Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.46+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 194 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 232 reviews
on September 29, 2016
I saw this a long time ago and it has remained in my mind as being a good movie. I was not wrong! The acting is very good and the plot is believable, written and directed by Michael Cimino. A young mouthy drifter named Lightfoot (25 year old Jeff Bridges), who has just stolen a sports car from a used car lot, rescues an older con/thief nicknamed Thunderbolt (Eastwood) who is being chased and shot at by someone his ex partners hired (George Kennedy and Geoffrey Lewis) because they think he knows where the money they stole seven years earlier is hidden. Apparently it was hidden in an old one-room schoolhouse, which is no longer there, replaced by a new modern school. Eventually they put aside trying to kill each other and decide to do the robbery again, in exactly the same way as before. Using an anti-tank gun to break into the vault. The technology is very dated but the acting and story are what really drive this movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2016
There are three movies I saw as a kid in the 70's that really stuck in my head for the unique action, plots, or scene's that made me ask questions. " Deliverance", " Sometimes a great notion" & this movie "Thunderbolt & Lightfoot". I think that these 3 movies stuck in my head because they are all 3 extremely intense running through the gambit of human emotion, they are all well made & no matter how disturbing, they are all 3 very cerebral making you ask yourself moral questions. As a adult I can appreciate " Thunderbolt & Lightfoot " a lot better...especially being a veteran I believe I can understand the elements of brotherhood & adrenaline that unite the original crew of bank robbers. At the very least it helped me to understand the dynamics of the relationship between "Red" & " Thunderbolt". As far as the fate of " Lightfoot" well chalk that one up to great acting on Jeff Bridges part...I'm sure as a adult you will know exactly what happened to his character. That's another element that makes this such a great film is the great character development, I have always believed character development was crucial for a good movie, if you aren't invested in the characters involved you really don't care what happens to them. This is a great film that is just as good today as it was when it came out, it feels more like a period piece than being out dated now. With its great action , characters, cinematography, soundtrack, acting & broad range into the human condition it wouldn't surprise me if this movie was in the top 100 movies ever made list. A great film to add to your movie library. It's hard for me to do this movie justice in a review without giving to many spoilers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2015
A very young Jeff Bridges in his first tour de force with a world weary (but still young) Clint Eastwood, who has gone undercover as a minister in a small Montana town to flee fellow bank robbers who are looking to finish him off.
A delightful romp with some unusual twists and a few regular Eastwood co-stars in this eccentric romp filled with oddball characters that our "heros" meet as they travel towards their destiny. I used to lovee seeing this both on television as a young lad, and in theaters overseas (dubbed!). If you love either of these actors and early 70s action/adventure films, check it out. It is not your standard fare film.
No extras, or commentary, disappointingly. I wish they would release a Blu Ray version reschanneld for surround, but for the time being, this is a classic that you should own.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
Not going into what the movies about you can read that anywere. One of my favorite old movies for sure though. Eastwood didnt like the way this movie was promoted and lost money he said {poor, poor clint} and stopped its re-release making it hard to get. A blu-ray version came out recently in limited supply of around 3000 copies? I have not seen its quality but it has to be better than what was out. These were not the best by a long shot.
Its always been very hard to get a copy of it and its usually very high priced if you ever see one for sale. I liked it very much and I believe Bridges acting was outstanding. It was a thrill to watch at the drive in upon its original release and oh' how I sure do miss those days. What a blast it was to be there back then.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2015
If you value movies as primarily entertainment and don't have to have philosophy, sociology and religiosity thrown in, then this movie is for you. Pure entertainment. A good story, irreverent dialogue and superior acting make "Thunderbolt and Lightfoot" a great movie. George Kennedy is amazingly good in his role as Red Leary and Eastwood and Jeff Bridges are always tops. The movie is a drama with comic overtones. All is not lighthearted and you may find tragedy in the ending. But is is always a good story, progresses apace and is satisfyingly concluded. I can find no reason to give it fewer than five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
Classic Eastwood crime drama. Jeff Bridges excels in an early role. George Kennedy is villainous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
Love the movie will buy from seller again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2015
Clint Eastwood is a cop and a crook and so many other parts in so many other films. In this one he is a thief and a darned good one, too. Clint along with a youthful partner he meets in his travels, Jeff Bridges hook up with Clint's volatile ex-partners George Kennedy, very mean and angry guy and Geofrey Lewis. they break into the Montana Armory and well, that is all I am going to say.....Wonderful story, wonderful dialog, wonderful scenery and best of all superlative performances by all concerned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
I was not impressed with this one at all, just gave it to one of my grandson's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.89

Need customer service? Click here