Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Price:$21.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 335 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 490 reviews
on January 7, 2017
My absolute favorite game for the DS. The gameplay and battle system is fresh and fun. Even to this day I have yet to come across a game with a similar battle system. The touch screen is actually necesaary to use and to its full potential, not an after thought. The characters have depth and the story is a trip. There are plot twists and the ending was unexpected but good. I was very pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
It took me a bit to finally got into the game, I know it's dated as a game, it being a DS game and the current portable console market being the New 3DS XL, but it's actually a really good game, not as good as the many fans hype it out to be, but if you ignore that, you'll find a very entertaining game with good music and great characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2016
I bought this on a whim because I had heard good things about it. Play this game. Yes, it has a hard learning curve, but if you take a good minute to learn it, it is one of the most rewarding games to play.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 30, 2008
The first thing that struck me about `The World Ends With You' is the high quality of the production values. This is a one slick looking game. The next thing that hit me was how complicated the game is. I tend to prefer simpler RPG's like Paper Mario and the fantastic Mario and Luigi games but once you get past the moderate learning curve this is an awesome game. It's also a game the devilishly hard to put down.

As with just about every RPG ever created the meat of the game involves battles and leveling up. The action takes place on both the top and bottom screens. The top screen is managed using the directional pad while the lower requires the stylus. Players are given the choice as to which screen to control while the action in the opposite screen is taken care of by the system. I would generally switch back and forth in mid battle. The stylus attacks are more fun and powerful but the directional pad attacks can allow for devastating synced attacks. It all works very well and has yet to grow tedious. As a player gets more confident in fighting she can chain battles to fight multiple enemies in a row for greater rewards.

The rewards for battles include the standard experience points, cash and treasure but you also get experience points for the pins you bring to the fight. Pins? Pins are a way to customize your attacks. By attaching one or more pins you can employ various attacks including flames, ice, bullets using motions of the stylus. Most pins are upgradable through experience and some even evolve into more powerful pins.

The game I'm most reminded of playing TWEWY is the classic River City Ransom and that is high praise indeed. The game involves traveling around a city, fighting battles and purchasing clothes, foods and pins to increase your fighting abilities. River City Ransom was one of the all time great games and I always wondered why its formula wasn't emulated more. I'm not sure that the developers of The World had River City Ransom in mind when they created this game but it certainly was on mine while I played it.

This is one of the best handheld RPG's I've ever played. The story is very good if a bit more verbose than I usually like. The best thing I can say about this game is I never got bored and that's not always the case with RPG's. There is so much character building in the game whether it be upgrading your pins, creating relationships with salespeople or just increasing your attack and defense stats. I would have to put this game in the must get category for RPG fans.
33 comments| 164 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
The game is just hard to understand and the story isn't very interesting to me, would only recommend for people that want something new to do with their DS or 3DS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
OH MY GOD this game is beautiful in game flow, graphics, music, and mechanics!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
If you are looking for a very convoluted, mysteriously morbid Japanese RPG, you have found the perfect game. You're welcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2017
Better than most square games
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
The game is cool and the story is crazy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
VERY VERY VERY VERY good game.A must buy if you ask me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here