Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $3.01 (19%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Then She Was Gone: A Novel by [Lisa Jewell]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Then She Was Gone: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 18,333 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 369 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Then She Was Gone:

Then She Was Gone is a riveting thriller.” (PopSugar)

Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace, leaving readers on the edge of their seats. There will surely be comparisons to novels such as Emma Donoghue’s Room (2010) as well as all of the “Girl” thrillers, but Jewell’s latest really isn’t at all derivative. Her multilayered characters are sheer perfection, and even the most astute thriller reader won’t see where everything is going until the final threads are unknotted. Those few who do guess early won’t mind, as the pace and prose will keep them hooked.” (Booklist (starred review))

“Jewell gets more riveting and twisty with every book she writes. Completely absorbing, fast-paced, well-written and with a shocking ending that will keep readers guessing, Then She Was Gone is a nearly pitch-perfect thriller. Fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware are sure to adore this haunting novel.” (Shelf Awareness)

More than a whiff of The Lovely Bones wafts through this haunting domestic noir from bestseller Jewell…Skillfully told by several narrators, Jewell’s gripping novel is an emotionally resonant story of loss, grief, and renewal.”  (Publishers Weekly)

"For thriller readers, Jewell's latest will not disappoint. Sharply written with twists and turns, it will please fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, or Luckiest Girl Alive." (Library Journal)

“In addition to being a complex and genuinely suspenseful narrative, Then She Was Gone is a rich study of the ways in which people respond to grief and how past trauma can continue to shape their decision-making and relationships years or decades later. Readers will be truly affected by Ellie’s real story once it’s revealedand they’ll be satisfied by the hopeful yet bittersweet ending. Jewell demonstrates once again that she has what it takes to genuinely shock, surprise and move her readers.” (Book Reporter)

"What begins as a story about the mother of a missing girl starting a new relationship as she comes terms with her grief morphs into a gripping, disturbing and utterly fascinating tale about what really happened to young Ellie Mack. I've been a Lisa Jewell fan for a long time and in this book, as in all her others, she deftly weaves a compelling plot with an emotional depth that leaves you gasping. In Then She Was Gone she has created a book that is dark and claustrophobic but also heartfelt and moving. Then She Was Gone packs a huge emotional punch that will leave you winded. I loved it." (C.L. Taylor, bestselling author )

"If you were the first of your friends to read Girl On The Train, and have read Gone Girl more times than you can remember, then here is your summer read. A thriller about a 15-year-old girl who has vanished and a mother who won’t give up hope. A perfect Pimm’s companion." (The Sun (UK))

"Smart and engrossing." (Sunday Mirror (UK))

"A dark, compulsive psychological thriller, yet one which is also uplifting and tender. I absolutely loved Then She Was Gone."  (Rachel Rhys, author of Dangerous Crossing)

"Jewell has departed from chick lit and gone full tilt into a psycho thriller, but she’s lost none of her brilliance… Deeply emotional and incredibly clever. Bravo." (Mail Online)

Praise for I Found You:

“Lisa Jewell is a brilliant storyteller, creating suspenseful yet believable novels time and again. I Found You is no exception—filled with intriguing characters connected in startling ways. Quickly paced yet delicately nuanced, this novel is sure to appeal to fans of Big Little Lies and The Woman in Cabin 10.” (Shelf Awareness (starred review))

"Jewell is a wonderful storyteller. Her characters are believable, her writing is strong and poetic, and her narrative is infused with just enough intrigue to keep the pages turning. Readers of Liane Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware will love." (Library Journal (starred review))

“How [the] plots intersect and finally collide is one of the great thrills of reading Jewell’s book. She ratchets up the tension masterfully, and her writing is lively.” (New York Times Book Review)

"Jewell keeps the reader guessing." (New York Post, Required Reading column)

“The structure keeps the suspense level high, and Jewell manages surprising revelations all the way up to the ending. The mix of women’s fiction and suspense—plus a no-nonsense 40-something heroine at the heart of the story—makes this a good fit for fans of Liane Moriarty.” (Booklist)

“Riveting…numerous twists avoid predictability, and the novel is well-paced as it weaves three narratives together. Dark and moody, this is a mystery with substance.”  (Kirkus Reviews)

"One word: wow! This latest offering from Jewell starts off strong and keeps readers riveted until the very last word…this book is ‘unreliable narrator’ at its best!" (RT Book Reviews)

“Jewell is a genuinely original and skilled novelist with an impressive flair for deftly crafted narratives and surprising plot development.” (Midwest Book Review)

About the Author

Lisa Jewell is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of eighteen novels, including The Family Upstairs and Then She Was Gone, as well as Watching You and I Found You. Her novels have sold more than 4.5 million copies internationally, and her work has also been translated into twenty-five languages. Connect with her on Twitter @LisaJewellUK, on Instagram @LisaJewellUK, and on Facebook @LisaJewellOfficial.

Product details

  • File size : 9651 KB
  • Publication date : April 17, 2018
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 369 pages
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • Publisher : Atria Books; Reprint edition (April 17, 2018)
  • Language: : English
  • ASIN : B074MDD3H6
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18,333 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
18,333 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on August 31, 2018
Verified Purchase
998 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 18, 2018
Verified Purchase
551 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 20, 2018
Verified Purchase
391 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 27, 2018
Verified Purchase
352 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 4, 2018
Verified Purchase
296 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 5, 2018
Verified Purchase
168 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Diane
5.0 out of 5 stars What a story !!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 24, 2018
Verified Purchase
50 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jade07
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 18, 2018
Verified Purchase
42 people found this helpful
Report abuse
marshwader
5.0 out of 5 stars and what a great read it was
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 14, 2018
Verified Purchase
26 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Sally Jackson
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 5, 2018
Verified Purchase
17 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
2.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for the twist, there isn't one.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 11, 2018
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse