothing easy about this story. As a result, it feels more like real life. None of the characters is completely good or completely bad.

How many films have you watched where the circumstances are the plot and the characters are the figures around which the plot happens? The Well-Digger's Daughter is the opposite: the development of the characters is the plot. Something about that arrangement will resonate with you. Yes, there are circumstances that drive outcomes, but you will find yourself more concerned with the relationships in front of you.

One of the things I particularly appreciated about this film is that it doesn't glorify poor decisions. It doesn't inject artificial romance into a situation where real romance wouldn't yet exist. As a result, you will identify closely with the situations because you've personally felt those conflicting emotions at some point in your own life.

Finally, you will get the most out of the story if you keep the context in mind. The time, the culture, and the society in which it happens all have bearing on the outcome. If these characters existed today in middle-class America, they might behave differently, but you will still be able to relate.

Be prepared to think about this one from time to time even days after you've watched it. Enjoy!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
Well written and finely acted. A heartwarming family drama that takes place in the 1940s and at the start of World War 1. It's about love and "class"in the south of France. It's about how choices and decisions made by one can affect an entire family's life.
Single father and well-digger Pascal is raising a raising a small army of 6 girls in the Provence countryside at the start of World War I. His eldest teenage daughter, Patricia, has just returned home from Paris where she had been staying with her dad's more affluent sister. She returned to help her widowed father with the girls. Pascal is proud of how she has become such a fine young woman and has hopes of marrying her off to his loyal assistant. But, one day while taking lunch to her father she has chance encounter with a handsome air pilot from a wealthy family. As a result she finds herself in love and begins an illicit affair with him. She becomes pregnant and tries to tell him but before she can, Jacques is immediately called into duty. When she tells her father what has happened and that she wants to keep the child, he is angry and feels she will disgrace herself and the family if she stays with them so Pascal has to make a heart-wrenching decision about the fate of his wayward child.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2016
Charming little French movie with easy to follow English subtitles about a proud hard-working father and his beautiful innocent daughter. But children grow up and make adult decisions even though the parent still sees them as their child. Interesting story line, likeable characters, and a gorgeously photographed French countryside. I liked it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
"I don't like the corked wine", Pascal said. In the movie it is losely translated as "I don't like the fancy wine" which is not quite the same. This sentence summarizes this movie. The pure mentality of the French villager "à la campagne". He prefers his own wine, (they make and cork their own wine from their own vineyards). He doesn't want to buy somebody else's wine. He doesn't want to be like "les Parisiens". He has contempt for the Parisians. He doesn't want to be part of the city "elite". He wants to live peacefully in the countryside with his family, his rules, and his routine. "Vous savez les impôts moi, on en a marre..."

The movie is about Pascal (Daniel Auteil, a well-digger) father of six daughters living the hard life in the countryside in France, at the start of World War I. He always wanted a son, and he tried and tried, but he got six daughters. His wife died after the last daughter was born. He sent the oldest daughter Patricia (Astrid Berges-Frisbey) to live in Paris when she was young, but after his wife died he called her back to help him raise the other five daughters. She is well educated and he wants her to get married with his friend/assistant Felipe (Kad Merad), a nice simple man but much older than her. Of course she doesn't like him and is falling for Jacques (Nicolas Duvauchelle), a wealthy young pilot just in town for few days, whose parents are rich and own the big grocery store in town. She is impregnated by him just before he is called back into duty. What is going to happen next? Is he going to come back from the war? Is she going to tell her dad about the situation? Are they going to keep the baby? How the villagers and Jacques' parents going to react to these events? Those are some of the questions coming to mind. You will definitely get surprised by the answers and the plot of the movie. It is not what you expect. Hence, Marcel Pagnol's genius...He understands the human mind better than anybody else!

This is another great adaptation of the work of Marcel Pagnol by Daniel Auteil, but this time he is also the director. Twenty five years later Daniel Auteil went back to the source that made him famous. Who forgot Ugolin playing alongside Yves Montand (César) in "Jean de Florette/Manon de source"? Daniel Auteil has the exact same accent, the same movements and same interaction with the camera, just few extra pounds. After I watched this movie I had to watch "Manon de source" again!

This is a fabulous film and Daniel Auteuil takes over with his very poignant acting. He delivers some of the most powerful performance I have ever seen by an actor in several scenes. If you really liked "Jean de Florette/Manon de source" you will definitely appreciate this movie. Is not as intense as the other two movies, has a different plot, but really describes the mentality of the villagers in the countryside in France that is slowly disappearing these days because the people are disappearing. If you want to see and feel the French countryside mentality during the 1900's, then watch the movie!

Five stars all around for everything but mostly for the powerful performances of all actors which are remarkable.
44 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2016
Most certainly one of the greatest films I have seen in the past five years. They don't make them like this anymore! While a lot of
young people would hate the pace, the pace (slow) was one of the things I loved about it. The story was great and I loved the ending.
It was perfect!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Pagnol, Raimu, Fernandel!! What could be better! A story about family and love! Just great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Another great Pagnol-Auteuil effort, the same genre as My Father's Glory and My Mother's Castle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2017
Beautifully observed and a very interesting, touching story. Because of the title, I kind of expected that it would be about the same characters as Manon des Sources and Jean de Florette, but it's a different family. However this takes nothing away from the film's good qualities. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2016
Awesome movie four families with teenage children, preteens And adults will like it as well
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
I am a huge Daniel Auteuil fan and when I saw this film on my library's website as his latest film ( at the time, this was last year ), I had to borrow it and I am ever so glad I did.
It is a wonderful film, based on a story by Marcel Pagnol, and all the performances were top notch. I needed my tissues at the end.
Lovely story, wonderful acting. A++++++++++
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse