Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Their Greatest Hits
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Back to School STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 24, 2000
Having read David Fuller's review, I couldn't agree more...buy the gold disc! Worth every penny!
This album has, as of November 1999, become the biggest seller of all time: 26 million copies worth. Thriller is in second place at 25 million. And it's easy to see why. This perfectly captures the Eagles early years of country rock, before the Eagles turned all out rockers with Joe Walsh and Hotel California.
In fact, the ten selections are well sequenced flowing nicely together. Henley's vocals are judiciously split four per side. Each album is evenly represented on both sides of the LP.
The gold disc boasts superior sound, remastered directly from the two track stereo tapes. Curious is the fact that the track times are two seconds longer on each track. Compression on the orginal LP and CD perhaps? The jacket depicts the 3-D effect on the eagles skull, and features all the orginal graphics, including the LP labels.
One reviewer wished this CD could have been expanded. A couple of interesting facts: One, there were two singles from Desperado, Tequila Sunrise is on this, but Desperado was not a single. I'm glad it is on this. It is a track deserving of being on a greatest hits. However, the other single was Outlaw Man! Interesting!
Second, On The Border had three singles. Two of them are on this, but James Dean is not.
Lastly, we have a missing B-Side. The flip side to Take It Easy is a song penned by Henley-Frey called Get You In The Mood. To my knowledge, it is not on any Eagles album. I do not have much information on this 3:52 obscurity.
What we need is a comprehensive Eagles singles anthology. Let's hope we will get that, I mean the 30th anniversary is coming shortly. That's a hint!
66 comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2000
Having sold well over 14 million copies to date, this is now the biggest selling record of all time. Not bad for a band of talented but unknown musicians who were originally gathered together by a record producer to be Linda Ronstadt's back-up band.
Personally, I'm not a big fan of the "Greatest Hits" album concept, because they tend to be superficial selections of what got radio play, and often don't represent the artist's best work. Never has that been less true than it is here, though. This is a great greatest hits package because it also is representive of the best work the Eagles did between 1971 and 1975.
The Eagles recorded a total of only six studio albums before disbanding to pursue solo projects after the release of 1979's THE LONG RUN. This album draws from what is commonly noted as being the pre-Joe Walsh era--the first four albums, including THE EAGLES, DESPERADO, ON THE BORDER, and ONE OF THESE NIGHTS.
Originally, banjo/mandolin player and founding member Bernie Leadon was crucial to the band's sound. However, with the addition of Don Felder on guitar, the band moved toward a more mainstream California rock sound.
All of the songs on this collection are strong, particularly TAKE IT EASY, LYIN' EYES, DESPERADO, and the rare Eagles song from this period that doesn't feature lead vocals by either Don Henley or Glen Frey, the bassist Randy Meisner sung TAKE IT TO THE LIMIT.
I've had this album in one format or another since I was 12 years old, and I keep coming back to it for whatever you listen to music for.
11 comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon January 8, 2001
The Eagles 1976's release Their Greatest Hits 1971-75 has recently become the biggest selling album of all-time topping Michael Jackson's Thriller. The album has moved a staggering 26 million copies and the fact that people are still consistently buying it 24 years after its release is a testament to the timeless nature of the songs. The songs are mostly in the country-rock vein from the wistful "Peaceful Easy Feeling" to the two-timing tale "Lyin' Eyes" to the supple number one hit "Best Of My Love". There are some harder number like the evil & dark sounding "One Of These Nights" and the smoldering "Witchy Woman". The band's success can be tied into the fact that Glenn Frey & Don Henley are extraordinary songwriters, the band are perfectionists in the studio, so their songs are painstakingly produced, Bernie Leadon, Randy Meisner and later Don Felder all are excellent musicians and they make picture perfect harmonies. An essential album.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Eagles have a reputation that would seem to put them into the same class as the greats of rock. This reputation comes in spite of the fact that The Eagles released but seven albums in their two incarnations, six of which were released between 1972 and 1979. The last album was "Hell Freezes Over", an orphan released in 1994.
The first four Eagles albums provided enough material for the first of six collections, titled "Their Greatest Hits". This album covers The Eagles from 1972 to 1975, the pre-Joe Walsh years. In general, their music during these years had a country flavor, but was well balanced with rock influences. I consider The Eagles of these first four albums to be one of the first true country-rock bands. I also think that Don Henley and Glen Frey brought to this genre a style and talent that reminds me of The Beatles in their middle years.
This album captures quite a range. "Desperado" is probably the most overtly country in styling. "Witchy Woman" has a rhythm that can only be described as based on Native American music, and thus is not true country, but has enough country elements to be considered either country or pop/rock. Other songs move further away from country, but still show their country influences, such as "Already Gone" and "Peaceful Easy Feeling".
While the country influence is there, you can also detect elements of The Eagles that would be more strongly manifested in "Hotel California" and "The Long Run". "Witchy Woman" has a strong electric guitar lead. "Already Gone" also has a dominant lead guitar, which at that time was more associated with rock. The latter song could have gone on "The Long Run", an album that moved The Eagles away from a country flavor.
I think The Eagles are highly regarded because of the quality of the songs created by the group, and perhaps because of the influence they had on other country-rock groups. They showed others that country and rock could be successfully married and people would buy such music when it was performed well. They also showed others that the same group could create a song that would be considered rock, and on the same record have a song with strong country influences. Along with a number of other groups in the 60s and 70s, The Eagles were groundbreaking in their own way.
It's easy to look back on this music and put it down because 30 years later it is no longer fresh, new, or original. There have been hundreds of imitators of The Eagles. However, The Eagles were one of the first, and in many ways, were the first. Those who came later imitated The Eagles and performed similar music so many times that after a while the impact of The Eagles appears to have been diluted. In truth, that impact occurred when these songs were released, and are part of the continuing evolution of music. Try to put yourself back in the early 70s when this music was released. It was great then, new, fresh, innovative, and young. The jungle beat of disco, techno-pop, the discordant chords of Nine Inch Nails were all yet to be, and The Beatles had only broken up recently. I will always remember this music for how unique it was when released.
If you like what you hear on the radio of The Eagles, then you will enjoy this CD. I prefer the albums to this collection, because I think the albums have music equal to the music on this CD, but this collection is a good introduction to the early Eagles. Enjoy!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2006
This was a must have album in the 1970's, but it has since been superceded by their "The Very Best of" 2 CD set. This CD is simply a song for song re-issue of the vinyl album, so it only contains 10 songs from their early days. Which would be fine if this were a budget release, but it is not. The songs on here are great, but I think you would get a better value from buying "The Very Best of The Eagles" collection. It spans their entire career and includes 33 songs on 2 CDs.

I know they want to keep selling this CD since it is the biggest selling album of all time, but they need to cut the price or at least throw in a few bonus tracks.
33 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
If you love 70s rock you'll love the Eagles. This is their classic album and you can't go wrong. The Eagles 1976's release Their Greatest Hits 1971-75 has recently become the biggest selling album of all-time topping Michael Jackson's Thriller. The album has moved a staggering 26 million copies and the fact that people are still consistently buying it 24 years after its release is a testament to the timeless nature of the songs. The songs are mostly in the country-rock vein from the wistful "Peaceful Easy Feeling" to the two-timing tale "Lyin' Eyes" to the supple number one hit "Best Of My Love". There are some harder number like the evil & dark sounding "One Of These Nights" and the smoldering "Witchy Woman". The band's success can be tied into the fact that Glenn Frey & Don Henley are extraordinary songwriters, the band are perfectionists in the studio, so their songs are painstakingly produced, Bernie Leadon, Randy Meisner and later Don Felder all are excellent musicians and they make picture perfect harmonies. An essential album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
Just got it today and aside from the great music on the album the pressing was great too. The only not-so-positive thing with the pressing was the hole diameter was a little on the small size where I had to push down the center of the record to get it down the spindle shaft, but at least the hole centering was very close to perfect and very low warpage of the record. Surface noise was not detectable during the music but was detectable between songs as with most vinyl records I've run across. Dynamic range was great as well as the frequency range was good (highs weren't shrill and the lows weren't boomy). It's a keeper!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2012
Listen to this album and you will begin to sense that most of the songs have a country feelin. Others use powerful bacground music to "power through. This album is classic rock at its early beginnings.
Also, if you're a classic rock buff, this album is essential for your collection. In this greatest hits collection, there are only ten tracks to listen to, but these classic songs do not wear out on you. This collection also defines the early Eagles' creativity and diversity in their music. It shows Glenn Frey and Don Henley as two of the best songwriters in classic rock history.
The album has classic rockers such as "Take It Easy" (-recently chose as best song to cruise to) and "Already Gone". Wonderful relaxing classics consist of "Peaceful, Easy Feeling", "Best Of My Love", and "Tequila Sunrise". The songs are so soothing, they almost take you to another place where one can relax and watch a sunset (or "sunrise") while sipping a strong drink. "Take It To The Limit" is a beautiful collaboration of the bands vocal talents and songwriting. The song that strikes me the most on this album, though, is "Desperado". Every time I listen to this song, I get moved. . The song moves me with such original lyrics, absolutely incredible singing by Don, and flawless production. Gotta have tis album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 29, 2016
I've been an Eagles fan for many years and every song on this album is fantastic! The track listing includes:
Take It Easy
Witchy Woman
Lyin' Eyes
Already Gone
Desperado
One of These Nights
Tequila Sunrise
Take It To The Limit
Peaceful Easy Feeling
The Best of My Love

I purchased the vinyl version of the album and it plays perfectly! Classic and essential album for fans of all ages!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
Sadly we just received our 3rd vinyl LP copy of the Eagles Greatest Hits and AGAIN the record skips, quite badly, at the end of Peaceful, Easy Feeling. We have tried this record on 2 different players and get the same results. We have returned it twice and are so disappointed and frustrated. We spent nearly $25 on this record and now have to decide whether to ask for a refund or live with it as is. Obviously there is little point in returning it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse