Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
18
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 18 reviews
on September 19, 2014
This was a fantastic read! I bought it to read on my holiday and I couldn't put it down. The book is written in such an honest way which was really engaging and it was fascinating to read about Gok's rise to fame. Usually we only see the finished product but it is nice to know that these people started out modestly and have hopes, dreams, struggles, fears and insecurities like the rest of us. This is one of the most interesting books I've read in a long time and made me love Gok even more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2012
Wow, a moving and honest story of Goks rise to fame. Sometimes very sad but mixed with his own brand of humour. A revealing look at himself and how he made good and bad choices along the way. It really is amazing that he ended up being the superstar that he now is. There are many lessons to learn from his story and maybe, just maybe, reading this may save someones life.
He makes no excuses but then he isn't looking to shift the blame onto anyone or anything else. He managed to turn things around and re-invent himself and now reaps the rewards of a job he loves and having the love of his close family and friends.
I thoroughly enjoyed his book -a great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
Easy and nice read. I enjoyed it, and made Gok Wan seem more like a real person. His story is inspiring and made me admire him more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2012
Excellent book giving an honest insight into the celebrity. You just never know what goes on behind closed doors & it seems even the best of them have their problems. Its a sassy, punchy book that brought tears of laughter as well as sadness to my eyes.Through Thick and ThinThrough Thick and Thin
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
A great read and a great insight into to this wonderful man. Inspirational, to those who have to overcome difficulties in their lives, he is living proof that if you stay true to yourself, believe in yourself and work hard you can have a happy life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
I love this guy, he's suffered, come good and hasn't forgot his family and values and I think the world would be a richer place with more people like this. The book is a good read and offers many surprises and shows what hard work and enthusiasm can achieve...

Go Gok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2014
Emotional, honest and a powerful read. I really enjoyed reading this autobiography and learning about how Auntie Gok came to be the fashionista we love and adore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2014
Got this after hearing him on BBC radio and he was funny and cute. This is mostly about his eating disorder and not that interesting so far...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
What a lovely man! It was a treat to learn a bit about the man behind the tv presenter and the face of Spec Savers and Target. Gok Wan is a breath of fresh air!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2011
I actually found it hard to put this book down. It is well written and you feel like Gok is actually talking to you. Its great to get to know the person behind the tv show and left me feeling that he truly understands the ladies who participate in his shows.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here