Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Time to Sleep (An Owlet Book)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 8, 1999
This is a wonderful book to use when explaining the concept of hibernation and change of season. There is a terrific flow from page to page with a "surprise" ending that my students loved. It is a wonderful spring-board for class discussions and "acting - out" activities!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2002
My 3 year old loves this book for the beautiful illustrations of the animals and the forest during Autumn. However, one night after we read it a bedtime, she looked over at me and said that she liked "how all of the animals took care of each other." If she can get this simple, yet crucially important lesson from a children's book, I would say that the author has gone above and beyond her intentions.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2001
This book is another stunning sucess for Fleming. Beautiful illustrations, which employ autumn-ish color schemes, make for a visual treat, while the story conveys a wonderful message of social responsibility. Highly recommended for bedtime as well as discussions about hibernation (all the information about each animal's hibernation behavior is accurate, and obviously researched).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2011
This book is a sweet story about how all the animals dont' want to start hibernating until they tell their other animal friends. The illustrations are nice and not the exact illustrations we are use to. I was also pleased my 6 year old son was able to extrapulate which animals hibernate. At the end he said, "I didn't know skunks hibernated like bears."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2008
Caldecott Honoree Denise Fleming is back with a great introduction to the concept of hibernation. Bear sees that it's time to go to sleep for the winter, and the message is passed from snails to skunks in the forest so that all are prepared for the impending season and model the idea of looking out for others. Ms. Fleming's unusual illustrations process, combining complimentary colors, stencils and cotton pulp, provide unforgettable results. Alliteration abounds, encouraging phonological awareness in the early reader. While "Sleepy Bear" by Lydia Dabcovich also explores hibernation, "Time to Sleep" remains a superior choice, due to the tremendous world Fleming builds through patterned language and evocative vocabulary, where woodchucks sigh and turtles ramble
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2008
Time to Sleep by Denise Fleming is a great book for home or for the classroom. It could be an outstanding book to use for a bed time story because each of the animals in the story must find their friend to tell them it is time to sleep for winter. Also this short book could be an excellent book to use in a science classroom to discuss the concept of hibernation and that is why all the animals are going to sleep. The illustrations throughout the book are amazing as well. I would recommend this book for students preschool to second or third grade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2010
Denise Fleming's books are all lovely, and this one is especially sweet. Bear sniffs winter in the air, and one by one all the animals get the news and start to prepare for winter. I teach young children and I like to have them join in on the repeated phrase, "Winter is on its way," either chanting or singing (I use the tune from "Ding ding ding ding ding!" in "Hurry Hurry Drive the Fire Truck"). The surprise ending is cute and children love it. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2009
My favorite part of all of Denise Fleming's children's books are her very unique illustrations. She uses a very different technique where she basically makes her own paper, that creates very interesting pictures. The story itself gives a very good introduction on the topic of hybernation in a fun way for children. It is simple, yet you stayed interested in the story. You meet a lot of interesting animals throughout the story, and the story even has a fun twist at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2010
Most of the animals in this book relate to the USA I wanted a simple explanation for my grandson about hibernation. Considering I spent more on postage than the actual book I was disappointed in the content because there is not much of a story. It was an expensive way to get the message across .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2010
My preschool class loved this book. It was a great way to show them how many different animals hibernate besides bears without having to go into too much detail. The pictures were beautiful. We were asked to read this book over and over and over again all week long!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse