Kindle Price: $8.99

Save $9.00 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

This Is How It Happened by [Stokes, Paula]
Kindle App Ad

This Is How It Happened Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 26 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.99

Length: 384 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled

"Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress"
Is the world really falling apart? Is the ideal of progress obsolete? Cognitive scientist and public intellectual Steven Pinker urges us to step back from the gory headlines and prophecies of doom, and instead, follow the data: In seventy-five jaw-dropping graphs, Pinker shows that life, health, prosperity, safety, peace, knowledge, and happiness are on the rise. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"The supporting cast of characters is strong, from Genevieve's no-nonsense mother to Elliott, the boy with two dads, who works at Zion National Park. Stokes builds realistic tension with the bombardment of social media, that faceless jury so quick to judge, sentence, and execute. This tragedy wrapped in a compelling mystery will entrance readers."- ALA Booklist

"Stokes explores the power of social media and online shaming...The book effectively demonstrates the effects of cyberbullying." -School Library Journal

"The ensuing tale of grief and forgiveness is smartly paced. Stokes doesn't lean too hard on the mystery element, revealing the cold truth early enough to follow through with all the baggage that comes with it. Gen's relationship with her father and stepmother is sweetly characterized, providing solid thematic reinforcement to boot. A Greek chorus in the form of the internet provides Gen and readers with updates on the chaos ensuing back home, while a hot, brown-skinned co-worker gives Gen a reason to work her way through her grief. A sobering exploration of absolution." Kirkus Reviews

"Stokes has written a powerful and thought provoking book that dares to take on two tough topics. I loved that this book made me think and ponder things. This is an excellent book that will start a conversation." - Rainy Day Ramblings


Praise for Girl Against the Universe
"Stokes' engaging prose and sympathetic characters serve up great lessons in acceptance for teens dealing with trauma." - Kirkus Reviews

"Teens will find in Maguire a compelling heroine. Her obsessive behaviors are depicted in convincing detail. Maguire's forays into wellness are anything but pat, giving her story additional credibility. Teens who enjoy emotionally charged stories will appreciate this novel about resilience." 
- School Library Journal

"Romance fans will enjoy the slow, sweet, and tentative burn between the teens. Recommend to readers who enjoy Jenny Han or Maureen Johnson." 
- ALA Booklist

"An engaging story. Its true appeal lies with Stokes's well-developed characters and in the way Maguire and Jordy support each other's efforts to conquer the challenges they face." 
- Publishers Weekly

"Maguire is a brave, relatable character...There are friendships formed, family relationships tested and restored, and issues of identity explored. This is a satisfying and breezy book with likeable characters working through trauma to move to better, healthier places in their lives." 
- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

About the Author

Paula Stokes is the author of Hidden Pieces; This Is How It Happened; Girl Against the Universe; Liars, Inc.; and The Art of Lainey. Paula lives in Portland, Oregon. You can find her online at www.authorpaulastokes.com or on Twitter and Instagram @pstokesbooks.


Product details

  • File Size: 1266 KB
  • Print Length: 384 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (July 11, 2017)
  • Publication Date: July 11, 2017
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LL0JF3K
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #891,627 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 26 customer reviews
Rated by customers interested in
Young Adult Books
4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Children's Books
4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

July 21, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
August 31, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
September 20, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
July 15, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
July 11, 2017
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

This Is How It Happened
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: This Is How It Happened