Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Price:$22.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 336 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 492 reviews
on January 3, 2015
In my opinion, this is the best game ever created for the Nintendo DS platform. A gripping story, outstanding characters, an upbeat soundtrack, and a quirky but solid control scheme all add up to an incredible handheld experience.

You begin the game as Neku Sakuraba, an antisocial teen who tries to tune out the world, waking up in Shibuya, Japan's Scramble Crossing, with his memories missing and monstrous creatures that nobody else can see hot on his tail. What follows is an existential journey through a loving recreation of Shibuya, participating in a game where all the Player's lives are on the line. Over the course of the game, Neku will make friends, discover his forgotten past, and ultimately save Shibuya from itself.

The soundtrack of The World Ends With You is one of the most phenomenal I've heard in a video game to date. With entries from upbeat J-Pop and cool Rap, you'll find yourself grooving to each and every track.

The controls are absolutely unique, with you simultaneously controlling Neku on the bottom screen with touch controls, and his partner on the top screen with directional controls. The World Ends With You has a deep combat system that is very easy to become proficient inn, but very difficult to obtain mastery over, with practically infinite complexities of Psych combinations and clothing powers.

And at the end of it all, when you've completed the story, you gain access to Another Day, a hilarious self-parody of the game you just completed, focused around a mini-game that played a small but important role in the main story. And while almost nothing in Another Day can be taken seriously (let alone at face value), it does hold an important role in the story itself, which you'll find after re-exploring Shibuya for the Secret Reports, which give a greater insight into the game's myriad mysteries.

TL;DR What a Wonderful World
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2016
I feel this game is sightly overhyped, but it definitely deserves it's title as one of the greats on the original DS. The characters are interesting and the gameplay is fun. The gameplay can be repetitive, but that's why the battles being optional is such a great thing. You can either just get straight to the main missions, or spend hours cutting down noise. I like that.

I won't spoil the ending, but I felt the ending was a bit empty. It left a LOT of questions from the main story unanswered. Then it tells you that in order to get that missing information, you gotta play it again post-game. This bugs me a LOT because it feels like it's just refusing to give me the whole story unless I want a second playthrough. The replay ability is fairly high, but I didn't like the post-game so much. You have to find specific items to meet the requirements to get those answers, and they can be difficult to track down. It should be easy with a walkthrough, but I don't know. I just didn't love it enough to wanna play the post-game, especially since said post-game is just the same damn story all over again but with key differences. Who knows, maybe I just got the "bad" ending. That is why I gave the game 4 stars, but I'd still recommend it. It's probably a nitpick. Completionists might have fun with it, but I usually buy games for gameplay and story, not to get every item and unlock every little thing.

The combat is done with the touch screen, so I really DON'T recommend playing this unless you've got a screen protector on it. By the end of your first playthrough, the screen will be so scratched up you can't see what's being displayed. This is seriously bad because game stores won't buy a handheld with a scratched up touch screen.

This game is great, but it's probably a specific taste. So I would definitely suggest that you look up reviews and let's plays of the game on Youtube before buying it yourself. But I do think most people will enjoy it. Maybe it's slightly overhyped, but the respect it gets is well-deserved.

As for the physical product... Yeah, it's CIB and even has the plastic wrap on it. So if you're gonna buy this game to sell it later when it game's more expensive... do it. This was literally unopened and never used when I got it, which is great if you're collecting. And considering that this is widely considered a classic, the price WILL go up over time.

It's a good game that's fun to play and has an interesting story, even if the end isn't the best in my opinion. But don't let that stop you; GET THIS GAME. Just be sure to research the gameplay before you do, as it's play style isn't for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
There are few games that qualify as amazing, and even fewer 3rd party DS games. Believe everything you are told about this game. Its really that amazing. From the soundtrack that sounds more like an eng/jap rock mix tape to the unique art style to the amazing story and even the game's odd and unique but amazing gameplay, theres really nothing bad to say about this game. Even if you don't have a ds you can still enjoy this game on your phone/tablet. The World Ends With You: Solo Remix is just about everything thats great about the first game plus even more. Don't bother reading a ton of reviews, or waiting for a price drop. Take it from everyone who has ever played this title; just buy it, play it, and treasure it. Few games achieve this level of greatness and are remembered so fondly this many years after release. This is one of those gems.

To summarize, I own 3 copies of this game (ds, iphone, and ipad) and I regret nothing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2017
My absolute favorite game for the DS. The gameplay and battle system is fresh and fun. Even to this day I have yet to come across a game with a similar battle system. The touch screen is actually necesaary to use and to its full potential, not an after thought. The characters have depth and the story is a trip. There are plot twists and the ending was unexpected but good. I was very pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
First off, the one writing this review is Dr Shenoy's daughter (ie, myself). I received this game as a birthday present from my parents, and I have to say, this game is one of the best I've ever played, and it's an absolute tragedy (yes, a TRAGEDY) that this game has not gotten a sequel. Despite being a few years old, TWEWY still manages to hit every bullseye in not just what makes a good video game, but what makes a good story. The gameplay, though a bit tricky and complicated, especially for new players, is tons of fun and honestly, quite addicting. I find myself going back to it often! I also have to applaud Square Enix for managing to make every feature of the DS useful, as well as accommodating left-handers like myself. The combat aspect never gets stale, as you can use several different kinds of pins to activate special psyches (powers). In terms of design, the style of the game is quite appealing to the eye, making use of colourful anime-oriented character designs against the backdrop of a bustling city. One thing that makes the game stand out is its use of real life locations in the city Shibuya, such as the Hachiko Statue, 109 (known as 104 in-game) and Tower Records (Towa Records in-game). The soundtrack is also quite a treat, if you're into J-Pop/J-rock and other such genres.
Now, for the story. Without giving too much away, the game follows an antisocial amnesiac teenager with a penchant for sarcasm, Neku Sakuraba, who is thrown into a life-or-death competition called "The Reaper's Game". Due to the rules of the game, he finds himself partnered with the kind and seemingly bubbly seamstress, Shiki Misaki, against his will, and is forced to fight monsterous creatures called "Noise", who feed off of negativity and cause distress, Along with the brash but caring punk Beat, Rhyme (who is sweet yet wise beyond her years), and the sly boy genius Joshua, (as well as a host of other interesting characters), Neku ends up fighting for his right to exist, as he learns to trust others, opens up his world, and discovers both the amazing and cruel sides of life. This is a game that teaches that though life is hard, it is so very worth living, and that every person in this world has value. I really can't do this game justice with words alone - it has to be played to be understood. This is one story that I will remember for years to come, and always appreciate for its engaging plot, memorable characters, thrilling gameplay and wonderful depth. If you haven't played this game yet, I sincerely recommend it - it's a real gem, and worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
This is definitely one of my favorite games of all time. I still listen (and even dance to) the music today, after years of owning it. This game was really hyped for me, since back when it was released I couldn't play T games (house rules...). Since release day, I had saved up more than enough money to purchase a copy, and (im)patiently waited until the day I turned 13 to purchase this game. And it did not disappoint. It's one of the few games that I not only played repeatedly, but I still come back to on occasion. And the characters? I relate to Neku so much. He was just like I was, back in middle school. And the other characters don't disappoint either - you really feel like they're alive. In fact, I'm gonna buy some more copies to share with friends who have a DS and I know will love it! To those playing The Reaper's Game, I wish thee good luck!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
Not a bad game. I only just learned about the game after seeing the main character, Neku, in Kingdom Hearts 3D Dream Drop Distance and decided that this game is going to part of my bucket list, which hopefully I have a long time to finish. I would have bought this on my phone, but for the cost, I said that "I might as well buy the DS version and play it on my 3DS." First of all, this is one of those games on DS that requires you to learn a "different" control scheme than other gamers maybe used to. Looking back, I wasn't really surprised about it, since a lot of developers had some strange way of controlling the playable characters, but here, you control two characters on different screens. You control Neku by the means of the touch screen, and you control the other character by using the d-pad, or the Circle Pad if you're playing on the 3DS. I didn't find the battle system hard to learn, but sometimes, some actions don't register, such as the power of the Pyrokinesis pin you get early in the game. I also think that, story-wise, it's interesting, but I haven't got far into the game to talk about specifics. Graphics-wise, the animation looks great, even on the 3DS, and I like the presentation of the game overall. Other than that, I think that this is a good game to have in a DS collection, and it's surprising that I never heard about it until Neku's appearance in Kingdom Hearts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
The World Ends With You was amazing. The graphics are absolutely beautiful, the music grows on you like a parasite, the characters are real and memorable, and the plot is deep. I also found it to be strangely philosophical and inspiring, due to the concepts that it plays with throughout the storyline. And the feels this game will give you.......you will not know what to do with all the feels.......or all the character development.............

If you are even considering buying this game- BUY IT. It is relatively cheap and hugely underrated. You may find the battle system to be challenging at first, and you may find yourself to be confused at first, but if you stick with the game I promise you that you will be rewarded and greatly so, be you casual or hardcore gamer.

There is no sequel to this game however, which I find to be greatly disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
This is, hands down, one of my favorite games ever. There's just so much to love!

First of all, the gameplay is unique, exciting, and easily tailored to your play style. It takes a while to get used to playing on two screens, but the game gives you the option of having the AI take over your partner (on the top screen, controlled by the D-pad) after a specified length of inactivity, leaving you free to focus on Neku (on the bottom screen, controlled with the stylus). There are hundreds of pins for you to choose from while building Neku's deck, allowing for almost endless strategies. Attack from afar with bullets, flames, lightning, telekinesis, boulders raining from the sky, or boomerangs (among others), or get up close with various slash or slam attacks. If you play your partner well, you can also collect Fusion Stars and unleash a Fusion Attack, which does massive amounts of damage and looks cool besides.

The difficulty is also completely up to you, making this game accessible to newer gamers, but also appealing to gaming veterans. With four difficulty settings, a slider that lets you adjust your level at any time (your level determines your HP), and the ability to chain battles, you don't have to search far to find a challenge.

Food and clothing are available to boost your stats: the standard attack, defense, and HP, along with some not-so-typical stats. Bravery determines which clothes you can wear, and sync rate makes it easier to get combo bonuses in battle. Clothing will also give you special abilities, if you can find a shopkeeper who will give it to you. These abilities can give you extra stat boosts, Fusion Stars at the start of battle, abilities to drop enemy stats, and more.

The story itself is also amazing. The characters are likeable and memorable, and there are some great twists scattered throughout the game. Although the main story isn't terribly long (perhaps 10-12 hours), there is a huge amount of re-playability. I've put in well over 100 hours into this game since I first got it.

After beating the game once, you get the option to replay any day, with added objectives. Complete every objective for a day and you get a secret report, which gives more information about the game world. There is also a bonus level called "Another Day," which takes place in an alternate Shibuya. The "story" for this day revolves around the Tin-Pin Slammer minigame (something like marbles or bumper cars, but with special attacks), which admittedly isn't as much fun as real battles, but if you take the time to do all the Tin Pin battles, you'll be rewarded with some of the funniest dialogue in the game.

And, of course, for the collection-minded gamers, there is plenty of collecting to be done. Over three hundred pins exist in the game, some of which are very difficult to obtain. There are also items to collect from stores, some of which are quest items and require the rare Orichalcum and Dark Matter pins. The game tracks various achievements - Pin Mastery, Item Collection, Noise Report (bestiary), ESP'er Points (which tracks, among other things, number of battles won) and ESP'er Rank (determined by ESP'er Points), and Final Time Attack score (FTA is a post-game challenge where you fight 11 bosses back-to-back).

The art style of the game is also unique, and it fits wonderfully with the setting of the game. The music is amazing, particularly for a DS game, and you'll probably find yourself singing along by the end of the game.

The bottom line is that this game is amazing, challenging, and just plain fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
This game is a very different experience. If you are thinking about this game because you're a fan of other Square Enix RPG's, you need to be aware that this game is a very different animal. The setting being a real place, trendy clothes instead of armor, delayed effect single-use items, and "random" encounters completely under your control make this a unique game. Character personalities are fairly typical, but they each have an interesting back-story to them.

The actual gameplay is as different as the backdrop. The map is big enough that it doesn't feel small, but not so big that you won't have a vague sense of how to get where you want to be. Armor and weapons are replaced by clothes and pins (think flair) and their relative effectiveness is dictated by their brands. Certain sections of town like certain brands, depending on what shops are in and around there and how much you use certain brands in that area. There are a ton of items, plenty to do after you beat the game, and it has decent replay value.

On the subject of uniqueness, the combat is bizarre. In combat, you control the main character and his partner simultaneously, but they appear to be fighting in different spaces on different screens. The main character is controlled by the stylus on the lower screen, and the partner character is controlled on the top screen with the directional pad. The main character uses the pins. Each one does a slightly different thing and is controlled in a slightly different way. Again, you control both simultaneously. This is not as difficult as it sounds, as a key combat mechanic is to complete a combo with one character and then complete a combo with the other character.

In summation, this is a very fun game an you won't play anything else like it. This is the best use of the two screen system I've ever seen. The combat is odd, but sounds much harder than it actually is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here