Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 215 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 235 reviews
on April 7, 2011
So, there are only two reasons for you to be reading this review. Either (A) you are a big fan of the classic Thundarr cartoon and you want to know if this DVD release will live up to your expectations, or (B) you just stumbled across this item and you have no idea why there are so many 5 star reviews for a cartoon that you've never heard of. So, I'm going to break this up into two sections. Feel free to just read the review that you can relate to... Cuz who has time to read a review that talks about stuff that you already know?

Never heard of Thundarr? Okay, picture this: You're 8 years old, it's Saturday morning and you're sitting in front of your TV eating a bowl of Frosted Flakes. After a few hours of Casper, Scrappy Doo and something called "Fred & Barney Meet the Schmoo" (not kidding), suddenly you're bombarded with images of the Earth being torn apart by earthquakes, tidal waves and general destruction. Then a voice basically tells you that 14 years from now, you, your friends and everyone and everything that you know will be dead.

How's THAT for a cure for attention deficit disorder??

That was basically the premise of Thundarr. The world has been destroyed and thousands of years later, life evolves, only now the world is some bizarre mix of dragons, mutants, wizards, robots, aliens, werewolves and descendants of the human race. I won't get into the specifics (there's alot of cool info on wikipedia and other sites) but lets just say that this cartoon was DECADES ahead of it's time. Just about everything that you can compare it to actually came AFTER Thundarr. Not only was this show original (forgiving the few things they borrowed from Star Wars), but as a Saturday morning cartoon? A cartoon with no talking dog or grinning monkey or wacky sidekick? This was a show where characters were actually threatened with death-- most of the time the word "doom" was used instead, but the intent was still there. This was a show were every episode featured recognizable landmarks that were now in burnt out, rusted, bent up, post apocalyptic ruins. In between all the other sugar coated, generic crap of the early eighties, how the heck did this show get on the air?? Well, somebody correctly assumed that kids (and teenagers) were smart enough to understand these stories... solid well written stories full of action, cool villains, excellent voice work and AMAZING cinematic music. No need for goofball characters or a half hour "lesson" to be learned. And no last shot of all the characters all standing around laughing like idiots. Okay, I think that happened on ONE episode of Thundarr... but hey, you gotta lighten the mood some time.

This was a very different type of Saturday morning cartoon. And for the most part it still holds up. Character designs still look good, the animation doesn't make you cringe, and the stories are still interesting. In comparison, another early 80s cartoon, Spiderman and his Amazing Friends (which I used to love back in the day) is pretty much crap now. Old episodes of that show still air a few nights a week and they're just goofy now ("Video-man??? WTF?) But Thundarr is still, to this day, one of the boldest, most mature shows to ever hit Saturday morning. And yes, if you love animation, you need to get this DVD.

As for you Thundarr fans, you're probably wondering the same thing that I did when I heard that this kick @$$ show had finally been released on DVD. I was thinking "what's this recordable DVD crap? Where's the REAL official release?" Well, rest assured, this is actually really well done, and if I didn't know any better, I would think this was any other professionally made DVD. I'm not a big fan of the cover art, but otherwise, it looks pretty good. The first menu you see is really generic but when you get to the episode list, you see the original title screen from each episode. That's pretty cool. So far, these appear to be the complete episodes-- no missing scenes or new replacement music. As someone else said, this is as good as it gets until Hanna Barbera figures out that we really need a remastered deluxe version of this series. There are some specks and dust that show up on several frames here and there (especially noticeable when I'm watching this on my PS3) but it's not enough to ruin the experience. This show will always be one of my favorite old school animated cartoons. Thundarr and Dungeons & Dragons were two of the few cartoons that were consistently well done, from one episode to the next. Several guys from Marvel Comics (including the King of comic illustration, Jack Kirby) originally worked on this show behind the scenes and you can see their dedication in every episode. Well, besides "Trial by Terror"-- I don't know if everybody was smoking weed or what, but that one episode looks goofy and cheap. And the evil wizard looks like a tool. But every other episode is 4 or 5 star.

A friend once told me that any rich jerk can drive a BMW, but it takes someone who loves cars to drive a fully restored 67 mustang. I'll add to that, anyone can say that they love Transformers and GI Joe, but someone that REALLY has an appreciation for old school 80s animation knows, appreciates, and owns the complete series of Thundarr.

So don't be a jerk. Get some Thundarr!
1010 comments| 222 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
I'll forego the usual, "What is Thundarr?" bit, assuming that most who are interested already are aware. In brief, the early 80s were a great time for fantasy cartoons. Between He-Man, Dungeons & Dragons, Thundercats and others, it was a good time to be a kid who loved fantasy. Of those series, Thundarr stands out as an excellent entry. It is a children's cartoon but in the vein of pulp literary works such as Burroughs' John Carter of Mars or Lin Carter's Thongor. Often described as Conan meets Star Wars, this cartoon resonated with kids all over the United States. This set finally makes it available on DVD for all those who still harbor nostalgia for those days.

The set, for a print-on-demand product, is aces. The quality of the transfer, both video and audio, is outstanding and it's great to have this classic series available in a very nice 4-disc DVD set. The cartoon itself holds up surprisingly well, and is still fun to watch after all these years.

The only down-side, and the one thing that keeps me from giving this five stars, is that it is truly a bare-bones release. There are no special features available at all. While I suppose this is probably standard for sets like this, I can't imagine it would've cost the company all that much to add a documentary or some commentary tracks. In fact, there is already a wonderful documentary entitled "Lords of Light: The Thundarr the Barbarian Story" which is available on YouTube. It would have been easy to package this along with the episodes to make a first-rate product. For those interested, the documentary can be viewed here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBrZik5qD-Q

Had Warner Brothers chosen to include this documentary and/or possibly a commentary or two, I would give this set five stars. As it stands, the lack of special features costs it a star, but the transfers are outstanding and if you're a fan of 80s Saturday Morning Cartoons or even science-fantasy of the post-apocalyptic/planetary romance variety, you are cheating yourself if you don't pick this up. Well worth the purchase price.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
I felt like a kid on Christmas when I received this package. I can clearly remember sitting in front of the TV on Saturday morning eagerly waiting for this show to come on, this was the highlight of the weekend. Not your typical Saturday morning cartoon as this seemed more geared towards teens or probably adults. A few comical moments lightened up the tone, but to me it harkened back to the 60's ( Johnny Quest or Speed Racer ) when cartoons weren't dumbed down for children. ( Snorks or Smurfs )

If you've never had the chance to see this cartoon it has everything you could want. Science Fiction, Sorcery, Mutants, Monsters, action, comedy and decent plots. ( for a cartoon ) Thundarr the Barbarian an escaped slave, ( I don't think they ever mentioned who enslaved him ), escapes captivity. With a magical sword called the Sun Sword he brought action to the Saturday morning screen like no other. Together with his cohorts Princess Ariel a sorceress and Ookla the Mok ( think giant mutant Sasquatch like being? ) had all sorts of amazing adventures together fighting the villainous protagonists each week.

Sadly Thundarr lasted only 2 seasons and saturdays were a bit more bleak until the Japanese cartoons made their triumphant return to our shores ( Voltron and Robotech ). Oddly enough Thundarr wasn't cancelled due to poor ratings, it had very good ratings for a cartoon, but the network and parental groups were concerned about it's impact on the youth.

If you like more adventurous themed cartoons I recommend adding it to your collection. There is a video on YouTube called Lords of Light : The Thundarr the Barbarian Story that gives a behind the scenes peek at Thundarr. Watch the video and maybe the intro to the cartoon to see if this is something that might interest you.

Probably my favorite cartoon of all time. Thank goodness it's available on DVD, it's something that I can treasure and reminisce about the countless Saturdays of my youth.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
The reason I chose this rating was because I loved this show when I was growing up!. Back then there was thing called Saturday Morning Cartoons it started from 8:00am & lasted until 12:00pm the cartoons came on different channels they were a lot to choose from. I saw this and watched it and I like it. What it is about is that Man's civilization is cast in ruin when a runaway planet speeds between the Earth and the Moon, unleashing cosmic destruction. Two thousand years later. That's a longtime! After that the Earth is reborn from the ashes with a savage landscrape, strange creatures and primitive sense of justice. But one man fights to spread peace and justice throughout the land, and that man's name was Thundarr the Barbarian! He carried a magic sword! He also had companions that helped him. Ookla the Mok that makes sounds like CHEWBACCA in STAR WARS. And there is a sorceress which is Pretty by the way! Her name is Ariel. Using their strength, courage and wits plus Thundarr's magical Sunsword,they journey from village to village,liberating slaves and battling all kinds of beasts, mutants,wizards,thieves and robots. The future of Earth may be shrouded in darkness, but Thundarr the Barbarian bursts into action as a shining symbol of hope for HUMANITY! ALL21 EXCITING ADVENTURES IN A 4-DISC COLLECTION! I bought it because it was a good price plus because I liked the show when I was growing up! If "YOU" like Action& Adventure cartoons try it I think "YOU!" will ENJOY I!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
I am so happy that I just got the DVDs in the mail and it's really great that I have the complete series!! Ever since I was 5 years old, I loved this cartoon. The action and imagination made this cartoon legendary not to mention Jack Kirby helped develope the series too!!! It's definitely worth the money & a must have in your collection!! If you're an 80's kid like me, then get up on this now!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
LORDS OF LIGHT!!, This set is done very well. No fluff. They give you 21 episodes in all. 13 from season 1, and 8 from season 2. They are not done in seasons however, that is my own research results for the proper installation of the episodes, and show information in my iTunes menu. The Thundarr The Barbarian Set is made up of every episode that is available. The picture format is in Standard (square box), Sound is Dolby Digital Mono, which was the only one available for TV of that time. The image quality is OUTSTANDING. The menus for episode selection are very plain and simple, after the obligitory warnings, you get a choice of VIEW ALL EPISODES, or, CHOOSE EPISODE with little title screen shots to select from which is my preference, You get the episode title screen, with the awesome Thundarr openning song and credits, thats it. It comes as one DVD case with 4 DVDs 3 with 5 episodes and 1 with 6. The DVDs are black with yellow lettering showing title, disc # and a little WB logo. No subtitles, no language selection, just American Saturday morning Thundarr cartoons, as they were aired in 1980-81. With shipping, and taxes, mine came to approximately $32 USD, and they are worth every penny. Thundarr is not on iTunes, and Netflix doesn't have him either. He isn't on YouTube (yet) or any other ad infested torrent site. I was very pleased, and if you were born in the mid 70's, putting this cartoon on transported me right back to Saturday morning 1980,...Aahhh, what a wonderful feeling. So, order your Thundarr while they are available, because from what I understand, these copies are BURNED PER ORDER, because they didn't have the demand warranting a full release, and I beleive Joe Ruby and Ken Spears (the creators) are battling it out with Hanna Barbera, and Ted Turner as well, so who knows how much longer these historical masterpieces will be able to be bought so easily. Hope this review was helpful..."DEMON DOGS!!!"...."LORDS OF LIGHT!!!"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
Even with strict tv network guidelines limiting cartoon "violence and action content" in favor of "educational lesson teaching", "Thundarr" did very well in the entertaining action category. In each story, Thundarr, Ariel , and Ookla would ride to various destroyed Earth cities, mostly in the United States and a rare overseas setting in London, and battling evil wizards bent on conquering their territories and defending poor helpless citizens suffering under the wizards' rule. Thundarr may be an implusive warrior but he does have some humanity in sparing some evil doers and letting justice takes its course. Princess Ariel was an expert in magic spells and educated Thundarr and Ookla on the various destroyed Earth landmarks and gadgets they come across. Ookla provided the muscle and a child-like curiosity for humor.

Show should have ran longer than 21 total episodes. Lots of great action, character interaction, creative perils, and undiscovered world of a destroyed 3997 Earth to explore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2015
Lords of Light! Thundarr is finally on DVD! This set includes every episode ever produced of this cult classic series. The set is made up of 4 DVD-Rs that are produced on demand. It is a great set and the ONLY commercially available set on the market. Sadly there are a number of omissions and oversights. Namely the lack of any bonus content. There is a great mini-documentary about Thundarr which should have been included in this set but was instead misplaced on the 80's Saturday Morning Cartoon Collection also put out by Warner Bros./ Hanna Barbara. The documentary is 20 minutes in length and would have made a great addition to this set. The discs also have NO captions or subtitles available. The discs are all very high quality but occasionally some minor video distortion is noticeable due to the digital transfer process. The lack of proper remastering which this classic series deserves is noticeable and the packaging is very generic and lack luster. A series this great deserves the deluxe box art treatment. But all of these minor things should not detracted you from purchasing this classic 80's Saturday morning cartoon series because it is a true gem! Every episode is very well written and beautifully animated. This is a must have for any fan of 80s cartoons or retro-animation. At least until they make a live-action block-buster and we can get a proper deluxe box set. It will transport anyone who was a child in the 1980s back to those happy Saturday mornings of their childhood. Demon-Dogs! Has it been that long? This is a must BUY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
My brother and I loved this cartoon series from the early '80s, when Saturday morning had REAL cartoons, pushed breakfast cereals and toys with every commercial break, and your day started at 6:00 AM just because there was SO MUCH GOOD STUFF on the TV.

This series was one of our favorites and it held up well to my watching the entire series 40 years later. A disaster in the unimaginable future of 1994 nearly destroyed the Earth and wiped out most civilization; a thousand years later the world is a mixture of magic and science wielded mostly be evil sorcerers (with the occasional good group as well). An amazing amount of "stuff" from our time is lying around mostly un-decayed which is of course rather far-fetched (how many artifacts just lying around do we have from Charlemagne's time?), but that's a minor issue that certainly no 12-year old is going to worry about. The animation is relatively crude by today's standards and there are a couple of odd plot points that seem awfully contrived, but honestly it's fine for what it is.

This is exactly what it seems to be--a straightforward and downright FUN animated fantasy series. It's a great pity it didn't last more than two seasons (seemed like more to me at the time) but in those two season they built a fascinating world. It very definitely belongs on Saturday mornings on the SyFy Channel (hint, hint)!

Recommended for any fan of '80s cartoons, animated fantasy, or just plain good fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
When I review products they take on my perspective and in this case it is my view as an autistic child grown into an autistic adult. I had NO friend as an autistic kid in the 1970's when Thundarr The Barbarian burst onto the Saturday TV screen. I loved TV cartoons because; for a few breif moments in time I could imagine knowing these awesome characters were what having friends must feel like and I loved that feeling.

I especially loved Ookla the Mock because he was the strong wild one driven by passion more than pure intellect. Thundarr The Barbarian takes place on a post apocalypticearth sometime in the distant future after a space event ruined our planet. Whole new power structures evolved replacing those in existance now. New forces of magic, evil and mad science became the norm. Civilization was largely thrown into chaos and three new chamions for good were born. Thundarr, Ookla the Mock and Ariel were forces for good on this new Earth a theme I was trying to understand as an autistic child.

Thundarr The Barbarian was about GOOD people trying to make sense of a whole new world where old sensibilities no longer applied and that was not unlike my autsitic experience of this non-autistic culture. As an autistic child with cerebral palsy I was born into a strange world filled with people who had communication, interpersonal skills and other coping mechanisms that to me looked like MAGIC, SCIENCE and PHYSICAL STENGTH beyond my imagining. Thundarr, Ookla the Mock and Ariel were different but yet ther were friends. Ookla The Mock was driven mainly by wild passions but he was intelligent and kind in his own brutish way. More than anything Ookla The Mock survived in a world that was not always fair to him under adverse conditions and he gave me hope as a little autistic kid that I too could survive. Ookla the Mock taught me that I too was strong and could if I worked hard enough, I'd learn to manage my autism inspired rages and passions.

Yes to me as an autistic adult I know the reasons I loved Thundarr, Ookla the Mock and Ariel and especially Ookla The Mock seem weird espeically in 2014. However I was an autistic kid when Thundarr, Ookla the Mock and Ariel first aired. I was an autistic child who had violent meltdowns and was capable of rages not unlike those Ookla The Mock demonstrated. As a kid if there were an Olympic event in throwing things, I'd win all the Gold in that sport. Ookla the Mock was like a friend because; I understood him, I understood why he lost his cool but I also saw bad ways how others reacted. Thundarr, Ookla the Mock and Ariel and Thundarr The Barbarian helped me survive autistic childhood where I was alone and without friends. I used to struggle through hellish weeks at school just to see the next episode of Thundarr The Barbarian. Upon finding Thundarr The Barbarian available for purchase on Amazon.com buying it was a no brainer for me.

I hardly expect that most of the shoppers here have the kinds of intense autistic memories and relationships I had with Thundarr The Barbarian. I do know that we all had our own reasons for having a special place in our hearts for Thundarr The Barbarian which makes this series a must buy for you. You don't have to be an AUTISTIC WEREWOLF to love the memories of watching Thundarr The Barbarian in my case it helps.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse