Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Moonlight Moonlight Moonlight  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 44 reviews
on June 25, 2016
A hopeful survivor of one of the most heinous experiences imaginable discusses his theories and how they compare to other psychological theories. His "will to meaning" makes sense, and is written in an understandable way. Victor Frankl survived death camps in Nazi Germany, and yet he emerged having had an epiphany, one which supersedes bitterness. I also recommend Man's Search For Meaning. Read that first.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
Very thought provoking insight by a man who was caught in between the era of twentieth-century jargon to help him through a difficult time in his life. His struggle internally pointed the way to understanding a central element in ourselves, the ability to find the will to continue living after experiencing tragedies and collapse as Fkankl experienced.

I found that reading this book gave me inspiration and in my time of need.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
I really like Frankl and this is another book he delivers on. It really has no christian principles, for those who were looking for more spiritual direction, but Frankl does offer insight on human emotions, will, etc. I still find it hard to believe that this man, having survived four concentration camps, remained such a positive individual. Blows my mind!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
This is a great read for any budding psychologist who fears the narcissistic tendencies of the profession. It returns humanity to our patients.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2017
Loved Mans Search for Meaning, but hated this book. Although I was highly motivated to read this book, I gave up after about twenty-five pages. It is as if Dr. Frankl wrote the lectures in the book determined to use obscure words from a thesaurus whenever possible. If you want to read this book and are not intimately familiar with psychological terms, be prepared to spend just as much time looking up the meaning of words as you do reading the book--this is no exaggeration. In addition, Frankl expresses all ideas with great and painful complexity.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2016
The book turned out to be more technical than I thought it would be. I got lost in the psychology terminology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2017
A most amazing man and Logo Therapy is especially helpful for those who are in 12 -step programs, or those who have suffered tragedies and trauma in their lives. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
One of the Great Minds of this century and well read. If you have any question on Faith, spirituality and psychoanalysis you will not be able to put it down. Read also his first book; Mans Search for Meaning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2014
outstanding extrapolative expose' on his famed logotherapy. well written with a friendly flair.
rides the line between scientific, highly technical language and simplified understandability.
excellent read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
Profound. A must reader for any seeker of meaning/purpose.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse