Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now FFII_gno

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$6.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 83 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 178 reviews
on February 13, 2016
If you loved H. G. Wells The Time Machine and loved the 1960's movie The Time Machine, you'll enjoy this book at least, or love this book as I did. It continues that story line... does he get back to Weena; does he encounter the Moorlocks again? Read the book... you'll have a great ride thru time finding out!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
Very much enjoyed this work by Stephen Baxter. I found it to be an excellent sequel to the Time Machine and he did a good job in capturing Wells' hero. The spin on the Multiverse and quantum mechanics was woven skillfully into the story although the ending felt a bit "to open".....another sequel perhaps?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2016
The way Stephen Baxter writes makes time travel logical and deeply compelling. It is the book that completes time machine as Wells expected to be written at one point in time, but better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2016
Baxter's The Time Ships starts in 1891 in the Age of Steam. It takes you on a series of time trips more unbelievable than the last, with numerous intriguing stories that leave you wanting even more time trips/stories!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 1997
An absolutely great read. From some of the lower-rated reviews listed here, I was expecting to be disappointed, but to my surpise I was treated to a ripping yarn as well as an intellectual exhibition revolving around the Time Traveller of HG Wells' "The Time Machine." A direct sequel to that great novel, the Time Traveller is certainly represented as a man of his times (19th century and all points future and past)--sometimes brutish yet often compassionate, free-thinking yet capable of prejudice, a scientific genius yet a man of action.

The book is a fantastic journey up and down and down and up the time-line, filled with marvelous touches on the grand and minute levels. I enjoyed the descriptions of the effects of time travel, and thrilled to the cosmic finale that quite honestly lost me save for the fact that man's individuality can survive the re-writing of the birth of the universe.

For anyone who enjoys time-travel novels, this one (long but fast moving) will satisfy on many levels. This is why I read science fiction--to be entertained, awed, educated, and moved.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2015
This book was so good that I've read nearly every Stephen Baxter book written....and in hard cover, signed. Yes it was that good. It truly picked up where H.G. Wells left off. That must've been unbelievably difficult. I understand that the Wells estate sanctioned Baxter to write this book. He did not let them down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2017
Love this book! You don't have to have read Orson Wells Time Machine to pick it up either. Baxter takes you on a far out, science packed, unimaginable journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed the book. It's a very entertaining sci fi story, mostly I would classify it as an 'action' piece. Characters are sufficiently well developed so that they aren't boring. Plot is strong, intricate and surprising. A lot of interesting things happen, a lot of cool scenery and imagery. Well worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
It's okay for what it is, but there aren't any real people in the book. When characters supposedly go back 35,000 years (or however far back they went), I lose interest. Probably just not genre. If you want real people and a plausible storyline, go to TimeScape by Benford. It's head and shoulders above The TimeShips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I truly felt like the continuation of the original story. I was impressed that that author used vernacular from the original book to give it continuity. I also enjoyed his deeper examination of the original story in the vein of "what would happen if..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.83
$7.32
$7.46

Need customer service? Click here