Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New album by Luke Bryan Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $10 on Fire 7. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 25, 2002
This book, as the first Apropos novel, is simply a joy to read. You love and hate Apropos throughout the book. Mr. David has written a well balanced book. There are pitched battles, quiet love interludes, comedy, and my favorite � great amounts of introspection and philosophy from our self-professed cynic, Apropos.
The reader is guided through Apropos' life, by Apropos. This way we get to see everything from his point of view, and at the same time we get to see that view evolve. Apropos is a character who becomes loved by the reader because he is so easy to hate at times. He is honestly one of the most "human" characters I have read in a book in a long while. He is very real.
The story is great and driven. There are twists and turns and you never quite know what the whole plot is because you only get a little at a time. Mr. David savors it like a good New York Strip steak, giving us one bite at a time. The dialogue is also great, very witty and humorous.
From the mind of a man who reinvented DC Comics' Aquaman, with the Time and Tide 4-issue mini-series, and the subsequent 50 issues that came later; and from the mind who gave a voice to many of the sidekicks of DC's favorite heroes in Young Justice, comes a great story about a man who would not let Destiny/Fate/whatever rule him. A man who would definitely not ride through life as a sidekick.
I love this book and cannot wait for the third. If you have not picked up this book or the first I suggest you do so. You will love it.
Keep up the good work Peter!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2016
Fun story. Sort of male oriented, and fantastic if you're a fan of fantasy, but I think any open minded person could find something to like in this book.

As this is a sequel I should mention that I think this story is somewhat less dark than Sir Apropos of Nothing, so if you wanted him to lighten up (just a touch) you've come to the right place.

The plot is a little all over the place, but I really enjoyed exploring the feelings of our repressed main character. You don't often get to see a farce take itself seriously and still retain the funny parts. Don't come expecting a masterwork; just come expecting high fantasy fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2013
The story arc of the two books concerning the trials of "Sir Apropos" were delightfully unusual to this reader since I do love intelligent puns, which abound in both books. The primary character is somewhat of an anti-hero, who is always concerned with himself in any endeavor he undertakes. Often, however, whatever selfish action he takes in a situation, actually turns out to benefit someone else - sometimes much more than him! Although, in the two-volume story arc, he vaults from underdog to top-dog, only to fall short of what he originally purposed, he does quite a bit of good to others along the way. That being said, in my opinion, this pair of novels should be read in sequence, since without the background fleshed out in the first book, the reader of the second book, "The Woad to Wuin", may be a bit bewildered at the beginning. Nevertheless, this book is both funny and interesting, with an intricate enough plot line to appeal to a wide spectrum of readers, from beginning fantasy types to us jaded older readers. However, I must mention that, again in my opinion, the tale is not for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 12, 2005
In the fantasy genre, too often times, it's the same-old-same-old: dragons, quests, magic swords and evil wizards. Usually, it's a trilogy, as if the writer were incapable of writing a single volume story. Peter David understands these cliches, and in Woad to Wuin, he once again skewers them. Woad is the second book featuring Apropos of Nothing, a bitterly pragmatic man who values self-preservation above everything. Apropos will run away from danger with no qualms and while not evil, is usually selfish enough to disregard the welfare of anyone else.

Woad begins with an opening chapter that is a direct parody of The Lord of the Rings, as Apropos accidentally acquires a magic ring with rather unusual powers. After disposing of it, the main story begins. His erstwhile companion Sharee the Weather Weaver returns into his life bearing a magic gem and fleeing a dangerous warrior. Apropos is forced into assisting her, disrupting his briefly normal life. Eventually trapped in a desert, both characters look doomed...and then the story twists in a completely different direction that at first seems like a dream but soon proves to be all too real.

I won't go into what the twist is, but in a way, it is the more serious reverse of the comedic first chapter. In that chapter, we saw Apropos giving up an object of power; now we see what happens if he winds up using it. Although not a ring, the magic gem - the Eye of the Beholder - is essentially the parallel of Tolkien's One Ring; if Frodo had seized the Ring for his own benefit to gain power, he would have a fate similar to Apropos's.

Although a parody of fantasy, Woad is not all humor, and in fact, as we get deeper and deeper into the story, the humor takes more and more of a back seat, generally being limited to some puns that are amusing but not overwhelming. David is not revisiting ground that other fantasy parodists (Anthony, Asprin, etc.) have walked on but instead goes off in his own direction and is the more successful for it. If you're not familiar with the conventions of this genre, this book may not be the best one to be introduced, but otherwise, this is an excellent novel and well-worth the read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2014
This is an excellent series. It is a good follow up to the first book. The third book is even better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2013
I just could not get into this book. The main character just did not click with me and I did not think it was very funny or punny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2002
A more enjoyable (and less unbearably cynical) tome than the original. The puns come fast and furious in the first half, but recede into the background in the second, as the action becomes more dramatic, and Atropos wry commentary strains against the evil he faces, and carries within himself. Good stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 7, 2014
Awesome Read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2007
Still a wonderful tribute to dark humor. However, not as uproriously funny as the first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2006
Loved the first two books but this ending left two much hanging.

I thought there would be more in the series. I am terribly disappointed. This was too much of the dark side for me.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse