Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Too and the conflicts PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 27 reviews
on September 12, 2017
This is a lesser known (at least to me) release of the "Time" Series; Time Out etc., recorded in 1963. I'm not a music critic so all I will say is that this is a different sound to the others in this series but enjoyable none the less.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
Once again, The Dave Brubeck Quartet would present us another creative
and enduring Time Signature in 1963 where the astonishing Countdown Time
In Outer Space left off as this album took an interesting, but surreal insight in-
to the experiences and daily life that had took place in the early-1960’s. Time
Changes not only showcases another round of amazing music passages from
the pen of Brubeck himself, but also briefly focuses on the fears and hopes of
from this part of the decade in a well-structured that’s performed with first rate
improvisational skills and up-to-date endeavor. Starting with the opening track
Iberia, the complex track set proceed well with other memorable compositions
like Unisphere, World’s Fair, Cable Car, Theme From The Elementals and the
orchestra-backed 16 minute finale on an epic scale on Elementals. Filled with
upbeat instrumental structures, smart virtuosity, swirling grooves, and creative
solos, Time Changes gives us a high point in progressive jazz which definitely
rocks, while the high-pitched interplay and fast-paced rhythm makes this such
an accomplished masterwork that deserves to get plenty more attention as an
unqualified gem. As one of his finest albums, this challenging Time Signature
is a timeless must for any jazz fan or admirer of the great Dave Brubeck.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2014
Another great album matching the Brubeck Quartet with a symphony orchestra. As usual, Brubeck's compositions featured in the CD demonostrate his creative genious. The sound quality is very good, but it has some distortion in the high frequencies as is typical for CD's of this vintage. Too bad it hasn't been redone with more modern technology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2006
I still own the original vinyl version of this album and must have played it 200 times over the last 4 decades. While there are lots of pops and scratches, the thing still sounds damn good. The CD version is first rate and has all the dynamics and nuances that make this my favorite Brubeck album. I own it for one reason, "Elementals." If memory service me, the Eastman Conservatory asked Brubeck to write and perform a piece with their orchestra in celebration. What ensues is a truely inspired performance by both the orhestra and quartet.
As a bonus, the CD contains a shorter version of the piece with just the quartet that precedes the fully orchestrated recording. You don't have to be a composition major to appreciate the structure that Brubeck created in this exercise in theme development and variation. I still hear things for the first time after all these years.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I recently "discovered" this album, having never heard of it before. It is a great follow-on to the Time Out and other albums experimenting with different time signatures. I'm going to be looking for more of these "undiscovered" Brubeck masterpieces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2006
There IS a single reason to own this CD, and it is "Elementals". While the shorter works that precede it are enjoyable enough, some sound almost too "middle of the road" after all these years (although the airy, lilting, sometimes raspy performance of Paul Desmond never fails to entrance me).

"Elementals" boosts this CD to Five Stars due to its groundbreaking fusion of jazz and symphonic composition. Since first hearing this piece more than a quarter-century ago, I've stuck with my impression that Brubeck has fashioned a wonderfully mesmerizing history of humankind through music. The opening, almost primordial in nature, segues into a Biblical-sounding passage artfully played by 'King David', then slides into a musical evocation of the Middle Ages, whereupon both the tempo and counterpoint between the Quartet and the Eastman orchestra hasten. Moving into the just-completed century, there are strains of swing, beebop and what I'll call missile-age musical pyrotechnics. It all comes to one crashing denouement, leaving you to wonder, 'What's next for Man'?

If you gave me the choice of listening to "Take Five", "Blue Rondo" or "Elementals" just one more time, I'd hesitate ... then choose "Elementals". It's that powerful and intriguing.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2014
I have loved Dave Brubeck ever since I first heart "Take Five". I have a very eclectic ear for a lot of different music, Jazz, Blues, Country and soothing sounds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
Dave Brubeck's arrangements are great, and the harmonies, tempos, and 'feeling' in the music is the best. What a treat to relax and listen to his great arrangements.

Leo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
"Time Changes" doesn't include any of Dave Brubeck's hits, and maybe that's why it's often overlooked in discussions of his innovations in jazz. Everybody knows "Take Five" but not "Unisphere," and it's a shame. The later tune boasts not only a great Paul Desmond solo but also some tasty counterpoint improvisations between him and Brubeck. "Shim Wha" showcases Brubeck's and Morello's polyrhythmic prowess, with Dave playing 2s with his left hand against the song's 3/4 rhythm. Overall, the musicians sound way more confident playing in odd meters (3/4, 10/4, 13/8) here than on "Time Out."

Then there's "Elementals," which by itself is enough to justify giving this album five stars. A hybrid of jazz and classical music influences, "Elementals" perfectly captures the action and vibrant colors of the painting on the cover. It's a tough act to follow, too. So far, I've only found a few albums ("Black Saint and the Sinner Lady" by Charles Mingus, "Autumn" by the Don Ellis Orchestra," and "Oriental Bass" by Renaud Garcia-Fons) with the melodic sophistication, rhythmic heft, and tonal color to match it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2011
This is a good variety of musical pieces that helps to round out my collection of Dave Brubeck's compositions and orchestrations. It gives me a better perspective on Dave's breadth of experience in the jazz world. A very good album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.99
$5.99
$6.99
$10.32

Need customer service? Click here