Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 508 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 541 reviews
on August 17, 2015
This movie is sort of a pre-quel to the wonderful O. Henry story, "The Gift of the Magi," purporting to tell how the two main characters met. I love Marie Osmond as singer, and Timothy Bottoms was pretty good as an actor, but this story line and dialogue were ridiculous. The hackneyed "romance novel" premise -- i.e. boy meets girl/girl hates boy, boy charms girl/girl hates boy, followed by the inevitable "come-to-realize" moment when girl likes boy/boy tests girl -- is so trite and unimaginative, it's embarrassing to watch. I would not recommend this movie for anyone over the age of 11.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
The Gift of Love with James Woods & Marie Osmond (1980's) - This story is based on the famous O'Henry story, the Gift of the Magi. It's an entertaining, light hearted, family movie that passes and evening and it is free on Amazon Prime. It does teach the gift of other-centeredness, often lost in today's world, so that is refreshing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2016
Five stars for this schlock? O.Henry must be rolling in his grave to have his name associated with this film, which, with the exception of the last couple of minutes, bears no resemblance at all to his well-loved tale, "The Gift of the Magi." This movie is so bad, it makes Disney's "Condorman" look like high art. Other than some ornate costumes and Marie Osmond's teeth, there's not much to see here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
Very absorbing narrative and performances. Glad James Woods figured out that he and Marie Osmond would be the worst train wreck. Before I retired from teaching, I showed this video every Christmas to minority students in the ghetto and privileged students in the suburbs - tough crowds who usually don't like anything but action movies with explosions. But ALL these high school students liked the film. One male student who was way too cool and gangsta for everything even asked who Marie Osmond was, said she was pretty, and speculated that she was probably French!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
What a beautiful picture of what real love is. It is thinking of the other person before yourself. It is simply honest. It is happily committed to another's well-being, and its source is from non other than God, himself. What a wonderfully told story. Delightful. And, to tie this beautiful love story into the season that celebrates the greatest love story of all -- Christmas, with God sending his son, Jesus, into the world to save us from the sin that separates us from him ---- all because God loves us so much . . . this, makes this movie's message all the more powerful. Thank you to the creators of this film, for putting together such a touching masterpiece. Very well done, and thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2015
A well-known story is told in a unique and interesting way. The characters are portrayed well and fun. It's not groundbreaking in any way, but very sweet and it could easily become one of the movies you watch every year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Sorry, I thought it must have been poorly written or directed. I love Timothy Bottoms, I think he and, of course, James Woods ( goes without saying) are very good actors, so it makes me believe it was poor direction. Timothy Bottoms was wonderful in the Last Picture Show which was directed by Peter Bogdanovich. Either way, it was an awful attempt at representing the Gift of the Magi, which is a wonderful story. This was disappointing in all aspects. I won't even comment on Marie Osborn. But then, as they say, that's just my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
Terrible movie! Very contrived and poor acting, costumes were awful, and even the dance scenes were ridiculous. (They were bouncing up and down, never seen that before). The story line was boringly formula and the characters were shallow. My sister and I and niece watched almost half way through, trying to give it a chance and hoping it would redeem itself somewhere. We were actually suffering, it was that intolerable. Seriously. I was actually amazed at how bad it was on every single point. It could have won an award just for that! Even when the lead actress had her hair come undone (twice, no joke) from her "potential" romantic interest, it was dry and bushy instead of the scene being romantically enhanced by her "cascading locks" spilling down or whatever! They couldn't even get that bit right. Unbelievable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2015
this film is a blast from the past with its moral values and careful attention to detail and appropriateness. Old School and a great "chick flick" that is tremendously outdated by today's film standards but a good representation of the story line behind O'Henry's (narrating the story) "Gift of the Magi". Marie Osmond and James Woods do a delightful job of personalizing the humanism in this story and need for us to "follow our call".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2016
I'm sure the story is good in this movie, but I couldn't get past the beginning. The movie is quite old in quality and the acting/speaking style dates back long ago. This movie is not for me, but it could be something to watch for those who like "vintage" quality movies and acting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$2.99

Need customer service? Click here