<Embed>
List Price: $26.99
Save: $11.00 (41%)
FREE delivery: Monday, Nov 2 on your first order.
Fastest delivery: Friday, Oct 30 Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon
Sold by RedBirdUS
Ships from
Amazon

Sold by

Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2021
For the 2020 holiday season, returnable items shipped between October 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2021.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This item shows wear including ex-library markings.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$11.05
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: IsLife warehouse
Add to Cart
$15.07
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: deals-2-grab
Add to Cart
$16.95
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Amazon.com
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Things You Save in a Fire: A Novel Hardcover – August 13, 2019

4.5 out of 5 stars 1,227 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$15.99
$9.99 $2.22

"Devoted" by Dean Koontz
For the first time in paperback, from Dean Koontz, the master of suspense, comes an epic thriller about a terrifying killer and the singular compassion it will take to defeat him. | Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Things You Save in a Fire: A Novel
  • +
  • How to Walk Away: A Novel
  • +
  • What You Wish For: A Novel
Total price: $40.03
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions


From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of August 2019: Texan firefighter Cassie Hanwell loves her job and the men and women she works with at her Austin-based station. When Cassie’s estranged mother calls up out of the blue to ask Cassie to move to Boston to help her after an operation, Cassie reluctantly agrees, but her pending transfer to the nearby all-male fire station doesn’t worry her overly until her female captain in Austin starts offering advice: “If you make eye contact, make it straight on, like a predator.” “No sex with firefighters. Or friends of firefighters. Or relatives of firefighters.” “If your captain says to run a mile, run two.” As for pull-ups? “Do thirty, at least…. And make sure you can do at least a few one-handed.” Cassie hopes this advice will turn out to be anachronistic, but a fire station that’s never had a “lady” firefighter in 120 years adapts slowly. And reluctantly. Making the whole situation even worse is the rookie, the bighearted new guy whom all the other firefighters like far more than they do Cassie, though she’s clearly more skilled. And Cassie, to her horror, really likes the rookie as well. Funny, smart, and smartly paced, Things You Save in a Fire ignites around the topics of equality, love, redemption, and forgiveness even as it delivers an unforgettable protagonist who shows off not just “a few” but nine breathtaking, cheer-worthy one-handed pull-ups on her first day at work. —Adrian Liang, Amazon Book Review

Review

Praise for Things You Save in a Fire:

One of:
The Washington Post's "The 10 Books to Read in 2019 Based on What You Loved in 2018"
The Hollywood Reporter's "2019 Books to Keep on Your Radar"
She Reads' "Most Anticipated Books of 2019"
Good Housekeeping's "25 Best New Books of Summer 2019"
USA Today's "Must Read Women's Fiction of 2019"
Bookbub's "31 of the Biggest Books Coming Out This Summer"
The Nerd Daily's "Most Anticipated Reads of 2019"
An August 2019 LibraryReads Pick!

"Oh, how I love Katherine Center’s writing…and her newest novel is a gem...a story that reminds us that the word emergency has, at its heart, a new beginning. Just read it, and thank me later.” ―Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.”Kirkus, starred review

"A compelling love story, a tearjerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center."Booklist, starred review

"An emotionally resonant and deeply satisfying love story...a moving testament to the power of forgiveness." ―BookPage

A spirited, independent heroine meets a smoking-hot fireman in Center’s smart romance… If you enjoyed ‘The Kiss Quotient,’ by Helen Hoang, read Things You Save in a Fire”’ ― The Washington Post

“Center crafts a heartfelt story of growth and the redemptive power of love perfect for fans of women’s fiction, especially works by Jodi Picoult and Elin Hilderbrand.” ― Library Journal

"The novel is at its best in the fire station...its window into firefighter culture is fascinating. But Things You Save In a Fire has a greater ambition, too: shedding a light on trauma victims and the devastating effects of ignoring emotional fallout from a harrowing experience." - Newsday

Katherine Center's funny, unabashedly sentimental romance unfolds between Cassie, the only woman firefighter in her town, and a new rookie on the squad.” ― Refinery29

“A novel as vibrant as its cover.” – Bustle

“[Things You Save in a Fire] is not only delightfully romantic, but also courageous and inspiring.” – The Christian Science Monitor

“An emotional story of self-discovery and forgiveness.” ― Fresh Fiction

Things You Save in a Fire is a profound tale of how a woman makes it in a man's world.” ― The New York Journal of Books

A wonderful exploration of personal vulnerability and strength that takes the reader along on Cassie's journey … Things You Save in a Fire is sure to be a hit.” ― Shelf Awareness

"I don’t even know how to explain how much I adored this book...This is a story of love, of family, and of learning how to be vulnerable―and trust me, Cassie’s life journey is one you don’t want to miss.” ―Siobhan Jones, Book of the Month Club

Praise for How to Walk Away:

"A marvelous example of acceptance and healing and a celebration of family."USA Today

"Center explores the limits of hope and love...[she] transforms the story of a family tragedy into a heartfelt guide to living the fullest life possible." ―Publisher's Weekly

"With its appealing characters and wisdom about grappling with life’s challenges, Center’s sixth novel has all the makings of a breakout hit." ―Booklist (starred review)

"A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg." ―Kirkus


Product details

  • Item Weight : 1.13 pounds
  • Hardcover : 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1250047323
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1250047328
  • Product Dimensions : 6.39 x 1.11 x 9.59 inches
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press (August 13, 2019)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,227 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
1,227 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
36 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
17 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Debbie @storiesandstacks
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a fantastic novel. Loved!
Reviewed in Australia on September 19, 2019
Verified Purchase
Ana Aguerrea Alzualde
4.0 out of 5 stars Muy buena novela
Reviewed in Spain on August 30, 2019
Verified Purchase
aeryn05
1.0 out of 5 stars A portrait of an insufferable Mary Sue
Reviewed in Spain on September 30, 2020
Verified Purchase
Rebecca
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Reviewed in Canada on October 28, 2019
Verified Purchase
Karen Sorbara
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read
Reviewed in Canada on February 6, 2020
Verified Purchase
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: Best happiness for beginners