Oil month Automotive HPC World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



Showing 1-10 of 206 reviews(1 star). See all 3,173 reviews
on November 6, 2015
This guy has injected a ton of fiction into his story....Professor of English and top memoirist Mary Karr writes about him in "The Art of Memoir" in her chapter about scam artists. After discussing how James Frey set out to fool people, she writes, "So did Greg Mortenson, the skunk-posing-as-saint builder of Afghan schools in 'Three Cups of Tea.' He didn't hallucinate that he'd been kidnapped by Taliban when, in fact, he'd been hosted in some kind people's homes. He cooked up events to mold his public image into that of the noble, forgiving survivor of brutal treatment. Jon Krakauer's 'Three Cups of Deceit' details how Mortenson went on to drain massive sums from his charity for personal use, renting private jets for book-selling junkets and buying his own books at retail to stay on best-seller lists. He was forced by the Montana attorney general to repay $1,000,000 to settle these allegations."
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2015
We have known for years now, from a 60 Minutes report and from Jon Krakauer's book Three Cups of Deceit, that Mortenson was not truthful in Three Cups of Tea. Mortenson has even acknowledged that this point (http://www.today.com/popculture/three-cups-author-greg-mortenson-i-let-lot-people-down-2D11961320). Despite that, the book has never been revised. For Mortenson and the publisher to continue knowingly selling a "nonfiction" book that is full of fictions is disgraceful.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 23, 2015
Before reading this book, read about the book's lies and the author's tarnished credibility. The Washington Post article here is a good place to start. http://tinyurl.com/nzftpns. Or, Google "Recent articles on Greg Mortenson." Posted by Mark Hammer, Spokane, WA, a disillusioned early admirer of Mortenson.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 5, 2016
I ordered this book to read as part of my monthly book club. I read a total of one-hundred thirty-two pages (132 pgs) before I finally called it quits. This is the first book since I joined the club that I had no desire what-so-ever to finish. I was incredibly bored with the story and the way it was written did not flow at all. I got confused as to the places and timelines as they kept switching from the states to the middle east several times, but did not go chronologically. I really tried hard to et into the book, or at least have the desire to finish it for book club, but alas, it had no draw to me at all, and I'm the type of person that likes to read about other's good deeds and helping enhance the future of children.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2018
I disliked this book. I thought it was far too full of flowery language and exaggeration, which was inappropriate for an account of real events. Before you buy this, do your research. Just a quick google search will tell you all you need to know about it. I would not recommend this to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2014
I was already put off by the cloying descriptions of Greg Mortenson's apparently saintly behaviour (eg page 235 : kneeling by Mother Teresa's body 3 years after the real date of her death), and the clearly fabricated scenes of derring-do (eg page 323 : a 'fusillade of machine gun bullets' fired across the road by opposing drug gangs forces his Russian jeep off the road, yet minutes later, as the gunfire continues, he leaps into the back of 'an aged pickup that listed to its side on its damaged suspension' and continues on his way beneath a pile of smelly goat skins. How come the second vehicle could brave the bullets but not the first?

Then I read Jon Krakauer's "¨Three Cups of Deceit" which fascinatingly confirms that GM is a liar and a cheat. His books portray him as a simple man, wearing worn and dirty local clothing, sleeping on the floor oblivious of any hardship but lo, back in the States he is pocketing the millions of dollars raised by his books and his speaking engagements while drawing a huge salary and having all his expenses, including private jet travel, lavish meals and accommodation, paid for by the charity he runs as much for his own aggrandisement as for the building of schools in Asia.

This book is a tissue of lies - its central events are distorted or just plain fabricated from beginning to end and few schools built by the charity are actually functioning. Please read Three Cups of Deceit before you waste your money on Three Cups of Tea and find a more deserving cause for any charitable contributions you might have been tempted to send to Greg Mortenson.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2013
I read this many years ago.

I so wanted to believe that this story is true when I read it. I did find in reading it that there were a lot of occasions when the co-author said that Mortensen was MIA or not good at keeping track of money, appointments, correspondence, etc. I thought, ok, well, he's a bit scattered but what a big heart--no one is perfect. Too bad he was simply skimming off the top of his charity (Central Asia Institute) to enhance his lifestyle by millions of dollars, promote his book in the Wall Street Journal and for things like renting a lear jet for $15,000* for a 4 day excursion to a speaking engagement in Telluride.

Turns out few of the key facts are true, so it's a fairy tale that fortunately brought attention to Afghanistan's schools and the plight of girls in particular. Don't bother reading this web of lies.

*AIP, Charity Rating Guide & Watchdog Report, Vol. 58, August 2011
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon April 24, 2011
I admired and respected Greg Mortensen as a man who did good work throughout Afghanistan because it was worthy and necessary work that not everyone is willing to take on. That was before 60 Minutes and the assorted questions over how much money has actually made it to his charity, the accuracy of the details contained within this book and Mortensen's own less than graceful responses, I cannot in good conscience support this book. Am I supposed to sit here highlighter in hand and mark x is fact oh I think he made up y etc. Greg Mortensen has not just disgraced himself, but has left many college professors who beileved so strongly in his message that they assigned it for their classes with egg on their face. Worse than that, what about all the people who donated their hard earned money to the cause because it matters to them. Mortenson has some major questions to answer here.
44 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 18, 2015
Tedius and boring.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 2010
Knowing nothing about Pakistan and Afghanistan or very little about Islam, in general, I found this book to be insightful into the cultures of the people living in the northern areas of Pakistan and Afghanistan.

While reading the book, I found it easy to read, but with a handful of annoying double affirmative uses of English. I was eager to turn the page and learn more about what Mortensen's next project was going to be.

Unfortunately, at the last chapter, the authors present their simplistic political views of the shortcomings of American foreign policy.

Neveretheless and undeniably, Mortensen's work has produced real benefits for the girls and women of Pakistan and Afghanistan - which is to be lauded, despite doctrinal points of view of how Bush and Rumsfeld, and the Pentagon, have 'failed' to rebuild Afghanistan.

As a cultural introduction to the people, highly recommended otherwise.

Update 25 May 2011:

This book and the author have recently been coming under criticism for being a fraudulent work of fiction. I didn't like the last two or three chapters of the book due to the left-leaning political opinion, which otherwise marred a good work. The accounts in the book seem too fantastic. I've changed my review from 4 stars to 1 star on the basis that the book's tale is too fantastic, especially in light of my recent experience in Afghanistan, after reading the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse