BCA Month Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno

The Witches of Oz
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 15, 2016
loved it......excellent story...way better than that horrid well known movie "Oz the Great" with James Franco and Mila Kunis which sucked so bad! I found the last seen in this movie with the Wicked Witch of the West so touching and moving....i will always remember it....no spoilers though......while it does not have all the dazzling special effects of an large studio movie...it has something more important...a good story and good acting..give it a go!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2016
I thought, "Christopher Lloyd & the Hobbit guys are in it, so it can't be THAT bad. Right? Plus, I normally am ok with the little campyness that accompanies Oz type movies like this, so who cares about the bad reviews? I like it just because it's Oz."
I was wrong. I made it 3/4 of the way through and was so bored I gave up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
This film is almost an exercise in how to make a bad movie, but this isn't the kind of bad movie that's enjoyable. Needlessly time-consuming, it borrows from every cliche in popular fantasy (particularly the "something we know as a story is actually another universe"). While there's some knowledge of the extensive Baum works at play, it's such an unbelievably disjointed movie. Rarely have I seen a film where literally everything was so bad. The editing, for one, would be bothersome to even audiences who don't really notice that sort of thing so much. We are constantly reminded of the plot, but these reminders change things in a convoluted way so that there's no sense of continuity. The "surprise revelations" are either so obvious that it's understandable to become impatient and angry with the film's persistent ignorance that the viewer is still in the dark regarding so many obvious attempts foreshadowing that are in no way subtle. It also makes the huge mistake of many post-LOTR fantasy films by trying to force in an epic fantasy battle...repeatedly. There is little to no understanding of tone or scene transition ever established. Money is spent on the strangest things: larger special effects that don't really contribute to any element of the story run rampant (establishing no sense of wonder) while tiny prop details, costuming, and practical effects are so uneven that it's hard to take them seriously as fantastical, realistic, or even important.

I think one of the film's cardinal sins is how is loses sight of its already ill-defined and amorphous intent. You'll find a good deal of material stolen from the Tin Man mini-series, Tim Burton's awful version of Alice in Wonderland (don't ask; I don't know why), and when all is said and done--if you can make it to the end (though I don't blame you if you turn it off way before then)--you'll see that a huge portion of the film poorly steals from the wonderful 2007 film Stardust. I don't know which is worse: "re-envisioning" The Wizard of Oz in such a cheap way or blatantly lifting so much from a great movie like Stardust (which the writer and director watched in a very poor way so as to forget that the 2007 film from which they so shameless steal from had logical plot structure). I can't really overstate the great Stardust theft at work in this clunky film: the score, "composed" by one of the lead actresses/writers/director's bff is just the shameless changing of a few notes and key signatures from Stardust's breathtaking original music. Speaking of the actors...

Don't be fooled because the film features Lance Henriksen, Christopher Lloyd, Sean Astin, Billy Boyd, Jeffrey Combs, and Mia Sara. Literally all of their parts are poorly written, easily forgotten, and re-appear for convenience rather than being integral. Boyd and Sara are the only actors of that pretty good list of actors who have notable degrees of screen time. The focus is unfortunately placed on Paulie Reddings's absolutely atrocious Dorothy, a character whom I dare you to try and connect with, and Eliza Swenson's very odd (and not at all endearing) performance as Billy Westbrook (I won't "spoil" that surprise, but guess what Wizard of Oz character she is?). Billy Boyd is shoe-horned in as a love-interest for Dorothy. Sara is wasted as an nonthreatening antagonist drawn from the Baum books named Princess Langwidere. While they actually do appropriately assign the character with the right name from the books, she essentially occupies the place of a substitute Wicked Witch of the East and is an obvious cash-in on the disturbing Mombi character from Return to Oz. Though Langwidere is actually the name of the princess who steals heads, her inclusion is without a doubt a poor attempt to recapture the legitimate horror of the aforementioned headless princess plot from the effectively disturbing 1985 film. There's very little homage to the 1939 film that isn't trite or forced. The acting is just so terrible, almost as though there was a rule set to avoid believably appropriate reactions to situations. The rendition of Glinda is godawful both visually and acted.
It's a digressive film to say the least, boiling over with so many flashbacks and dream sequences that the " secret truth of the plot" is consistently obscured.

I'm finding it hard to think of a movie that has so desperately--at times often aggressively towards its viewers--tries to force chemistry between actors like it does with Reddings and Swenson. The film's sense of time is terrible for both the story content and the actual pacing, and one of the desperate attempts to trick viewers into believing that relationships have developed while avoiding showing any of this supposed development are small bits of dialog like "Well, it's been four weeks." Out of these little "reminders," the film with some degree of hostility quietly screams at its audience "LOOK, THESE RELATIONSHIPS HAVE FLOURISHED! TRUST ME!" There's just so much incongruity that it begs the question how a film/series was ever green-lit. It's release has also been terribly confusing, being sold as both a movie and a mini-series (failing in both forms). I think that last little insight is telling of the film as a whole: the creators want it to be everything and don't believe in making any creative decisions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2013
I originally saw this movie on Pay-Per-View. I instantly liked it. Any Wizard of Oz Fan would definitly like this movie. Its a great story line of when Dorothy grows up and some of the OZ characters are in the "real" world. With the new OZ movie out, it really gives a "whole picture" of OZ. About the only thing that I didn't care for was some of the "cheap" effects. But this is not a Hollywood production, so I'm sure the budget was not extreme. But there were many big stars in the movie and that was pretty neat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
Great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2016
This movie was not what I exspected. It's setting is the big city not Oz. Its not a bad movie but its not in what I would call a traditional Oz style. I would say it is closer related to Ghostbusters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
Great services. Great product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
It is another story from the Wizard of Oz. And if you like the Wizard of Oz, Return to Oz, and The Tin Man, you will like this movie as well. You will probably also like the newest movie, "The Great and powerful Oz" as well. All five make a great marathon weekend. So bring out the pop corn and root beer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2017
Got this for my teenage son who loves all things Wizard of Oz. Saw this on TV and had to have it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
Kind of slow in spots, kind of lame in spots, kind of fakey in spots. And did I mention the acting? Ooof. But it's an interesting and confusing enough story to make it work. And worth while just for the captivating Dorothy and awesome Tin Man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse