Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: They're Not Even Close: The Democratic vs. Republican Economic Records, 1910-2010
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 25, 2015
A meticulous, well documented work. The title "They're Not Even Close" is a highly partisan statement, but the evidence clearly supports the title. The documentation is complex, multi-layered and dense. This is a compliment, not a criticism. Zuesse provides copious footnotes for anyone who wishes to challenge his source material. His chapter titles are provocative at first glance, but they are an accurate analysis of the data. If a Republican researcher can provide contradicting facts or an analysis of Zuesse's material that comes to well-reasoned and different conclusions, I would welcome the effort.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2014
Democrats could win elections with these facts. The fact that they don't use them tells me that they have been bought off. The author isn't making any of this up. This is what every educated person knows. Forbes magazine a capitalist tool says if you want to help the economy vote Democrat Personal disposable income has grown nearly 6 times more under Democratic presidents. Gross Domestic Product (GDP) has grown 7 times more under Democratic presidents Corporate profits have grown over 16% more per year under Democratic presidents (they actually declined under Republicans by an average of 4.53%/year). Average annual compound return on the stock market has been 18 times greater under Democratic presidents (If you invested $100k for 40 years of Republican administrations you had $126k at the end, if you invested $100k for 40 years of Democrat administrations you had $3.9M at the end) Republican presidents added 2.5 times more to the national debt than Democratic president. The two times the economy steered into the ditch (Great Depression and Great Recession) were during Republican, laissez faire administrations. People say it all the time but this time it's true. The facts in the book They're Not Even Close are what the rich and powerful don't want you to know.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
Zuesse does a great job sequencing his case. He uses irrefutable statistics and even takes time to answer the "yeah ,
but" comments sure to follow. The numbers are what they are and Zuesse makes sense of them. Republicans will not want to read the truth. Democrats need these facts in hand.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2012
I previously wrote a review on this book and gave it a 3. However, at the time, I was ill, and frankly, cranky. I decided to re-read because I felt the subject facinating, and knew I should have been reading something of a lighter nature. I'm glad with my decision. With a clear head, I was able to get through and absorb the content without any difficulty.
I believe the statistical information to be factual, and the conclusion to be spot on. I've recommended this book to my friends and followers on Facebook and to challenge my conservative friends to read and discuss with me. Obviously an incredible amount of research went into this work, and just may be persuasive enough to convert the 'faithful'.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
Well written, well presented case for the systematic pillaging of the American middle class by the 1%. You'll be enraged, as well you should.
33 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2016
A great deal of fascinating economic data is provided in a reader friendly manner.

However, the data itself is compelling enough, the extremely partisan tone of the book actually detracts from the persuasiveness of the data. The data itself is persuasive that the "trickle down supply side" economic theories of the GOP is a crock. Billionaires do NOT help create a healthy middle class. In fact, the data clearly shows that helping the middle class is the way to create billionaires. A healthy and prosperous middle class provides the consumer demand that can send stock prices of producers soaring. This is clearly a "Frank Capra" economy (my phrase, not the author's) where helping the "John Does" get ahead is the way to prosperity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
The material in this book is very important. I had discovered several of the same elements and tried to make it available to Democrat candidates prior to the last election, so I can vouch for the veracity. I have taken away 2 stars because of the polemic tone of the book. The author 's style is certain to turn off the very people he needs to persuade. I hope the Democrat party will take the material and run with it aggressively, but without the polemics. Unfortunately the Dems seem to be unable to toot their own horn effectively and thus leave the Reps to create the narrative, regardless of veracity.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
Reveals the true facts: Republicans are horrible managers of the economy. How do they get the
gullible to think otherwise? Simple. The Big Lie. Remember who originated that idea? You got it....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
This book doesn't deserve even a One rating. It is an outstanding example of the truism that "correlation is not causation." The author totally confuses correlation with causation. For example, there is wide agreement that Great Inflation of, roughly, 1964-1981, began when President Johnson brow-beat the Federal Reserve into keeping interest rates low to finance both the Vietnam War and his Great Society Program. Raising interest rates or taxes, he feared, would undercut support for his Great Society. But succeeding presidents lacked the guts and the public support for a vigorous anti-inflation program. The impact of both the Great Inflation and ongoing Democratic pressures to open the oil import floodgates and reduce oil drilling incentives in the U.S. contributed to the oil shock of 1973 which hit President Nixon's administrations. Inflation averaged 13.3 percent during 1980, Jimmy Carter's presidency. Only President Reagan had the political courage to put the economy through the wringer to squeeze inflation out of the economy and the economy did suffer through the process. By 1993, when President Clinton was sworn in as Clinton was being sworn in as president interest rates had returned to pre-1964 levels. Housing prices had kept up with inflation so that with low interest rates homeowners were able to cash in on the inflated equity in their homes, igniting a economic boom fueled by cheap credit. The boom temporarily came to a halt as Bush was being sworn in as president. However, in response to the collapse of the Dot.Com stock market bubble and the 9/11 terrorist attack the Federal Reserve drove its target interest rate down to 1 percent, igniting a global debt-crazed economic explosion.
President Clinton's blitzkrieg assault on mortgage lenders to finance inner-city redevelopment - which included "affordable housing" for people with poor credit histories and little income - to own their own homes. That policy ignited housing prices and the bubble burst in 2007-2008 and the economy came crashing down with it - during President Bush's term. What is most significant is that the full dimensions of President Clinton's inner-city redevelopment putsch is not fully recognized and understood here in 2015 and was totally invisible during President Bush's term. So, the housing crisis/Great Recession was the inevitable consequence of Democratic policies that applied brutal pressures on banks, mortgage brokers and Fannie and Freddie to subsidize inner-city redevelopment. Want proof? Simply download the 2007 report, "CRA Commitments," which describes 446 "agreements" housing activists "negotiated" with banks totaling $4.56 trillion since passage of the Community Reinvestment Act of 1977. $4.5 trillion of that amount was "negotiated" after 1994 following impletion of President Clinton's "Urban Policy" directed at compelling banks, mortgage brokers and Fannie and Freddie to invest in inner-city redevelopment. Forcing mortgage lender to write subprime mortgages was based upon the conviction that home ownership would promote neighborhood stability in the inner-cities. (in 1999 Senator Phil Gramm, then chairman of the Senate Banking Committee, termed the process as "extortion" not "negotiation" but President Clinton threatened to veto any reform attempt). But note carefully, Democratic presidents are praised for policies that end up causing severe economic problems for succeeding Republican presidents.
77 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2016
Shifting the economy has been referred to as trying to "turn around an aircraft carrier." Are the effects of the previous presidency played out during the following President's term?

Bills, laws, and matters of government are notoriously slow (Dodd-Frank regulations are still slow coming, it was passed in 2014), new laws have implement dates 2-3 years out.
The Affordable Care Act/Obamacare's individual mandate (essentially a punishment tax if you don't buy health insurance) will not enforced until after President Obama has left office in 2017. It was signed into law in 2010.

A hypothetical question:
What if a Republican was elected President. Obamacare fails somehow. Either everyone gets sick at the same time or whatever.
Obamacare fails and it gives a bit hit to the economy. Would that be counted as a Republican downturn under Zuesse's system? Simple direct analysis can look very convincing and as life doesn't happen in a box, I'm curious to see if these and other points are addressed and will update my review once I've read the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse