Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon drwho drwho drwho  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 25, 2012
If you're in the mood to smash things with a hammer, this is your game. A side-scrolling beat-em-up, it's a good way to kill time in the doc's office, especially if you like Thor. The story is sort of a throw-away, but it doesn't serve as a prequel to the events of the film - no spoilers, but you do get a sense of some of the characters' personalities. The graphics are standard sprite work, looks good for what they are, just know this is a 2-D game (less God of War, more Castlevania, minus the branching paths).The boss battles are some of the best I've seen on DS - monsters that take up the whole screen, and you get to fry them with lightening - what's not to love? When you finish, there's a side quest that isn't anything major, but you do get to see Lady Sif and Warriors Three in action, which is cool.

If you don't like Thor or pressing one button many, many times, this isn't the game for you. Otherwise, it's a good, short time (3-4 hours).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2014
I absolutely hate this item! "Why?" you might be asking the monitor at the moment, well, for one reason and one reason only; It's a great game, I bought it for my son just because he's been rather decent this week. Now, he won't put it down. He's currently stuck on a boss and constantly keeps trying to obliterate it. I took away his DS for a night and the next morning I caught him hard at work trying to take down the very same boss. I ask him if i could try and he said "after I beat him, dad!". Thank god it's spring break, as soon as it's over i'm taking the DS and hiding under the bed sheets all day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2017
gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2011
Chris Hemsworth is on the cover, but the game is not bound to the movie. This game has fun, SNES genre platformer feel. It takes a couple levels to remember all button combinations for Thor's different moves, but once you grasp them, the combos you can perform are satisfying (e.g. flying into the air with an enemy on your hammer, giving them a wallop in midair, then crashing their bodies down on the ground.)

The levels and character designs can get repetitive. From world to world, you are fighting the same basic 5 baddies with maybe a color or armor cosmetic change. The end bosses make up for it all. Bosses are HARD. You need to use every skill in your arsenal and not waste a millisecond in your attacks. Seeing bosses that are two screens tall overpowering Thor is pretty fun.

Being able to customize your skills with runes is a fun idea, but limited. When you add a rune, you need to subtract another.

The story is remedial, but let's be honest, you are not playing this game for the plot.

I would recommend buying this used. It's not one of my favorites, but it is a fun pick-up-and-go time filler.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2015
One of the best Marvel Comics videogames out there, this game has it's own story, it's not a simple videogame version of the movie. I was already fan of the developer WayForward cause of their previous titles Bloodrayne: Betrayal and Aliens: Infestation and this game did not disappoint, I just wished they added more exploration rather than linear stages could have been an epic metroidvania game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
This game is awesome. Based on the 1st Thor movie, this takes you on an adventure through the 9 Realms. If you're a fan of comics, comic based movies, and / or Thor, this is the game for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
Game sucks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2015
It took me a while to beat the whole entire thing but I did it. It gets harder at the end but it is still an epic game. Storyline is good, fighting is awesome, the graphics take on more of a comic feel, enemies are fun to batter, and boss fight are mostly challenging but fun. Over all great game...recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
a very good game easy to play for all ages. ages from 6 & up :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
Being a big Thor fan I expected more, even the kids only though that it as an okay game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here