Spring Deals Automotive HPC Children of Blood and Bone New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

on July 17, 2016
Being a long-time Moody Blues fan, I really enjoyed this DVD of their performance at the Isle of Wight concert, in August of 1970. They
were at their peak of popularity, and their performances were wonderful! Performing before 600,000 people could not have been an easy
feat, yet, they were in top form. The audience clearly enjoyed their renditions, as well, of such songs as "Tuesday Afternoon," "Question,"
"Nights in White Satin," "Gypsy," as well as many other of the group's melodic creations. So glad I bought this DVD!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 29, 2009
This is a rare look at the Moody Blues live in 1970. It is not a highly polished performance like their studio albums,but it is very good nonetheless. It starts with a 20 minute intro with present interview footage of John,Justin,Mike&Graeme,but sadly without Ray. The most interesting of this is Mike's demonstration of the mellotron and its interior workings. Next comes about an hour of actual concert footage. Most of the concert is excellent,with the weakest song being "Tortoise and the Hare". To be honest,the mellotron is extremely hard to play live,and Mike gives it his best shot. " Melancholy Man" is an absolutely blistering performance. Other standout performances are "Never Comes the Day","The Sunset",and "Legend of a Mind". The encore,"Ride My Seesaw",is a compilation of footage from various concerts. Some of the concert film was lost,and this is most likely the reason for this. The dvd has only 10 songs,while the cd has 14, due to the fact that some film footage was lost [as mentioned in the dvd booklet]. After the concert are present day reflections from the band [once again ,no Ray]. The end of the disc has Graeme reciting "Late Lament". This is an excellent look at early Moody Blues live. An absolute must for Moodies fans and for anyone who likes rock concerts that don't sound like they were done in the studio. There are no overdubs....this is a great raw performance.
22 comments| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2014
I envy the people old enough to have attended this concert. Its sheer ecstasy for any Bluer to watch these guys in action 4 years after their first Album release, not counting the (Go Now) album and they are at the height of Moody Blue fever. How beautiful a setting to watch them in, no doubt puffing a joint would have added to the ambiance but their they were, raw, edgy and ripping it up for the crowd. I don't think the Moody Blues ever matched this one fantastic moment in their concert history. They have always given their all but here they seemed to feel almost overwhelmed by the enthusiasm. Dam I wish I was there. If their is one piece of Nostalgia on record of the Moody Blues,this is it. This is the Moody Blues all 5 of em and being just singers in a rock n roll band. No pretension, no egos.

We will never see a group like them again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2012
Having seen The Who live and in concert with Keith Moon on drums I was a happy guy when I started watching this concert video. Considering the fact that this video was shot in 1970, and outdoors too, the audio is excellent. But back to Keith. I was about 50 or so yards away from Keith Moon when I saw the band and he was, and forever shall be, the most amazing rock drummer. The Who: Live At The Isle Of Wight features many great scenes and tight shots of Keith in action. This DVD also includes a very in-depth interview with Pete Townshend that was surprising and interesting since I thought I knew this band fairly well. The only down side to this concert, in my humble opinion, was Pete's performance. If you are expecting "The Who - Live At Leeds" Townshend guitar perfection it's not here. There are moments of classic Townshend greatness however and overall this is still an excellent Who concert but it's sloppy at times.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 12, 2009
Dedicated fans of the Who will probably already have the earlier DVD release of this documentary. This newer one is better, with worthwhile improvements in video and audio quality (especially the latter), two tracks from the "Tommy" set that were not included in the 85-minute original (why not?), and an excellent 40-minute modern-day interview of Pete Townshend by Murray Learner, the original documentrist.

I'm giving it four instead of five stars because this re-release could not or did not repair some of the frustrations of the original film: The camera angles are often poor (you'll see the back of Pete's left shoulder a lot), and the framing too tight; the audio and video are imperfectly synched in places, which seems particularly galling after almost 40 years of technology advance; there is too much (meaning some) use of rapid in-and-out camera zoom in time with the music, which is pointlessly distracting and was already hackneyed even in 1970; there is too much footage wasted on the crowd (you didn't go to the concert to see the audience); and the camera gives short shrift to John Entwhistle, the superb Ox, arguably the greatest bass player in rock history. And finally, it's a historic performance, but not the Who's best. If you have the expanded audio CD re-issues of "Live at Leeds" and "Who's Next" (and you should), the songs are in general performed better there.

So why even four stars, then? Because the Who, even at 2am on an off night, have never been topped as a live act; because this is, in fact, virtually a music video of "Live at Leeds," given the supreme but understated confidence of the band, their mastery of the audience, and the overwhelming sense of serious fun they brought to a performance; because the camera's admiring and admirable footage of Keith Moon, that rocket-fueled Puck, is almost a movie in itself; because Townshend never did, said, or played anything that wasn't interesting; and because this show, like "Live at Leads," happened at the crest between two eras: the crashing late-60s R&B-Who was giving place to the melodic and complicated Tommy-Daltry-Who, with hints ("Water," "Don't Even Know Myself") of the Next Who.

So overall, it is a fair movie of a great band, which makes it an almost-great movie. I would recommend just as much, though, "The Who at Kilburn: 1977," which contains that performance, seven years after the Isle of Wight, and one from 1969 at the London Coliseum -- two shows that bookend this more famous and better-known document.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 29, 2009
A special thanks to Eagle Rock Entertainment for releasing this dvd. If you are a fan of the core 7 albums and the five members who created that wonderful music, then you are going to love watching this dvd. For me, the Isle of Wight concert was basically England's version of Woodstock with over a half a million people attending.

The band's performance is a little rough around the edges, but you can see how all five members show their delight and excitement and even a little fear in performing in front of that huge audience. Especially fun to watch perform is Ray Thomas and Graeme Edge. New interviews with the members are included (miss Ray). The interview with Mike Pinder talking about and demonstrating the mellotron is fascinating.

Also fun to watch is the band performing songs that are not currently on their tour lists (Gypsy). Currently, at the end of their concerts, John Lodge always thanks the audience for following them on their journey, and it is wonderful to have this recording taken from around the beginning of that journey.

So if you are a fan of British rock or a die-hard fan of the Moodies, this dvd is a must have. Especially if you are one of the Troubadour (Justin Hayward) fans.
22 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 3, 2009
Just finished watching this, loud with the DTS track, and I could almost swear I could smell the pot smoke from the audience. The concert footage is a great time capsule, and it's well worth the reasonable asking price. It's a true representation of the classic line-up Moodies live, and although (as others have mentioned) they could be a little rough there's wonderful energy here, a true "live" performance by a band that looks a little intimidated at the magnitude of the event they're performing at. As such there's a nervous enthusiasm that's very fun to watch. (Kind of amusing to see that they're apparently using the Who's and Jethro Tull's speaker stacks, at least that's what stenciled on them). I wish the performance material was completely untouched, especially the "Ride my See-Saw" encore. Instead it's been made into a montage of various clips of the song played by the band through the years. It breaks the "time and place" ambiance, but as mentioned in other reviews perhaps the Isle of Wight footage wasn't complete. Small quibble, and the opening new interviews, especially with Mike Pinder at the mellotron are very worthwhile.

(BTW, for fans of the instrument there's a new documentary out on it's history called "Mellodrama - History of the Mellotron". Haven't seen it yet, but can't wait).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2009
This is it ... the master film of The Who in their prime. Some may disagree with me here, but I think this is a better performance than "Live At Leeds." To me, Leeds was lacking the raw energy that was picked up at this performance. I personally don't care how bad the picture or sound is. It is still The Who and it is still very exciting.

I have heard several of the CDs and DVDs from The Who's 2006/07 Encore Series. In fact, I've only ever seen The Who twice in my life -- and neither time featured Entwistle or Moon. Taking this in to consideration, I view this DVD as a chance to fully experience The Who as they were meant to sound.

The Who, on this DVD, are looking young and fit as they explode through a bunch of their early hits, including "I Can't Explain," "Young Man Blues," "My Generation" and an almost complete run through of "Tommy." Probably my favorite part of the video is Pete during "My Generation." He looks like a machine doing endless windmills and cool guitar licks.

Some Who completists will be upset to learn that a couple tracks from the concert were ommitted from this DVD release. "Naked Eye" and "Substitute" were played at the concert, and are on the 2-CD release of this performance, but are not on the DVD. This matters little to me, because what is here is electrifying and energetic enough for me to easily give this five stars.

Long Live Rock!
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2012
this is without a doubt the best issue of this dvd of this classic killer live show by the who from the isle of wight festival, you get killer versions of water, they open with heaven and hell and do tommy almost in its entirety, i think its fair to say the who where in there prime from 1965 to 1975/76, after the who by numbers tour things got a bit to commercial but what a killer show this is, i used to watch bootleg vhs tapes of this show 25 to 30 years ago and back in the mid 90s i got the first dvd edition, this dvd edition is by far the best from the BEST FREAKIN ROCK N ROLL BAND OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 9, 2009
I couldn't get over LISTENING to this DVD. Not only has it been re-released in widescreen, but it's been remixed, as well, and let me tell you -- has it ever been remixed, and well!

I've never thought that this performance ranked among The Who's best from this period, mainly because I think drummer Keith Moon's performance was uneven and sloppy in places. Moon, and I think some might disagree with me on this, was not normally a sloppy drummer. Listen to the Live at Leeds CD or watch the London Coliseum section of the Live at Kilburn DVD. His playing is unusually precise for someone who went through the type of physical contortions he went through. It's also very, very lyrical, and he is incredibly in tune with what's being played around him. He somehow manages to complement vocals, guitar, and bass and "tie" or "knit" them together in a way that no other drummer, at least not for that particular band at that particular time, could have. There's really not enough space here to describe just how amazing his musicianship was. The stories of his off-stage activities are entertaining, yes, but it was his playing that was even more astounding than any of the lunacy of which he was capable, and he was, in spades.

From "Heaven and Hell," the mix of this concert is completely, totally crystal clear. I couldn't get over the detail in guitarist Pete Townshend's playing (which was also very sloppy in places, but hey, that's Pete). John Entwistle is not just a low rumble. His high end is brought out in the new mix, and this is important because part of Entwistle's technique involved turning up the treble control on his amplifier (as well as the volume control, and I mean REALLY high). There's a lot of "pluck" or "attack" (meaning the way Entwistle's pick hits his bass strings) that was not evident on the previous versions of this DVD.

The band's harmonies are stellar. At some points during the performance, their harmonies are so clear that I had to review the DVD at these points just to make sure it was the same band and performance to which I had gotten so accustomed. During the Tommy section (which, I'm very sorry to say, is horribly edited), the harmonies are given a place in the mix that had been denied them, even on the CD, which was released several years earlier than this completely and totally refurbished version. I wish The Who's label would release the CD of The Isle of Wight show (in sequence with no omissions) to showcase these newly experienced vocal highlights.

Now that this wonderful edition of The Isle of Wight concert has been released, I must agree with another Amazon customer (whose review is just before mine) and say that I really, really hope that there are no more re-issues, this one being the third edition thus far (not counting the Blu-ray version). However, before I conclude, I'll tip my hat to the folks who controlled the mixing desk just one last time. I'll be viewing (and listening to) this DVD very often, just because it's such a joy to hear this concert in this fashion (and the widescreen makes it equally pleasureable to watch). If you're unsure about whether or not it's all that much of an improvement, I must weigh in and say that yes, it is -- a HUGE one.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse