BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now PSFF17_gno



on April 24, 2008
These Dreams by Barbara Chepaitis starts off as what seems like a story about a simple woman and her family and their mundane problems, but quickly spirals into a novel about the curveballs life throws at you and the different ways people handle them. No one can predict how they'll react when faced with a traumatic situation, as we see when Cricket Thompson's life crashes down around her. A gunman on the loose shoots one of her daughters at the local mall, just beginning the crumbling of Cricket's life and all she is familiar with. Guilt-ridden and full of grief, Cricket becomes obsessed with tending to her daughter, believing that hope is enough to bring her back from her coma and make her well again. Meanwhile, her marriage falls to pieces, her other daughter becomes distant and moody, and Cricket finds herself unexpectedly turning to her coworker, Pass, for comfort. An innocent friendship crosses the line and Cricket finds herself in a mess she simply cannot undo. Confused, afraid, and with no one to turn to, Cricket looks within herself to find a strength she did not know existed. She is able to finally come to terms with everything that has happened both to her and around her and guiltlessly go after the things she not only wants, but deserves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2008
I took a class taught by Barbara Chepaitis, as an assignment we were asked to buy one of her books and read it. Afterwards our assignment was to publicize her book in someway. I wrote a good review for her novel, These Dreams. Now after the class is over I would like to retract my submission on how much I enjoyed this book, because I certainly did not.

The novel was a predictable, slow moving story of a woman who tries to 'find her true self', this same story has been written so many times already that it was of no interest to me. The characters were not well rounded and cricket, the main character had a rather annoying story of self discovery. She tries to piece together the story by traveling through the characters dreams which take up about a quarter of the book and don't piece much together, just remind you of how drawn out this novel is.

I am willing to bet that most of these other 5-star comments are made by other kids from my class who were forced with write this and print out a copy to give to professor. I would not recommend buying this book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2002
Cricket Thompson lives a contented ordinary life in the small upstate New York town of Dansville. It is a place where neighbors know each other and crime is relatively low. Cricket has two daughters, Janis and Grace, who she adores, and her husband Jim who she is comfortable with although the passion left their marriage a long time ago. Although she is attracted to coworker Pass, she believes she would never be unfaithful to her husband.

Her snug and secure world crumbles when an unknown gunman starts firing in a video arcade killing many students and injuring some, including Cricket's daughter Claire. She is taken to the hospital where she lies in a coma until she dies three months later. Cricket's world falls apart and she runs away from all that she holds dear hoping that one day that she will find herself again.

THESE DREAMS is a heart-wrenching beautiful human drama that portrays what can happen to a family when a bad thing happens to a good person. The heroine is a very special woman, resilient and determined in the face of adversity and willing to do whatever it takes to find a purpose in life after fate shatters it. Barbara Chepaitis is a fantastic writer whose works can break your heart.

Harriet Klausner
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2008
These Dreams by Barbara Chepaitis is a beautifully written book full of emotions. This traumatic experience tests Crickett's character and makes her life unfamiliar and more unpredictable as ever. It all begins when her daughter becomes a victim in a local mall shooting. Hope becomes Crickett's best friend when tending to her daughter, while her marriage falls apart and her relationship with her other daughter becomes distant. Crickett finds herself turning in unfamiliar directions for comfort. Devasated, confused, and alone, Crickett looks to herself for support. Her inner strength surprises herself as well as the readers. This book takes the reader through an emotional rollercoaster. I absolutely loved reading this book and enjoyed every moment of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2008
These Dreams by Barbara Chepaitis is a beautifully written novel. It makes you realize how much of a present life can be and how quickly it can be taken away. The main character is forced through a very though hardship. Death is one of the hardest things for someone to cope with. This novel takes you through the journey that Cricket is put through. The author portrays Cricket's struggle through this with such grace. This novel makes you think about how selfish some of us can be. How we take for granted what we have. I recommend that this novel be read by all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2008
This is an amazing book that I had trouble putting down until I was finished. It was unpredictable from the first page until the very last and was filled with a ray of emotions. It is easy to relate to with such a crazy world that we live in today, and in a book where a family suffers through so much tragedy there's still a sense of freedom and joy. Barbara Chepaitis wrote THESE DREAMS beautifully and I highly recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2002
I absolutely loved this book. It gives the reader a realistic look at how tragedy can affect a person. How "normal" people can just fall apart. Not one person can positively identify how they would react when put into a tragic situation. This book makes you realize that. You feel empathy and sympathy and disgust and pitty and love and truth and understanding and pride and humility all at once with this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2002
As a mother whose child died through violence rather similar to what happened to Grace, I was fascinated and amazed at how the author understood and was able to put into words so many of the emotions and feelings and truths. It was so good that she could describe all that and also write about the strength and growth that pain requires. This book has understanding and hope and a whole lot of wisdom.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here