Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: This Beautiful Thing (Young Love Book 1)
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Gemini Syndrome Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon December 28, 2012
This Beautiful Thing (Young Love #1) by Amanda Heath has a sexy, eye catching cover, interesting blurb and has been in Amazon's top 100 romance for weeks now. This Beautiful Thing should be titled- This Beautiful Trainwreck of Horrible Writing. Another case of a self published book with no editing to speak of. It makes me wonder if the author has any real basic writing skills because the amount of misspellings, lack of punctuation or incorrect punctuation placement is beyond glaring and ridiculous.

Not even three pages in, I read this- "She squeals in my ear and I whence."

What is a "whence"?

Also, commas can be a writer's friend. This author apparently doesn't like commas. Example:

"What the f_ _k Declan." Ahem, should have a comma before Declan.

Sentences that make no sense based on a word that makes no sense, including run-on sentences thanks to the word, "and":

"I feel him tense above me AND his movements get jerkier AND then he's kissing my lips as I shallow his yell of pleasure."

What is "shallow his yell of pleasure"?

If an author can't use a professional editor, why would I want to finish a book, let alone spend my money on it that has far too many editorial and grammar errors to count? You insult your readers by not having a professional editor. Sloppy AND poor writing AND not worth the money for this shoddy put together book. I can't believe a writer would publish this and not be embarrassed.

Katiebabs
1818 comments| 106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
Cute characters and their story is a good one...but oh my gosh, typos! Prefect v. Perfect, where v. were, forgot v. forget...the list, unfortunately, goes on. Clearly, this is a self-published book. I completely support that, since I'm also a self-published author...BUT, I'm also a stickler for grammar and spelling, and I am also fortunate to have a select group of people with degrees in English to proof my stuff.

Keep writing, Amanda, because you DO have something here. I'm not trying to tear you down. It's because I care and support what you're doing that I'm harsh.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2013
Very awkward. The story doesn't really flow at all. The changes in POV are at awkward times and the speech is cheesy and stupidly dumb. Everything is explained as if we are all idiots and I did not like it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
I wanted to enjoy this book. Really, I did.
I even did, in the beginning. But then the writing slowly started to change. There were more and more typos and grammatical errors, and the writing began to feel stilted and overly dramatic. The characters became harder to sympathize with because their emotions were not realistically described. I lost interest in what was happening to them and had to power through to the end of the novel. I actually enjoyed the secondary characters more than Declan and Teagan because I didn't view those characters' emotions through dramatic yet stilted prose from the internal monologues I suffered through with the main characters.

Would I read it again? No
Would I recommend it to a friend? No
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
The writing was horrific. This author has either invented new words, needs to find a dictionary or needs to actually edit her work.

I liked the set up of the book, and some basic aspects of the characters, but there was nothing to the plot besides the romance, the romance was completely unbelievable and the characters were all very one dimensional.

A good idea but terrible execution.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
I had mixed emotions for this book. This Beautiful Thing is the story of Declan and Teagan. He is her brother's best friend and she is the cherished, sheltered youngest child in her family. She is the result of an affair between her father, the town's mayor and her mother, a waitress. Only when her mother dies does she have any contact with her father's family, including her stepmother. Declan's parents are well off, but prefer to ignore him and his younger brother. These two meet, have instant attraction, part without exchanging names and search for each other. After reconnecting they do their best to keep things from Teagan's family. That's where some things in this book fall apart. There is an unfortunate turn of events and the smitten Teagan, changes into something akin to the exorcist. Rarely have I seen a character do a 360 in such a short amount of time. Rather than show a gradual falling in place of events things seem rushed at the end. This is the first of the Young Love series.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
If the plot hadn't been somewhat engaging, I would not have finished the book. The overall idea of the book was good, but plot isn't everything. The frequent grammatical errors lowered the value of the book. I would not pay for it again if given the chance, and I won't be buying the second book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
This book was horrible and had too many errors. It definitely was not worth purchasing. So please do not waste your time or money on this catastrophe.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2013
This is actually the worst book I've ever read. finishing the book wasn't without effort though, as the writing is so horrendous it's actually difficult to read. I skipped paragraphs at a time. An editor wouldn't even save this book. So much telling!! note to author: SHOW DONT TELL. so many undeveloped characters, not to mention the most cliche ending known to man. also the author didn't even bother resolving one of the subplots (the love triangle between Caden/Haden/grace). you take a reader through all that drama and don't even give it a conclusion! WOW! this book is just so sloppy. there's so much wrong with it that I can't even remember it all. those who classify this as "good writing" REALLY need to stay away from the free kindle book section. Don't waste your money (it's free, and yet I still feel like I should get a refund because time is the most expensive currency). You're welcome.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
This book was poorly written. I felt like it was too quick and straight to the point. Within the first 2 pages the main characters meet and it gets started with the whole point. There was not a lot of getting to know the characters and it was hard to feel connected with the characters. There's A LOT of choice words in the book and it probably could have done without most of it. The intimate parts were very descriptive, the author should probably write porn books instead.. I kind of liked the idea of how it jumps from the male character's perspective to the female character's perspective, that was a nice change from most books. I honestly felt like the last few chapters were written first, with all the drama and climax, and then the beginning was written to fill in space because the beginning was that quick. There was a lot of spelling errors and grammar errors, which could be from the transfer from book to kindle edition but that was a little annoying. This book should be cheaper than I paid for because it definitely wasn't worth my 2.99.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse