Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 95 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 149 reviews
on January 29, 2012
Kieslowki is my favorite director of all time, so I am very picky about how his work is represented. One thing that I love about Criterion is that they exercise extreme discretion with their restorative process, and so I was confident that certain intentional qualities of the original films would persist in these new versions and I was not disappointed to that end. Each film came through with a relative graininess still intact (good), and wherever Criterion did have to make an exception I felt very comfortable with their choices. Except, as it turned out, when it came to the colors & lighting, two aspects I think anyone could agree are enormously important to these three films. The Miramax set has been criticized here in other reviews as being too dark and over-saturated, but I don't entirely agree. The difference is most obvious in Blue, where cinematographer S'awomir Idziak's trademark use of filters and unconventional lighting has been significantly adjusted, sometimes to the point of almost total removal, in the Criterion set. Anyone who has seen Decalogue V or Double Life of Veronique can readily identify that cinematographer's unique style, and comparing the Criterion and Miramax adaptations, I feel strongly that the few scenes with clearly heavy filter use are better represented in the Miramax version than the Criterion one; ideally a balance between the two end results, weighted slightly to the Miramax side, would have yielded the best results. The Criterion set is still fantastic, and there are many things they did right, but the color and lighting just seemed a lot less impressive in this incarnation of the trilogy which, justifiably, better accents the director's exquisite skill than that of each film's dedicated cinematographer. That said, I'll be keeping my Miramax set alongside the new Criterion version as even after a remarkable transfer the lesser set is still a valuable asset to anyone's collection.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2017
........but the Miramax REGULAR DVD in widescreen format is better than this Criterion Collection BLU RAY set. Why? While this Criterion release is good, the picture is a bit hazy/misty compared to the Miramax DVD, and the hues not as vivid or robust; in fact, they're bland in comparison to the Miramax coloring. The sound isn't as clear and crisp as the Miramax DVD, either. Furthermore, this blu ray set isn't even in widescreen, whereas the Miramax is. Finally, the bonus features of the Miramax DVD aren't here, which is disappointing, because they're stellar. If you want more for far less $$$$$, then go with the Miramax widescreen DVDs for the Three Colors Trilogy. I love the Criterion Collection and what they've accomplished over the years, and this is still a good set (which includes a 78-page booklet with color photos describing the 3 films), but it's surprisingly inferior to the Miramax DVDs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2013
In the tradition of Godard, Truffaut, and most importantly Rohmer.
Eric Rohmer's style is felt throughout this incredible tour de force.

I would rank the trilogy in the following way: 1) White 2) Blue 3) Red

White is my favorite since it is based on a Polish character and much of the movie takes place in Poland.
Blue is most emotional and melancholic.
Red is the most hopeful of all three.

WHITE stands for: equality
BLUE stands for: freedom
RED stands for: brotherhood
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2016
Captivating stories, beautiful photography. Recommended viewing for a Physics Course that I taught for three years called "Light", FSNA 138, at CWRU, for its brilliant use of color. Also, two of the titles bracket the visual spectrum with the third a mixture of the whole spectrum.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2017
The BEST!!! Brilliant!!! After you want the series in the correct sequence go back & watch it again. Such genius!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
Classic, and interconnected French films - see them all. Stylish characters, talented actors, surprising and symbolic plots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2003
These films are classics. Challenging enough to withstand multiple viewings and still bring out new insights. But I'll leave the movie reviews up to others.
As for the DVD's: They ROCK! THIS is what a DVD should have- EACH film has extras- audio commentary, discussions about K.K.'s works and where these films relate to them (by people involved and who knew him), interviews with the MAIN actors for two films (Binoche, Jacob) and the not-so-main for White (Delpi- but she's prettier than the guy who played Karol Karol), Behind the scenes stuff, they are just PACKED!
The prints are BETTER than I saw in theaters when I first saw the films- the clarity is top notch, and the sound is sparkling, widescreen versions. EVERYTHING, in a word, was done RIGHT with these releases. Loving my copies!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
Beautiful series. Great filmography. Blue is my favorite.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2003
Thes movies are based on the three colors of the french flag and center around france, but journey all over Europe.
Blue is my favorite film, it is a tale of loss and over coming loss. Juliet Binenois(SP) plays a character who after losing her husband and daughter tries to give up on living, not suicide but isolation from her past. The music and the use of the color blue are magical. As Julie tries to isolate her self she still can't avoid human contact, and in the end she can not escape who and what she is. This a movie of realizing that life must continue after loss and that is a sin against ones self to denign what is great inside ones self.
White is a tale of revenge agaist an man who loves his wife and who was loved by his wife until his impotence destroys the marriage. The man knows that if he can have his wife leave france and go to his native poland than impotence will turn to sex lust and love. This is about how every man wants and how in desperation will do anything to love the one woman he desires most among others. This is the most comic of the trilogy and the vengence theme which I will not give away is comic as the need for vengeance and love often is.
The third tale is about the longing for life at any age and how we all find our true love when we don't expect it. The main character a young woman and old man find that they have had been on the oppisite sides of similar love affairs 50 years apart. The color red is of course the color of the happiness and the hardship of love. This is the directors last movie before his death, This was a labor of love and all of these movies are jems of particular color and refinement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse