Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$8.13
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Minimal wear. Fast shipping from Amazon!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Third Grave Dead Ahead (Charley Davidson Series) Hardcover – January 31, 2012

4.7 out of 5 stars 500 customer reviews
Book 3 of 11 in the Charley Davidson Series

See all 15 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, January 31, 2012
$12.78 $1.09

50% off featured Fantasy books
Select Fantasy books are up to 50% off for a limited time. Learn More
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Charlotte “Charlie” Davidson hasn’t slept for 13 days. Every time she closes her eyes, Reyes Farrow appears and takes her on a sensual adventure. The problem is, private investigator Charlie is the Grim Reaper, the portal to the good afterlife, and Reyes, son of Satan, is the portal to hell. Reyes is furious that Charlie has bound his corporeal body to his spirit, so for her, their surprise sexual encounters are not only exciting but also a bit terrifying. The saga of the unlikely lovers continues in the same sassy style as Jones’ first two books, First Grave on the Right (2011) and Second Grave on the Left (2011). With Misery, her aptly named Jeep; a 13-year-old ghost spy; a parade of undead clients; and, of course, the silent, elderly Chinese spirit who lives in the corner of her living room, Charlie continues to fascinate. Readers will be dying to know where the fourth grave is. --Shelley Mosley

Review

Praise for
SECOND GRAVE ON THE LEFT

“Jones perfectly balances humor and suspense in [this] paranormal thriller featuring grim reaper, PI, and ‘all-around badass’ Charley Davidson…It’s the distinctive characters, dead and alive, and the almost constant laughs that will leave readers eager for the next installment.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“This is an amazing book and a fantastic series! In a lot of ways it is similar to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series only ten times better!” —Night Owl Reviews

“A saucy sequel…Readers will be captivated by Charley’s near-death adventures.”—The Associated Press

“Four and a half stars. Snarky, sassy Charley is back and taking no guff in Jones’s action-packed new offering…There is murder and mystery aplenty…fun.”—RT Book Reviews

FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT

“Sexy, sassy . . . Jones’s characters, both living and dead, are colorful and endearing. . . . Cheeky charm . . . sarcastic wit.”The Associated Press

“Jones’s wickedly witty debut will delight aficionados of such humorous paranormals as Casey Daniels’s Pepper Martin Mysteries and Dakota Cassidy’s Accidental Friends series.”—Booklist (starred review)

“Jones skillfully establishes the novel’s setting and keeps up the pace with plenty of action. And let’s be honest—the sex is pretty hot, too. Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and other authors of paranormal romance will love this series debut.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“Fast-talking Charley’s wicked exuberance and lust for life will appeal to fans of MaryJanice Davidson and Janet Evanovich and maybe fill a hole for those mourning the recently canceled Ghost Whisperer.”—Publishers Weekly

“Jones makes a truly memorable debut with her unique tale that is sexy, mysterious, and sarcastically fun!”—RT Books Reviews

“It’s a fun, sexy, exciting read.”—Suspense Magazine

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Series: Charley Davidson Series (Book 3)
  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press (January 31, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1250001544
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250001542
  • Product Dimensions: 5.9 x 1.1 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (500 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #825,924 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Tumultuous! Intense! Third Grave Dead Ahead is a caffeine laced journey into a world only Charley can lay claim to. Non stop intrigue and detective work drives Charley as she tries to unravel the multitude of cases before her, in order to save lives. As always you will find her trusted friend, Cookie, by her side, doing what she does best. Once again we are gifted the with the presence of Reyes. His anger and need for Charley to set him free will send this ongoing story into a completely different direction. We will finally be able to place a face to those elusive characters we've only heard about and could not wait to meet. Warnings of an impending war and torture will be foretold by the unexpected. As events unfold, Charley will unearth secrets long ago buried, yet still powerful enough to destroy lives. Yet, to make matters worse Charley will face a predator, a monster, that must be vanquished.

Just when thought you knew all there was, TGDA throws you for a loop!

Darynda's power in manifesting Charley's grief was superbly done. We watched in dismal awe as Charley experienced anger, guilt, helplessness, sadness, shock, numbing, yearning, and self-blame. Betrayal will violate Charley, and it will wear many names. All I could do was shout, "Reyes, do something, make her see reason, she didn't trust you either, fix this!" The writing was so well done, the anguish was palpable. We've been on this caffeine induced madness with her since the beginning, we went from 100 to 0 and were left reeling. Third Grave Dead Ahead was brilliant, and at the same traumatizing. It has left us marked, by way of questions and fear. Will we see Reyes and Charley unite, or will their suffering and pain be for not?
Comment 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Kale on February 28, 2012
Format: Audible Audio Edition
Hijinks and hilarity ensue when the Grimm Reaper is on the case.

Charley's functioning on a diet of coffee, coffee, and coffee, at this point she's more likely to be a portal to Starbucks than the other side. Her self induced insomnia is due to one scorned son of Satan passionately haunting her dreams. Every time Charley closes her eyes she's bombarded with some transcendental loving via one smoking hot Reyes Farrow. Normally a little visit from the Prince of Darkness is welcomed but the Big Bad is angry and doesn't seem to want to be with Charley in her every unwaking moment.

Good thing there's work to fill in all her new free time not spent in bed. This go around Davidson is in search of a potential client's wife, but with Charley's semi coherent caffeinated skills she detects the good doctor isn't quite as good as he appears. Unfortunately he's also the least of Charley's man troubles. Davidson is having daddy issuses, along with running into problems with a motorcycle gang, a victim's very large brother, and a sadistic murder,on top of Reyes' big bad baby woes about being bound, leaving Charley in need of an industrial sized can of man repellent.

Charley's going to need a triple venti latte to save a few lives, uphold her portal duties, solve the case of the doctor's missing wife, help Reyes, and start to realize exactly what a Grimm Reaper can do.

The Charley Davidson books are probably my favorite audiobook series. The combination of Darynda Jones and Lorelei King is to die for. Third Grave Dead Ahead is another expertly narrated book. King infuses life into Jones' characters. I don't think anyone else could so genuinely portray Charley for the funny, quirky, completely oblivious, ADD prone heroine and make her even more lovable than King does.
Read more ›
1 Comment 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The author continues to delight in the third book in the series with a new cast of characters that I feel we will be seeing more of - after all, doesn't everyone need a gang of bikers to add a little spice to your daily routine?

The relationship between Charley and Reyes heats up the pages but quite frankly, while I enjoy that plot line, which of course is the main underlining theme, I actually like the interaction between Charley, Cookie, her Uncle, Garrett, and the new players more. The comedic lines that come from the mental fog that comes from basically not having slept for three weeks (every time she falls asleep, a very "annoyed" Reyes pops up for a little "happy time" and angst and then disappears again) are beyond hilarious. I was smiling for most, laughing out loud for some, and reading others out loud for my husband, which I am sure that he would rather I hadn't since he was trying to sleep at the time..

If you haven't read the first two books, GO BUY THEM!! You are missing out on a great thing! Then I would highly recommend you read them before this one as you will lose out on understanding much of the back story. Kind of spoilers - we get to meet "Mistress Marigold" and she was NOT what I was expecting and her little quirk was the most imaginative that I have read. It takes a lot to surprise me with a twist and the author did exactly that! She tells Charley that she is going to get a guardian angel and I can say that storyline had me worried and I was guessing all over the place - great shock as to who it ended up being...

I read another reviewer who said that they didn't like the "cases" that Charley was solving and just wanted to hear more about Reyes and what is going on it the war to come.
Read more ›
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: superhero fiction