Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: This Means War
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Joseph Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$12.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 22, 2012
I won't go into great details because there is no need to spoil it for you. If you're coming to read these, I am assuming you probably are trying to decide if you want to watch it or not.

The story is beyond predictable, but that doesn't mean it's not worth "date night".

The movie is about two close friends. They are CIA partners, you know that there is a brotherhood that only forms when you put your life in someone else hands. That relationship is put to the test when they both fall for the same woman ... in walks femme fatal, Reese Witherspoon whose character contains that charm which has made Reese a mainstay in cinema.

The plot is a road-map that lists all the main attractions along the way. You know where it's going, everyone's been there before, yet you still have fun. This movie is above all else a romantic comedy. It has just enough action to help guys enjoy the movie with their girls. It throws in a bit of situation and physical comedy to keep it from being sticky sweet.

You'll probably know what's going to happen before it does. That's ok; and it's ok to laugh out-loud even when the jokes are completely obvious. Allow yourself to enjoy this no brainer comedy and you might even find yourself rooting for the inevitable evolution each character has.

Still not sure? Rent before you buy and decide for yourself, after all, no two people are alike.

I hope this was helpful. Enjoy!
If you liked my review and found it helpful, please vote. Thanks. :-)
77 comments| 162 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
"Why don't you tickle Ivan's feet until he talks with your teeny tiny itty bitty jazz hands."

One of the best lines in recent movie history delivered with perfect comedic timing.

Even though Reese Witherspoon is the headliner the buddy story is well played by Tom Hardy and Chris Pine. Oscar worthy? No. Entertaining. Yep. Not all movies have to have deep life changing meaning. Some are meant to be silly. This is one!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
i saw this movie 2 times in the theaters. it was really cute. if you're someone that loves romantic comedies you will love this! the storyline was fun and different and the actors are great; for anyone that says it was a little predictable, well honestly almost every movie is a bit predictable isn't it? so i don't think that's a valid complaint. if you don't like romantic comedies then it may not be for you, but in general a great movie to watch at least once! i watched it twice and bought it so obviously i liked it very much.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 21, 2012
When two CIA agents find themselves vying for the same woman, their rivalry is epic! Lucky Reese Witherspoon, to be one-third of an eternal triangle with these guys!

Director McG ("Terminator Salvation," and "Chuck") certainly knows how to open a film with a bang and never slow down. Even though this is a romantic comedy, CIA activities and skirmishes are couched in enough reality that we invest a little skin in the game. But the banter and camaraderie between two hunky heroes keep it cartoony and light. Furthermore, the conversations between our heroine and her best friend are hilarious, particularly when they are being overheard by the guys.

* Reese Witherspoon ("Water for Elephants") tests products and facilitates focus groups, but she hasn't quite recovered from her last break-up. Her best friend offers sage advice that positively drips with envy.
* Chris Pine ("Star Trek") is the smooth man about town, a CIA-trained lady killer with blue eyes you could get lost in. Problem is, Reese isn't about to fall. She may be tempted, but she won't fall. ...maybe....oops....
* Tom Hardy ("Inception") is the third side of this triangle, who pretends to be a travel agent, which contributed to the end of his marriage. Now he's competing with Chris Pine for Reese's affections and not doing too badly, either, despite being British...
* Chelsea Handler (lots of TV) is the best friend who keeps offering Reese all that bad, bad advice. She's so funny I'd probably try her suggestions, too! Hey, don't Volkswagens have air bags?

Once again we are confronted with a PG-13 film that is fairly anatomical, but it's so funny I guess I'll forgive them. The clever script is loaded with double entendres that had us laughing out loud ("the agent has entered the premises"). To watch Hollywood's version of the high-tech power the CIA can bring into this testosterone-laden rivalry is really fun! Plus, I've never seen Ms. Witherspoon so relaxed or funny before.

Expect no sweaty bodies, a snippet of profanity, lots of gunfire, some bloody fisticuffs, a bit of exciting vehicular mayhem, and even some blowie uppie stuff. Our happy audience made a LOT of noise as we left the theater. This should do very well, because it's good old-fashioned entertainment, no socially redeeming qualities, just silly fluffy fun. Amazon.com will notify me when the DVD is available.
0Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
This was a pleasant surprise. Funny, lots of action, romance, excellent cast, it really doesn't get better than this. Predictable? Probably for most, but still a fun 2 hours of entertainment. My wife and I both agree, she picked the wrong guy LOL.....
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
Great cast. Great film. Great director. Film's sense of humor and timing - The Best.
Would recommend this movie to all romantics at heart, who also love action films.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
Just love this movie ! It has everything anyone would want; action, adventure, love, romance, cool spy gadgets, etc. Of course I enjoy the eye candy; Tom Hardy and Chris Pine. Reese W looks fantastic. Have watched the movie 2 times and would consider watching many more times in the future. However, if you are looking for intellectual stimulation this movie would not be for you. Enjoy anyway ! :)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2012
If you're in the mood to sit back, laugh, and not have to think too much this is the movie for you! It's the perfect combination of Comedy, Romance, and Action. The cast has good chemistry and are sexy to boot! As with any romantic comedy, you can't over analyze...you just have to sit back and enjoy!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
What's wrong with just going to a movie to be entertained and have a good time? It was refreshing to laugh, not take anything too seriously, no pathos or crying, I really enjoyed it. Mindless yes but for 2 hours I had a GOOD TIME!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I saw this movie before seeing Tom Hardy's performance in "Lawless" with Shia LeBouf. I didn't even realize it was the same actor he had so completely disappeared into his role. After watching "Lawless", I HAD to watch "This Means War" again, and I had to pick my jaw up off the floor at the end...his performance is amazing. "This Means War" is a FUN comedy/romance movie with two friends who work for the CIA and accidentally begin dating the same woman (Reese Witherspoon). Chris Pine and Tom Hardy are the two secret agents who begin an all-out war to win her affections. There is lots of good action, especially the scene in which Tom Hardy takes Reese Witherspoon to play paintball! OH MY GOSH, that is HILARIOUS! This movie is well worth the 1 1/2 hours of pure fun and entertainment. Don't expect Academy Award writing, but I'm almost positive you will be pleasantly entertained. I recommend this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here