Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 873 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,023 reviews
on July 26, 2016
Can't go wrong with Simon Pegg & Nick Frost. This is the 3rd movie in their so called cornetto trilogy (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, and The World's End). I like this movie because it mixes a pub crawl with aliens! Great movie, great lines, and incredible plot. Non stop laughs and action will await you. Don't be a robot, watch this movie!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
Very entertaining. The setup in particular is very funny. I was expecting one thing from the setup, but the movie goes off into left field part way through; way, way into left field. But don't let this deter you, there is plenty fun still to be had, and lessons to be learned.

Simon Pegg plays a guy looking to relive the good old days. He peaked in high school, and his life hasn't progressed since then. He wants to go to the well tonight, and do some talking about Glory Days, to quote The Boss. He gets his old school friends back together to complete an epic pub crawl in their hometown.

The plot is crazy and it isn't as good as the other Nick Frost/Simon Pegg offerings (especially Hot Fuzz). However, this is a rollicking good time. Simon Pegg plays his 40 year old arrested development character perfectly. It suits him so well, you wonder what his life might have been had he not become a movie star. Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl) plays the love interest, and the other supporting characters are all well played. But it is Nick Frost, playing the seemly trodden-down friend from high school that really shines. During the climax, he rises to the occasion spectacularly. Playing the hero suits him better than I would have guessed from his other movies.

I am off now to watch it again. I was laughing so much that I missed a lot of the jokes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
Who doesn't like a great story about buddies and beer? Edgar Wright certainly loves it. Once again united Simon Pegg & Nick Frost comes the final chapter in the 'Blood & Ice Cream' Trilogy.

'The World's End' is the story of 5 best buddies who tried to tackle their towns legendary Golden Mile. 12 pubs and a pint in each all the way to the king of all bars...The World's End. Unfortunately, they didn't quite get there and now it is up to the one of them who chose not to grow up. So, he gets the band back together to head back to their old stomping grounds and try again. Only this time, the mile might be a little different than the last time.

If you like British Comedy, and films like 'Shawn of The Dead' and 'Hot Fuzz', then I don't need to promote this film anymore. If you want to get a great laugh and see a comedy unlike something you have never seen before then you have to see 'The World's End' It is by far one of the best films that 2013 had to offer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2014
This is the third film in Edgar Wright's Cornetto trilogy and it delivers exactly what you would expect. If you like Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, then you must see this one too. This is Wright's homage to alien invasion flicks and it is as witty and heartfelt as all of his other work. I loved it. I love everything he touches. If you do to, then get this movie. If you are not familiar with the trilogy, DO NOT start here. Checkout Shaun and Hot Fuzz, if you like them, then this is the same genre-bending style and it is worth having a copy on your shelf to share with friends who have never seen his work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
I regard "Shaun of the Dead" to be not only a first-rate comedy, but also an outstanding zombie film. "Hot Fuzz" is a better Michael Bay/Keanu Reeves/Bruce Willis popcorn-action flick than any of those guys have made in decades, in addition to being so funny that it sometimes leaves me breathless (if it makes sense, the movie is sometimes so brilliant that I forget to laugh. Instead, I stare in open-mouthed amazement). "The World's End" has a high bar to clear, but it does so easily. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost deliver excellent performances that reverse their usual dynamic, but the real takeaway from this movie is just what an outstanding director Edgar Wright has become. The action sequences in the movie are fluidly shot and well-planned and executed. Many a big-name "action" director could stand a day or two observing at Edgar Wright's feet. Like the previous volumes in the trilogy, "The World's End" delivers laughs, a solid script, an homage/appreciation of genre that moves far beyond parody, and some intriguing ideas. I thought it was one of the best movies of 2013.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2015
If you're coming into this off of "Shaun of the Dead" and "Hot Fuzz," be prepared because it's the least funny of the three films. That's not really a bad thing, because it's got the most on its mind. There's more of a message and some deeper thoughts going on beneath the surface in this case. It makes it a bit less of a thrilling ride, but I think it leads leaves a longer lasting impression in the end.

It doesn't hurt that Pegg gives what is probably his best and most nuanced performance in any film. Frost is also in top form, playing somewhat against type in this one. The rest of the cast is top notch as well, and keeping things focused on the pub crawl and characters keep things anchored even as the overall tone changes as the film goes on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
Hard to pick a favorite from the Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy, but for me, third time is the charm. I'd watch Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz first (and discover the unique combination of genres in each), but it's not really necessary. The World's End is works as a comedy, drama, action, and sci-fi flik. Pegg and Frost are good, as always, but for my money the supporting cast here is the strongest of all their movies.

In addition, the extras are well worth the time it takes to watch them - generally more funny and enjoyable than 90% of the stuff you can find on television. Not a high bar, I admit, but still.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
We wound up watching all 3 films in the Cornetto trilogy, with this being the last one. It wasn't my favorite of the group, but it was entertaining. Pegg's character wasn't really totally likeable but still entertaining. You probably know that the town is occupied by non-humans, and so while the violence is frequent it's not the same as watching humans get dismembered. The characters make some odd choices during the movie, leaving you thinking "why?", but honestly it's not a big deal. The fighting skills of the main characters were also pretty impressive, adding to the thrill factor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
This British comedy [from the creators of Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz} is not as funny as either of the former. It is a spoof on science fiction, specifically on "alien invasion" films, as Shaun of the Dead was a well-done spoof on classic zombie films and Hot Fuzz, their comedic version of the classic cop-team film. Basically a group of friends, notorious boozers and fighters in their youth, reunite for a classic tour of 12 bars on the main street of their home town—the last pub aptly named “World’s End”. During the course of their carousing, they begin to notice the people aren’t quite the same. No, it's not just that the friends they knew have been replaced by younger people they don’t recognize—they’ve been replaced by ALIENS…not that anyone is supposed to take this seriously of course, but the ageing friends decide they simply MUST complete the Worlds End classic, even if the world might really be coming to an end! In a sense, it's loosely a counterpart to the brilliant and probably under-appreciated "The Watch" with Ben Stiller. The movie ends with a confrontation with our rowdy crew and the aliens bent on taking over our species. I suppose to give away the outcome would be to spoil the plot for anyone who hasn't watched it. In any case, it's rather the opposite of the American stereotype of British (based, I guess, on the upper class and those aspiring to it) as more reserved; this crowd is blue collar and about as rowdy as they get. In this case, I'll take the more reserved "The Watch", but fans of Pegg and Write, I'm sure, will want to see it.
I give this a C-.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
I must admit that I love Simon Pegg and Nick Frost... especially when they are working together. This movie is funny enough the first time, but I encourage you to watch it again and again. You will pick up on hints and references you missed the time before (also, keep your eyes on the surrounding scenery). Everything, it seems, has meaning - either to the movie itself, or the previous installments ("Shaun of the Dean" and "Hot Fuzz"). There are non-speaking actors who have appeared in the previous movies as well (check for Zombie Garden Girl, Mary in the "therapy circle" at the beginning of the movie). It's fun to see Simon Pegg as a naughty, messy loser and Nick Frost as the straight-laced, responsible one for a change, too! Well worth the price, whatever it may be!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse