Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: And Then Came Lola
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 28, 2010
Has the bar been set so low for lesbian cinema that movie watchers would actually review this movie with high marks? Apparently, the answer to that question is yes. The script and acting are so bad, I had to actually stop it at times and cleanse my palette while watching the Discovery Channel. Out of respect for gay cinema, I watched the whole movie. That's over an hour of my life that I will never get back. The acting wasn't even as good as an NYU student film and the places left in the script for a bit of improv ended up being stilted and awkward because the actors were terrible. The overt and awkward sexual references throughout the film became hard to watch. They were inappropriate at times and at others just plain stupid. Ugh. I hope there are better projects in store for the writers/director/actors of this film because this one is forgettable.
33 comments| 97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
The plot? Lesbian A has to rush a set of portfolio photos into the waiting hands of girlfriend Lesbian B. On the way there she runs around San Francisco, encounters various obstacles, does some soul searching, and gets to repeat the same journey in three different versions. Because it's about lesbian characters set in North America, sitting in front of a psychotherapist at some point is inevitable. What is absolutely amazing about this film, however, is that a movie about lesbians with San Francisco as the location has not one, single dyke in it -- not even in the background of the lesbian bar where Lesbian B hangs out for most of its 71 minutes. In Trendy Lesbian Planet, the main characters can pass for straight (in comfortable shoes, of course), have fashionably slender figures, and dildos are never too far from reach. But not even the occasional (ho-hum) sex in this film could keep me from picking up the newspaper to finish reading it.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2010
A lot of people seemed to like this movie and I'm surprised by that. I thought it was boring. It reminded me of a lesbian version of groundhog's day, repeating the day until she got it right. I must have missed something because it seemed to me that two thirds of this film was spent watching a character run... and run....and run... and run.....
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2013
Ridiculous, superficial and sophomoric depiction of a topic that should be treated with understanding and respect. Unfortunate that this movie could help set back attitudes toward LGBT to a much more prurient time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2010
This movie was repetitive and kept playing the same scenes with slight variations. Yes, the intention was to see her progress and make different choices but I became annoyed with Lola. Very tedious, annoying moving.
Don't waste your time and money.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2010
This is a creative, fun, and sexy flick. It's loosely inspired by the wonderful German film "Run, Lola, Run." I think "loose" is the operative word. While Run, Lola, Run, is a rather dark film, this lesbian twist on it is definitely a romp. In the German film Lola must save her boyfriend from a drug-deal gone bad. In this film, Lola must "save" her girlfriend from a former flame. As with the German Lola, our lesbo Lola has three chances to get it right. Does she get the girl and save her from the clutches of the evil-ex? Well, I'll never tell. What I can tell you is that the film features a lot of attractive OUT actresses, beautiful San Francisco scenery, great music, clever photo-montages and animation. It also features some very, very hot love scenes. A must see. The DVD extra feature interview with star Ashleigh Sumner is also worth watching. Sounds like it was a fun set. That's a job I would like to have.
review image review image
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2010
can i get back the time i wasted watching this, really it wasn't up to much, there is good lesbian films out there go watch them!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
I turned it off not even halfway through. The movie is slow and boring. Keeps replaying the same stupid events over and over.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
You hate to say bad things about a project somebody obviously worked really hard on--writer, director, or cast member...but whoever the "somebody" is that gave this stinker their all needs to find another medium to express their creativity because this movie misses on just about every level--even as a "small budget independent film". Poorly written dialog. Very one dimensional wooden performances. The story manages to be tired, uninspired, and self indulgent all at the same time. I understand that it is a movie aimed at a very specific audience so it is possible I missed something but I doubt being a lesbian somehow means you suddenly appreciate a bad story with bad direction, acting, casting, and zero passion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
Just get a porn. This is a lesbian movie by all women with zero substance, zero talent, zero budget, and zero originality. The sex scenes are interrupted by "Lola" being interviewed (why?) and her monotonous voice is such a sudden shift that there is no sexy in the sex. Plus the girlfriend-whatever her name is- is just HORRIBLE! She plays the concept of a scorned and angry lover, but doesn't really BE that. Take some acting classes, ladies. I had to watch one love scene multiple times just to get off, because they are far too short- and I figure I might as well get something from this pile of trash B movie. But, still, I should have watched porn!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here