Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Noah Gundersen GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 177 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 190 reviews
on July 16, 2013
As others have noted, unlike the US version, this expansion is not absolutely necessary for the base Ticket to Ride Europe game to be playable, especially if you typically only play with 2 players. If you play your TTR Europe game often though, you may find yourself bored with the small number of routes and want to add some variety. This expansion pack does a great job of doing that and adds some different options to the way you can play the game.

Besides the added routes and options for modified game play, the addition of the warehouses and depots is quite fun. It takes a bit of getting used to (especially for those who have only played the US version), but once you get the hang of it, the added complexity is worth it. You now have to weigh your strategy of adding cards to your hand vs. the cost of using one of your depots. The end result of using the warehouses and depots speeds up the game considerably as players can quickly add large amounts of cards to their hand. I have not personally used the warehouses and depots on any of the other versions of Ticket to Ride, but they are compatible which makes them that much more valuable.

My wife and I always use the expanded routes and really enjoy the option of different ways to play the game, and also use the warehouses and depots about 2/3 of the time.

Overall this is a good buy, but not necessarily essential in all cases (like the US 1910 expansion is).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
so you get in this small box a new sort of game addition - the dispanseries, which I personally love playing with but not everyone. you got a lot of new tickets, which is great, and a cut throat version of the game called Big Cities (tickets only), so if you're kinda fed up with the base, but love the game and don't want to buy a new board, this a cheap and great expansion to bring a new lease of life to this already amazing game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
If your Ticket to Ride experience started with the American version of the game, you should have seriously considered the 1910 expansion, if only for the full-sized train cards. The European game already comes with the larger cards and with rather more complexity -- both in terms of how routes are claimed and the introduction of "stations" (a bit of a mis-nomer) that allow co-option of a route already claimed by an opponent.

The 1912 expansion is for the European game only and offers (as does the 1910 for the American) a larger deck -- much larger -- of destination cards. It also offers even more complexity (optional). As we use the game with school-age children, there is already enough complexity in the base game; in fact they tend to prefer the simpler American game.

My suggestion is that you start with the base European game. If you like it, you can go for the expansion set if only for the richer repertoire of destinations. And then if it becomes too boring, you've got another way (indeed, ways) to make the strategy more challenging.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
Definitely adds a new dimension to the game. Buy it, it's good quality as all the Ticket to ride games and accessories are and you'll find yourself not wanting to play without it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2010
As the title of the previous review suggests, this is an essential expansion that changes the game play dynamic fundamentally if you so choose to take advantage of the new rules.

You could play the game using this expansion pack without resorting to using the strategies that it requires, but it is far more compelling and fun to take advantage of the new ways you could approach the game.

Players get a warehouse and 5 depots. At the beginning of the game each player must decide where to place one of their depots (in a city on the map). The game starts, and warehouses are used to store a single card a player draws before his or her turn. The player must then place this card in any of the warehouses (including his or her own) on the board (each player has a warehouse). The player will then draw his or her two cards per usual game rules. Later in the game you may, if connecting to a city occupied by a depot, collect all the cards present in the warehouse that corresponds to the color of that depot. This allows to to collect a substantial number of cards that accumulate in warehouses, and in turn allows you to complete your routs faster. In return you give up one of your four remaining depots. The player with the most depots at the end earns 15 points... but it's far more rewarding to use the depots to capture additional cards. If this strategy is used correctly, you could complete routs very quickly and get a head start early in the game.

One of the limitations of the European version is the introduction of stations that limit your ability to block people. This reduced the cutthroat approach that made the American version so compelling. This expansion, however, adds new strategic depth, and a nervous edge to game play where players have to decide when to make a move and capture cards.

Great expansion.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
Definitely overpriced. While the slightly new game mechanics and extra routes are ok, the real value is the reprinted cards in the larger format
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2017
I love playing the Ticket to Ride board games. I like this expansion piece that I can add to any of the other 3 versions I already own. I like the features of the depots & the warehouses. The explanation or the rules to use them in gameplay are not explained very thoroughly & I didn't like their version of the rule anyway. I have adopted the rules in another way so that it tries to work for everyone playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2014
For those who like Ticket to Ride: Europe and need more variety than the base 46 ticket cards, don't hesitate to buy this expansion for the extra 55 tickets. The Depot/Warehouse add-on can be used for any edition of Ticket to Ride. (Even the train stations in the base game of TtR: Europe <could> be used on other editions.)

While the expansion includes three recommendations on how to play with the extra tickets, I personally find them best as general guidelines on how to use the cards, and not go "by the book".

As a word of caution, keep these cards separate from those the base game has. The expansion has copies of the base 46 tickets. I ended up storing my original cards in a bag to distinguish them from the expansions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
This game is so addicting! We loved the expansion pack! We normally play with my in laws and 10 year old nephew and could easily play for 3 hours!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2017
Perfect addition to the game. Adds a good amount of large routes as well as a ton of new small routes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here