Check out Santa's new ride Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch $5 Albums PCB for Musical Instruments $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Dot Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

  • Time
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
189
Time
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$18.95+ $3.99 shipping


VINE VOICEon December 12, 2006
It's funny to remember back when this came out it didn't sell very well and it was the first ELO album in years not to have a hit. I liked it very much right off(still do)but after Xanadu no one seemed to really want to listen to them anymore. Disco had finally died and Xanadu was the last real big disco hit. Due to this fact, most rock stations had stopped playing ELO. Jeff Lynne even made the rounds explaning who he wished that they had never gotten involved with the project. I think this is also why nothing from Xanadu ever turns up on alot of the "hits" collections. This may also contribute to the overall seriousness of this album along with the fact that John Lennon had been shot and Ronald Reagan was now the President. Alot of big changes had happened in a pretty short amount of time. Jeff Lynne talked at the time about how people always wished that things were like they used to be and not really being able to appreciate what you have now. This album is based on time travel and someone who in an escape attempt from the present ends up in the future. It's a great album and now that it's in the past maybe people will be able to appreciate it better. Sort of like the album concept.
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
A totally self-indulgent, check-out-what-Jeff-Lynne-can-do album that you can only listen from beginning to end. NOT for the fans of Pink's latest 3:15 second lament of how hard her life is. Time will make your body tingle head-to-toe. Don't say you weren't warned. Oh, yeah, to be listened to with headphones only!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2017
What a hidden gem!!.. This masterpiece did not get due recognition.. nobody does it better than Jeff Lynne.. and if he could have been a Beatle..omg..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
This is a great album. Almost every song can be a single on its own. It was just one good song after the next, and it all seemed integrated -- like ll the songs belonged together in this compilation similar to chapters in a book. My wife and I enjoyed this album very much.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
Possibly the greatest ELO album, and that's saying a lot. What's amazing is how very few people have heard this masterpiece from a group everyone was always heading just a couple of years earlier. This is pure early 80s pop bliss with a story that should have also been a film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2017
Love it thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2016
A masterpiece. Only E.L.O. can write an album encompassing from ballads to techno-disco.
Aptly titled "TIME" I do time travel when hearing it, as good as it was when I was a kid hearing it on 78 long play record.

The lyrics are deep and inspiring, telling the story of a guy that travels in time, only to wish to go back to his days of youth, when life was simpler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2004
This album ranks third, after Out of the Blue and Eldorado, on my best-of ELO list. This remains the only album that I bought on the day it was released. I was at the store the day before, and I saw them sitting there, but they would not sell it to me. I wasn't sure what to expect, since the last album Disco-very had its moments but was quite sub-par. Xanadu was half an album with half an effort. A couple of the songs must have been Discovery rejects. So I displayed remarkable confidence in ELO by buying the new album without hearing a song. Incidentally, Time was the album on which Lynne remarked, "I finally got that violin out of my arse." (ha-ha)

Upon first listen, the opening three-track medley Prologue-Twilight-Yours Truly, 2095 blew me away. It sounded sooo cool and still does. I was suprised to hear the sound from the pinball machine Black Knight in the transition between track two and three. They did not give it a credit on the liner notes.

Ticket to the Moon is another brilliant Lynne song, and I bought the "death star" themed picture disc 12" single because it looked great. Many of the later songs on the disc really have a good groove, like From the End of the World (the lone disco-y number -- it holds up very well) and the classic Here Is The News (this one ranks up there with Twilight and some of the all-time best future rock songs popular back then, like the Fixx's Stand or Fall and Deeper & Deeper, Zebra's Who's Behind the Door, Red Rider's Lunatic Fringe, Aldo Nova's Fantasy, and Golden Earring's Twilight Zone).

What I feel is the album's worst track, Hold on Tight, was released as the first single, and it was one of the band's biggest singles ever. Lynne chose the order of tracks, but the record company choose the singles. Sometimes the worst songs get put out there and hit big. It was probably the final of their record-setting streak of Top 40 singles without a #1. Lynne likes to write one rockabilly track on most albums, and Hold on Tight was it for this album. I don't feel it fit in well with the other tracks, and that is probably the reason Lynne placed it at the end, just before the bookend Epilogue (a 21st Century Man reprise). Hold on Tight didn't win any bonus points in my book when it was used for the coffee commercial either.

From top to bottom it's the last completely great ELO album. Discovery had 3-4 good tracks. One-half or more of Secret Messages is excellent. I have yet to buy the remastered Time, but with the very positive reviews for Lynne's remastering on the three disc compilation Flashback, which was released the year before, I will have to pick up the remastered and expanded Time. BUY TIME.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2017
I Love It.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2009
'Time' is a concept album that tells a story. In that regard, it is like 'Eldorado'. The sound is futuristic is some respects, but it is designed to sound that way based on the story it is telling. It is synthesized, which bothers some ELO fans, but the songs are very good. Twilight being the big opener after the Prologue, is a great song. The song of the album without question. The rest of the album is innovative and interesting. Musically it is interesting as well. Catchy tunes and Jeff Lynne's fabulous voice. Give this album a chance. If you like ELO, you shouldn't be disappointed. Don't dissect it ... enjoy it. That is what it was made for. And all this tripe about this being one of their last 3 albums that was done quickly to satisfy contractual obligations I say. poppycock. Lynne composed the entire 2 record OUT OF THE BLUE album in 2 weeks. Like I said, don't dissect; enjoy ... it is a very good album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse