Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 845 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,083 reviews
on July 23, 2014
Finally another one of George Pal's masterpiece fantasy films gets the Blu-Ray treatment. The film is a classic bit of late fifties science fiction, the kind that Pal excelled in for most of his entire career. I remember seeing this in the movie theater when I was just five years old. It made quite an impression on me then, especially the scene of the sped up decomposition of the Morlock. It scared me so bad I had the hiccups all night! The Blu-ray transfer is impeccable. Great resolution, rich colors and perfect contrast. If there is one slight draw back with HD it is found in older films that relied on blue screen and old fashioned in camera composite techniques. Unfortunately all the flaws that film grain and 35mm film to screen size enlargement blurred out are all too clear at home in 2014. But, so what? It's a great film, a great Blu-Ray and well worth the price of admission. Now, let's get to work on Pal's all time masterpiece, the Cinerama version of The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm. It is way overdue!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
Einstein's space-time continuum depicted in this H G Wells movie adapted quite well from his original book. This, and the original "War of the Worlds" with Gene Barry stand out as two of the best book to movie adaptations I have seen. This story line depicts man's mastery over time. He can now manipulate it in much the same way we can use our cars to drive from one location to another. The Time Machine allows Rod Taylor to go backward or forward in time from past to future and as he does so, learns there are many disadvantages as well as advantages in being able to manipulate time, ie; the loss of family and friends. It is a well thought-out and intelligent journey through time that is both enjoyable and believable. From a very well written book to a well written screenplay resulting in a fine movie that is worth re-watching from "time to time".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2015
This is a wonderful old film. The opening scenes, in Victorian times, and subsequent ones in the "future" before a terrible calamity hits the planet, are my favourites. When things move into the distant future, I'm not quiet as interested, but I've seen this film many times, and am sure that the first time Is aw it I found it all enthralling. The Fx are, of course, dated. But considering this was made before anyone every heard of CGI, they're pretty impressive. Overall, the movie is fun - a well done adaptation of HG Wells work. I actually gave this copy as a gift to a friend. Highly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2015
This single disc HG Wells time travelling classic from 1960 on Blu-Ray, arrived on time and intact, with no damage to either the disc or the movie booklet, or the case, which the disc and movie guide booklet came in. Picture, sound and features playback is superb. Still as fresh and still as good as it was first seen in the cinema 55 years ago and the special effects of 1960 are still mind blowing to watch. Strong characters and a great storyline, I would recommend this particular Blu-Ray movie, to anyone who purchases it online from amazon.com.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
One question which has got me puzzled is, what do the Morlocks actually manufacture with those machines? Don't know if the book has the answer but the movie
certainly doesn't. Sunglasses would be very practical for the Morlocks' use although the machines don't seem to be the right shape for that.

Those who love this classic as I do will probably want to take the plunge and get blu-ray. Be advised, however that the blu-ray picture for
Time Machine is, at least on a 39 inch TV, not substantially better. Colors have better depth but picture is only a little more detailed. A main strength for the blu-ray is sound. The music really has presence, and fans of Russell Garcia's wonderful score will want blu-ray for the excellent music reproduction.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
In many ways, the movie is even better than the classic work by H.G. Wells, which is a masterpiece. The ending is better, there's romance, and a spirit of optimism changes what many have called Wells' most pessimistic work.

From the cozy drawing room of Victorian England to a future almost a million years from now, we're vaulted into nonstop adventure.

H.G. Wells was the first to write a story about the fourth dimension, a term which in 1895, the year he wrote the book, was only seen in scientific journals. It electrified the world and is still electrifying.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2016
I may be a bit biased as I remember watching this on Family Classics as a kid but I think this is a great family movie. If you are into politics - there are also a couple of hidden messages. For example, the movie was made in 1960 and the time traveler went to 1966 and a nuclear war had started destroying all of Europe. Then he went way into the future to find the false promise if nirvana, the Eloit people living in apparent paradise. They were like children with no responsibilities and sat idle as they watched a beautiful girl drowning in the river. Unlike the nuclear holocaust, this prediction might be true as we see more of the world slip into the false promise of socialism. We come to find out the the Eloit pay the ultimate price for their apparent nirvana as they are really enslaved by the Morlocks (IE - the providing government).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2014
Producer George Pal made a series of science fiction films in the 1950s using the best special effects of the time, all in color, and nearly all well-received. Two of those works were "War of the Worlds" and "The Time Machine." With the release of "Time Machine" on Blu-Ray, it is probably only a matter of time before "War of the Worlds" will be released in this format. "Time Machine" is more faithful to H. G. Wells' book, but "War" was a better movie. That said, "Time Machine" is an impressive work, from its casting of Rod Taylor and Yvette Mimieux as the leads to its sets which evoke a sense of pre-World War I England to the far future. When I first saw this film, I had not read the book. The subtleties of the Morlock-Eloi relationship escaped me, as they are downplayed in the film. Well's social commentary, the backbone of the book, can't really be depicted on screen. Still, this is a great film, and shows that it was possible to get beyond the standard science-fiction fare of giant insects and odd visitors from space even in the 1950s.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
Old 1960's Sci Fi with a fascinating premise of a machine that allow its passenger to travel through a fourth dimension of time and space. When you watch this movie you have to remember it was made 55 years ago and considering the lack of technology like the one we have today they did a pretty good job. The movie is family friendly. It has a love story, two separate factions of humans (one above ground and one below ground), and a world where everything is supposedly like a garden of Eden. Or is it? We had a fun time watching it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2015
A true classic, i really like the way they used their imaginations in this film, trying to envision what humanity would look like thousands of years in the future. Even though it was made in the mid 60's, it still has great effects. Very well done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse