Lyft Industrial Deals Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only $29.99 for a limited time Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno



on June 5, 2014
I have to admit that the only reason why I bought this DVD was the fact that Jock Mahoney plays a part in it. I had to watch the movie three times before I figured out which part Mahoney was playing. It's a very short scene during the war.

Being a big fan of Douglas Sirk's glossy melodramas I expected more. This film cannot live up to his other classics like "All that Heaven allows", "Sleep, My Love" or "Magnificent Obsession" (Rock Hudson & Jane Wyman version).
Lilo Pulver and John Gavin play their parts well, but both had better parts in other movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 6, 2013
This is a great movie about how war affects the people who have to fight it and those who have to live with it. Too bad the Masters of Cinema edition is only available in PAL format. There are ways to get around that- the easiest way is to watch it on your computer and it is worthwhile to do so. Be careful, do not get the Korean import.

It is a sad movie- but then, war is a sad business. It seems our country is always at war so we have suffering and broken families as depicted in this movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 21, 2010
This is an amazing DVD - an American-made film about World War II (based on a novel by Erich Maria Remarque) in which all the characters are German and Americans are never mentioned - and the DVD is Korean-produced. But what a moving film it is: a Wehrmacht soldier on the Russian front, disgusted by the brutality of war, returns on furlough to his home-town in Germany to find it practically destroyed. He locates the pile of rubble that used to be his parents' home, but cannot locate his parents. As he searches for them, he finds a young woman whose outspoken father is now languishing in a prison camp and who, herself, has been pushed into one small room of the family home to make way for others who have been bombed out of theirs. One of her housemates is an officious harridan who makes it her business to spy on, and report, any perceived criticism against the Nazi regime. Naturally, even as bombs rain down upon the soldier and the girl, they fall in love. But it is a bittersweet affair, because dangling above their heads like the sword of Damocles is the end of his furlough. And probable death on the Russian front.

Remarque, whose books were banned by the Nazis, must certainly have watched the war from the safety of his home in the United States with immense disquietude. His sympathy for what his former countrymen were enduring comes across movingly in `A Time to Love and a Time to Die,' as does his revulsion of small-minded people who have been handed great power, like the harridan in the girl's home: Remarque's sister was beheaded during the war after an accusation was made that she caused low morale for having voiced the opinion that Germany could not win the war.

John Gavin plays the soldier and Keenan Wynn has a bit role, but all the other actors were unknown to me; Remarque has a small part, as well. The film, made in 1958, has the inevitable whiff of the fifties, but that did not stand in the way of my enjoyment of it. And while all the writing on the back of the box is in Korean, the actors speak English and the Korean subtitles can be removed.

In the crowded annals of World War II films, `A Time to Love and a Time to Die' occupies a niche all of its own, and one no less interesting, exciting, or moving than the others. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 12, 2013
A Time to Love and A Time to die is a classic film, and an usual one, since it tells a story about the horrors suffered by the average German people in World War II. I have many World War II films, but none are like this. If you're looking for a combat film you will be disappointed. To me, this is romance in the truest since with a powerful message about the insanity of war and how it affects the general public no matter what nationalities are involved. As General MacArthur said at the end of the war when accepting the surrender of the Japanese on the battleship Missouri, "War is man's greatest sin." A Time to Love and a Time to Die is a small snippet of that great apocalypse that fell on the world from 1939 to 1945. This is a great movie that gives us something to reflect upon these many years after the end of the war.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2010
Several yrs ago I read "A Time to Love and A Time to Die" by Eric Maria Remarque. It is one of my favorite novels. When I found out that there was a movie of it, I really wanted to see it.

The film was made in the late 1950's, so it had that atmosphere about it, but I felt it did justice to the book. It is a romantic tale about two lonely souls who meet up in a war-scarred city in Germany as WW2 draws to a close. One is a German soldier who is war-weary, and the other is a non-Jewish woman whose father was taken to a concentration camp for speaking out against the war. Their love affair takes place amidst the ruins of the city they live in. The film does not have the classic "Happy ending" of 1950's American movies, but that is good,since it is true to the book, and adds to the poignancy of the story. I highly recommend both the film and the book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2013
An interesting film by Douglas Sirk based on a lesser known novel by Erich Maria Remarque (who cameos in the movie), A Time to Love and a Time to Die tells its story entirely from the perspective of Berliners late in WW II. The film is a love story set against a dying city--and political movement. It is touching, srdonic rather than preachy, and in points shocking--but not for the sake of sensationalism. As a film it takes me back to pre-gimmicky pictures that emphasize story over effects. Ther oddest thing about it is the use of Technicolor. At first take I think it inappropriate to present such a story in such a brilliant light. But I am not sure but Technicolor is a good representation of the grotesquery of late war Berlin and the Nazi realm.

Note: the version I purchased comes from Korea but I found it to be of sufficient quality as to be just fine. Be sure to set No Titles or the film will start with Korean subtitles!

Kirby
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2012
Like "All Quiet on the Western Front" this old movie shows the average German soldier was not much different than the people on the other side. Although you will come to like the Man and his wife you know from the start that the Romance will not have a happy ending.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2014
I had never heard of this movie until one night I stumbled upon it on late night cable. This is an incredible war movie which tells the story of a young German soldier (John Gavin) who must deal with the horrors of war while the Russians are knocking at the front door of the Third Reich. The German soldier willingly participates in the brutalities committed against his enemy while fighting an internal battle that all he has been taught is morally wrong. He sees his home town and own family destroyed by war and begins to question its worth. I wont go into how it ends but it is pretty climatic. This movie was made before my time but If you ever saw Gavin in his small part in Psycho, then you know just how good an actor he was. If you are a fan of war movies which make you think, take on the topics nobody wants to discuss, and the dark realities of war, then go get this movie!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2017
a great oldie/ war movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 30, 2014
love and war great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse