Buy New
Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $3.98. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by
This Will Bring You Back has been added to your Cart

Ship to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid US zip code.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

This Will Bring You Back

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, May 30, 2013
Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from [Learn more]

Editorial Reviews

This Will Bring You Back (2:31)
Stealin’ (2:58)
Raise a Ruckus (3:24)
Shake & Break It (3:00)
Pilgrim of Sorrow (4:06)
Insane Crazy Blues (3:17)
Diddy Wah Diddy (3:11)
I’m Leavin’ Town (3:39)
Whiskey Before Breakfast (2:42)
Don’t You Dare Touch It (2:12)
Total running time, 31:02

“This Will Bring You Back” is a set of ten arrangements of early American blues, gospel, and ragtime songs. Four of these songs originate with the Memphis Jug Band, begun in 1926 and led by Will Shade.

“Raise a Ruckus” is an open-ended dance song dating from at least the 18th century United States. The tune makes use of a variety of floating verses that can also be found in a number of other secular slave songs. One scholar opines that the melody derives from the African American children’s rhyme “Ten Little Angels.”

“Shake and Break It” comes from Charley Patton (1887 – 1934), an American Delta blues musician. Patton was a major influence in the work of his young friend Chester Burnett, later known as Howlin’ Wolf.

“Pilgrim of Sorrow” is my R&B adaptation of a gospel song performed a capella by the Old Regular Baptists.

“Diddy Wah Diddy” originates with Arthur “Blind” Blake (1836 – 1934), an America blues and ragtime singer and guitarist.

“I’m Leavin’ Town” comes from Mississippi bluesman Will Harris.

“Whiskey Before Breakfast” is I believe a French-Canadian fiddle tune. I’ve slowed it down and bluesed it up a little.

Dean Rathje: vocals, banjo, guitar, piano, mandolin.

When sold by, this product will be manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. This Will Bring You Back
  2. Stealin'
  3. Raise a Ruckus
  4. Shake & Break It
  5. Pilgrim of Sorrow
  6. Insane Crazy Blues
  7. Diddy Wah Diddy
  8. I'm Leavin' Town
  9. Whiskey Before Breakfast
  10. Don't You Dare Touch It

Product details

  • Audio CD (May 30, 2013)
  • Original Release Date: April 30, 2013
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: New Leaf Music
  • Run Time: 31 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers