Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tingley Mens 1400 Pull-on Work Overboot
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 14, 2012
I purchased this Tingley Mens 1400 Pull-on Boot for the sole purpose of protecting my shoes and lower pant leg.
If you're familiar with wearing standard height (ankle-high) shoes in the winter time across parking lots and salted sidewalks, you'll know how salt will damage your shoe and stain your pant leg, not to mention how your shoes and pant leg get soaked if you have to walk through an unexpected snowfall without tall boots. I didn't want to lug around a second pair of tall boots for those "in case it snows" days and these pull-on boot covers seemed like the next best thing.

SIZING:
======
Summary: They run small, I had to get 2 sizes up to make this product usable.
I wear shoes ranging in size 11-1/2" to 12" with medium/medium-wide widths depending on make/style.
I originally purchased an XXL (12.5-14") figuring that it would give me a little room and make it easier to slip on/off.
WRONG, I could not slip it on all but one of my shoes, and even that was an acrobatic feet.
I returned it and bought an XXL (14-15.5") and it fits, with just a slight amount of wiggle.
If your wear your shoes loose, it's likely that your foot would slip out of your shoe instead of the shoe slipping out of the boot, since the shoe cover does not come off too easily (as long as it's sized right).

The following are exterior dimensions I obtained from Tingley's which helped me pick out the right size:
Length*: 11.35 (S), 12.18 (M), 12.74 (L), 13.13 (XL), 13.69 (2XL), 14.24 (3XL)
Width: 4.28 (S), 4.68 (M), 4.70 (L), 4.75 (XL), 4.88 (2XL), 4.95
* The length includes the kick-off heel that extends 1/2" out the back.

REVIEW:
======
The boot cover is molded from a nice high-quality black rubber and is non-glossy.
The sole has a nice boot-like tread that has good traction on asphalt, concrete and vinyl floors.

The fold-over snap closure (when unsnapped) offers a generous opening that makes it easier to slip in/out.
The snap closure is really more a rubber button and hole, not a true "snap" closure.
If your snap closure hole isn't all the way through, just cut a "+" slit so that the button will fit easily.

Since it's made of a nice flexible rubber, they fold down nicely, I just put it in a plastic bag and slip it in my backpack so it's there when I need it, beats having to lug around bulky tall boots.

I can't speak for durability but the flexible, stretchy rubber looks like it will last a while. I would avoid storing it in direct sunlight or places that have large temperature swings since it is rubber after all and you don't want it to dry-rot.

I've already accidentally stepped in to a frozen puddle, saved my shoes, socks and pants a royal splash.
I think I'll probably pack them even on rainy days, so I can stay dry through puddles.

I'm giving this product 5 stars despite the sizing error because it is a good product.
Amazon needs to update the sizing so that people are not misled in to buying too small a size and go through the hassle of returning it.

Edit (4/13/2013): A tip to help slipping them on/off. Put a plastic bag over your shoes before you slip these boots on. They slide on easy and you also won't transfer dirt from the soles of your shoes to the inside of these boots :)
66 comments| 258 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2011
This product is simple, But, they outperform anything else on the market. You may wear your best shoes in inclement weather and simply remove these coverings, roll them up, and place them in a bag. So long as you order them large enough, they will be easy to place on and off your feet and not damage your shoes. They're also great for rainstorms. They're high enough to be useful in a few inches of snow or in a rainstorm.
This product is durable too. This pair replaces a former pair of similar boots that lasted for almost a decade.
This was my first attempt at video on the Canon S95 that I purchased. The review certainly is not perfect, but it was my first try!
44 comments| 226 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2010
These boots are really nice! They are a little bit hard to put on and take off but a little bit of talcum powder took care of that. If you live in the snow country like me, these are perfect. Those "water proof" shoes and/or boots are NEVER water proof. These boots are water proof and your feet won't be wet when you're done plowing or shoveling the snow. I'm sure they would be nice in any wet areas as long as the water isn't higher than the boots. **MAKE SURE** you measure the length of the bottom of your shoes. Use that measurement (in inches) for the boot size. My first pair were too small and I had to exchange them for a larger pair.
22 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2012
If you are considering buying these overboots I would suggest trying them on at a store first. I wear size 11 shoe and purchased the size XL for(11-12.5) shoe and ther is no way they will fit over them,and they are a sneaker! I found the boot localy and tried the XXL size and barely got them over my shoes because the tight ankle area,and when I did finally pull them on and walked in them they were very sloppy in the toe area--enough to make you trip on the extra rubber at the toe!
99 comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2010
I have been using Tingley 10" work boots for many years in my pressure washing business. They are durable, light weight and easy to get on and off when new (after they get older a quick shot of silicone spray does wonders). Overall I have been very satisfied with the boots and would recommend them.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
I was looking for waterproof boots for a hiking trip. I wear a size 8.5 AAA women's shoe so it's very hard to find hiking shoes that fit comfortably and are very light weight. Since these boots stretch on over my own running shoes, I thought there was a chance they wouldn't be too wide. I was right. They fit perfectly. I ordered size Small based on the sizing information from another review that listed the length and width of sizes in inches. When they arrived, I slipped them over my shoes for a perfect fit. No wiggle room, which is what I was hoping for. The rubber is very pliable and stretchy and they are extremely light weight so I will be able to throw them in my backpack when not needed. I can wear my summer running shoes, which have breathable fabric and are very flexible, until I need protection from crossing steams. These boots appear to be very well-made and no seams to split open. I'm anxious to try them on my upcoming trip.
review image
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2012
I wear a size 10 wide tennis shoe, i ordered the large size boot, says fits 9.5 to 11 shoe , they are very hard for me to get on, and they are very tight, I bought these last year and they are still in great shape, and light weight, but I should have ordered the XL, would have made it much easier to get on and off, If you are going to wear these boots over tennis shoes, get the next size bigger FOR SURE and if you have a wide foot, you may want to jump up two sizes"" UPDATE I WEAR SIZE 10 WIDE 4E NEW BALANCE TENNIS SHOW, I ORDERED THE XXL AND THEY ARE HARD TO GET ON FOR ME HAVE BACK PROBLEMS AND BENDING TO TUG:: ON IS HARD IM GOING TO ORDRE ANOTHER PAIR OF XXXL
22 comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2011
Thick rubber harder to stretch but more durable than cheaper ones, good for intensive or more rugged use. For size 13 sneakers requires next bigger size 3XL. The 2XL might fit over size 12. The sizes are based on thin soled leather soled shoes. For thicker rubber soled shoes use larger sizes. These worked on a 13 dress shoe with rubber sole, but not a walking shoe, both Ecco. When fits the shoe snugly will be too hard to pull on and off. It's the back edge on the heel which requires a larger dimension going on than after on. The only way is to have it loose on the shoe. The tab molded on the back of the heel bottom helps with removal.
Side-zipper styles will be easier to get on and off, but may not seal against water immersion as well.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2016
I haven't worn these yet, but I'm so excited that I ordered them after reading the reviews on Amazon. I used the size chart on the Tingley website to make sure I got the right size. I bought them to wear over my ankle height hiking boots for trips through the muddy woods. I don't want to ruin my nice boots. I used the technique described by the reviewers who suggested that you put your boots or shoes in a plastic grocery bag before trying to fit them in the rubber overshoes. First I tried it without the grocery bag, and I couldn't get the boots inside the overshoes. Then I tried it with the grocery bag and it worked like a charm! I'm so excited. Can't wait to try them in the muddy woods and rain. In the photo you can see my hiking boot on the right and on the left is me wearing the hiking boot inside of the rubber overshoe. So you can clearly see how these large boots fit inside the overshoe with no problem (once I used the plastic bag method of putting them on).
review image
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2012
Item is of excellent quality, but the "overshoe" apparently sized to go over shoes from 12.5 to 14US, fit over my size 12 shoe with extreme effort.
Since I originally wrote this review, I put the Overshoes on a covered porch for the winter, as I couldn't wear them. When I retrieved them a week or so ago thinking I would try again, they pretty much fell apart. So I will have to correct my assessment of the quality of the product to POOR.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 66 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here