Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.69
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

They Might Be Giants: Direct from Brooklyn - Video Compilation


4.3 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews

Additional DVD options Edition Discs
New from Used from
(Feb 18, 2003)
"Please retry"
$37.66 $5.30

Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping.

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Track Listing:

1. Doctor Worm

2. Snail Shell

3. The Guitar (The Lion Sleeps Tonight)

4. The Statue Got Me High

5. Istanbul (Not Constantinople)

6. Birdhouse In Your Soul

7. They'll Need A Crane

8. Purple Toupee

9. Ana Ng

10. (She Was A) Hotel Detective

11. Don't Let's Start

12. Put Your Hand Inside The Puppet Head

The wit and whimsy of John Linnell and John Flansburgh, collectively known as They Might Be Giants, is on display in this thoroughly entertaining video compilation. Twelve of the group's videos (dating from the mid-'80s to 1998) are here, filled with all manner of craziness and looking and sounding great. But the real prize may be the two clips from Tiny Toon Adventures, marrying TMBG's silly but also smart and clever music with the cartoon series' riotous animation; the twin Giants actually didn't write "Istanbul (Not Constantinople)," a "Puttin' On the Ritz" soundalike that's also one of the 12 main videos (with different animation), but it fits their style to a T. All of this quirkiness and freneticism can get a bit wearying after a while, but in small doses it's lots of fun. DVD extras include Linnell and Flansburgh's straightforward, informative audio commentary; there are also bonus audio tracks, a live video, and more. --Sam Graham

Special features

  • Videos: Doctor Worm, Snail Shell, The Guitar (The Lion Sleeps Tonight), The Statue Got Me High, Istanbul (Not Constantinople), Birdhouse in Your Soul, They'll Need a Crane, Purple Toupee, Ana Ng, (She Was a) Hotel Detective, Don't Let's Start, Put Your Hand Inside the Puppet Head
  • Video clips of "Particle Man" and "Istanbul (Not Constantinople)" from the Tiny Toons cartoon series
  • Quicktime home movies for view on DVD-ROM players
  • Bonus audio tracks "McGyver" and "Your Mom's Alright" from the Japanese release of Mink Car
  • Unreleased promotional radio audio track "Man It's so Loud in Here (Hot 2002 Mix)"
  • Trailer for the documentary film "Gigantic (A Tale of Two Johns)," a movie about They Must Be Giants
  • Never before seen special live video of "Why Does the Sun Shine? (The Sun Is a Mass of Incandescent Gas)" from the 2002 tour

Product details

  • Actors: John Flansburgh, John Linnell
  • Directors: John Flansburgh, Adam Bernstein, Nico Beyer, Lidia Pryzluska, J. Otto Seibold
  • Format: Color, Full Screen, NTSC
  • Language: English (PCM Stereo)
  • Region: Region 1 (U.S. and Canada only. Read more about DVD formats.)
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated:
    Not Rated
  • Studio: Restless Records
  • DVD Release Date: February 18, 2003
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews
  • ASIN: B00008AOT0
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #127,688 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

  • Learn more about "They Might Be Giants: Direct from Brooklyn - Video Compilation" on IMDb

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on April 23, 2009
Format: DVD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2003
Format: DVD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2003
Format: DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2003
Format: DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews