Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Shop Popular Services masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on March 2, 2009
I thought it was too good to be true to be getting all these novels for free, until I realized that I was getting "Cliff Notes" versions. I went back to the product I ordered to see if I missed anything, but there was nothing there calling these books out as a synopsis. It's a good idea for those people who are looking for quick hits of the story, but if you are actually looking to read the books listed in the contents, look elsewhere.
33 comments| 614 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2011
VOLUME 01: FICTION

About, Edmond............... King of the Mountains
Ainsworth, Harrison............... Tower of London
Andersen, Hans............... Improvisatore
Apuleius............... The Golden Ass
Unknown............... Arabian Nights
Unknown............... Aucassin and Nicolette
Auerbach, Berthold............... On the Height
Austin, Jane............... Sense and Sensibility
Austin, Jane............... Pride and Prejudice
Austin, Jane............... Northanger Abbey
Austin, Jane............... Mansfield Park
Austin, Jane............... Emma
Austin, Jane............... Persuasion
Balzac, Honore De............... Eugenie Grandet
Balzac, Honore De............... Old Goriot
Balzac, Honore De............... Magic Skin
Balzac, Honore De............... Quest of the Absolute
Beckford, William............... History of the Caliph Vathek
Behn, Aphra............... Oroonoko
Bergerac, Cyrano De............... Voyage to the Moon
Bjornson, Bjornstijerne............... Arne in God's Way
Black, William............... Daughter of Heth
Blackmore, R.D. ............... Lorna Doone
Boccaccio............... Decameron
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
Hi - this is a free ebook I got for my kindle. You know in the event I ever actually used my kindle to read.

I just use it for a long of games and to watch netflix on while I'm in the bath tub.

But yes, books are so awesome, especially when they are free for your kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2009
The Kindle holds great promise not only for its ability to deliver books purchased through Amazon.com in just seconds, but also for its ability to make available freely thousands of books having fallen out of copyright, including classics such as Dracula, Frankenstein, and Ulysses. This compendium seems to be the first significant attempt to make those books available through Amazon's delivery system, and I applaud the creators for it. However these volumes are fraught with problems, most notably formatting and editorial issues, not to mention the plain fact they do not contain the advertised material.

I do hope those responsible for this product do make a second attempt because I see great promise in it, however this particular version just isn't ready.

With a bit of doing you can load hundreds of e-books to your Kindle though. For a glimpse of what's available, check out the Gutenberg project's library at [...]
11 comment| 158 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2010
This book summaries included in this publication are good, and worthwhile in helping one decide whether to purchase the whole book. But there is not table of contents, which makes it impossible to know what books are included in this publication without taking the time to click all the way through. That seems ridiculous to me, for whoever prepared the publication could certainly have found time to include a tables of contents! The book becomes almost useless without it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2009
This series is a summary of great classics of literature. There are brief biographies of the author and then an abbreviated version of the story is told by selecting key passages from the work in the author's own words. There is sufficient information to tell if you will enjoy the theme of the book and the author's writing style. For those books that you enjoy, I would recommend getting the full work because much is left out in the abbreviated version. Still, this is a wonderful introduction to many great works of literature.
0Comment| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
The content is really good but it is really difficult to move around in. But you can't beat the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2017
Great product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2017
good material
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2016
Lots of great stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here