Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 617 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 658 reviews
Enthusiast: Board Gameson December 28, 2016
This is one of those rare must-have expansions to the original game. If you enjoy Ticket to Ride this enhancement should only improve that experience through two improvements:
1. Larger, easier to handle cards
2. Playing the Mega game variant adds more competitive and variable play to each game of Ticket to Ride

If you already enjoy the Ticket to Ride USA map, don't hesitate to purchase this card set.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We love playing Ticket to Ride and were so excited to discover that there is an Expansion Pack! If you have never played this game you must! I'm not a big game person, but when we tried Ticket to Ride I was totally hooked. Now that we have the bigger cards and new strategies to work on the fun is even more intense. No problem getting everyone to turn off the TV and computer when we meet to play! Don't hesitate -- just buy it! Great gift for friends and family. (Note: you must have the first game to add the expansion pack, and it's definitely worth it.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
These are the cards that I wish came with the original game purchase. They are the size of regulation playing cards and make them much easier to shuffle and hold.

In addition to the new card size though, this expansion added some complexity to a game that my wife and I have been playing for a few years. New routes meant we had to look for new strategies to make them and in some cases the cards contain a challenge of having to route through a large city, making it even more difficult.

I have found that Ticket to Ride expansions are great and are well worth the money for the most part, but this one in particular is almost a must have even if you are just purchasing the game.

Ticket to Ride was our first time getting out of standard board games and has driven us to try other table top games that provide many hours of game play and are far more interesting than the standard monopoly type games (and typically cause far fewer tantrums).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2016
We have had the ticket to ride USA game for quite a few years, and although it remains to be a family favorite, it has gotten pretty boring, since we were already familiar with all the destination tickets. We decided to spice it up by buying the Ticket to Ride Expansion, and WOW! What a change! The expansion pack includes a great variety of destination tickets, from short 4 point routes to long 21 point routes! The abundance of destination cards ensures that we never get bored! It's a must buy for any Ticket to Ride enthusiast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2017
Ticket to Ride is my favorite game and I play it a lot.
I don't like the small cards that come with it, so we purchase the 1910 expansion to replace them.
This is the fourth time I have purchased the expansion to go with my copy of the base game.
I recommend this expansion as it enhances the original game and makes it easier to play (I can hold the cards better).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
This is just about an essential add-on to the original Ticket to Ride board game. It replaces all of the original cards with larger (standard playing card sized) versions, and provides even more route tickets to yield a number of variations on the original board game. Obviously, the board and pieces from the original "USA board" Ticket to Ride are required to make use of this expansion set.

Using this expansion, you are able to play a the standard game (with some route rewards rebalanced), a "big cities" variation (where all tickets connect with a select list of cities: Chicago, New York, L.A., Dallas, Houston, Miami, Seattle), an finally "1910 mega game" where additional tickets have been added, and a "globetrotter bonus" (most tickets completed) comes into play.

I would argue that this is a must buy for anyone who has the basic Ticket to Ride board game, since it gives large cards, and allows for a number of variations on how to play the game, making an already re-playable board game even more so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
As an avid Ticket to Ride player, I had to buy this expansion pack. It honestly doesn't give you much - it is basically a box of cards. 20 bucks for a box of cards is a little pricey, hence me taking off one star. But otherwise, this is a great addition to the game. The full size train cards are nice - the small ones that one with the original game are quite tiny. And the additional route tickets are fantastic, especially since they include ALL cities - the standard game actually misses quite a few. In the original game, it was easy to learn all of the routes, and be able to predict which cards your opponents had based on their moves. With this expansion, that is gone! Plus it gives you a few additional ways to play. While they additional game modes are not anything extremely different (you honestly could think of these on your own), they do give some nice variety, and require different strategies.

PROS:
-Large size train cards
-Route tickets that utilize ALL cities
-More routes = more strategy
-Additional Game Options are fun

CONS:
-Expensive for what is basically a box of cards
-New Gameplay options aren't THAT special

Overall, I would recommend this! Just try to find it when it's on sale ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
The small cards that come with the complete game can be slightly hard to shuffle and use, so this is definitely a must have for anyone who plays regularly. The cards are of high quality and seem like they will last for quite some time. The additional destination cards and twists to games rules are also enjoyable and make it seem like you are playing a whole new game without learning and entirely new game. Would also recommend getting the India map collection if looking to play with two-three players as these maps are made specially for this many players and add some fun twists to the game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
I'm a big fan of Ticket to Ride, so buying an expansion was an easy decision. There are a lot of things to like about this expansion.

First, the new destination cards. The new destination cards fill in the gaps from the original game. There were some cities on the North American board that did not have many destinations to them. The new destination cards fill in those gaps, giving you an opportunity to amass more points and build to different cities.

Second, you get all the old destination cards and train cards in regular playing card size. The small cards of the original game could become difficult to hold or even see. That is remedied by this expansion as you get all those original cards with the expansion, but in a regular playing card size.

The last addition is the bonus cards for most destinations completed. The original game came with a bonus card for longest train. The expansion includes that bonus, but also another that gives you 15 extra points for the person who has the most destination tickets completed at the end of the game. If you get stuck building on the East Coast, this bonus card can help offset the small point totals you get for those destinations.

Overall, this expansion is worth it for anyone who enjoys the North American version of Ticket to Ride. It adds a couple different ways to play the game, new destinations and as a result new strategies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
If you love the base Ticket To Ride game as much as my family does, you'll love this expansion even more! My review assumes you have an understanding of the base game.

Summary of the biggest benefits of adding the 1910 Expansion:

- It replaces all of the base cards with standard-format cards (routes and trains). These are MUCH easier to shuffle, handle, and read.
- It adds a lot of new routes and evens out the scoring around the map. With the base game, it seemed there was a bias of high route points near the north part of the map, meaning if you got those routes you were pretty sure to win.
- There's a new 15-point bonus card for the player that completes the most routes. Without this card I found myself trying to achieve the longest train 10-point bonus at any cost. This new card makes you think more strategically about your routes and more likely to draw new routes during play.
- Some route cards are marked "Big Cities", allowing you to play an alternate game only using routes between... well, "big cities".

In my opinion, this is how the base game should be played. It would be nice to see the publisher update the base version to include this expansion someday, but then they would obviously lose the upgrade sales. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 29 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here