Buying Options

Digital List Price: $14.95
Kindle Price: $12.34

Save $3.61 (23%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Tobacconist by [Robert Seethaler, Charlotte Collins]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Tobacconist Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 151 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.34

Length: 224 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Robert Seethaler and The Tobacconist:

300,000-COPY GERMAN BESTSELLER

“Seethaler blends tragedy and whimsy to create a bittersweet picture of youthful ideals getting clobbered by external forces.” ― Guardian

“Robert Seethaler’s The Tobacconist is a coming-of-age story, that’s sweet, balanced between pathos and humour.” ― Toronto Star

“Set at a time of lengthening shadows, this is a novel about the sparks that illuminate the dark: of wisdom, compassion, defiance, and courage. It is wry, piercing and also, fittingly, radiant.” ― Daily Mail

“Seethaler writes with great lightness of how reading widely and accumulating wisdom make life richer, but also more complicated.” ― Der Spiegel

“His unbelievable ease of writing is so pleasant.” ― Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

“One of the best books of the year 2012.” ― Christine Westermann, WDR2

“Tender, quiet, gentle, poetic ― a little treasure.” ― Elke Heidenreich, SWR

“Seethaler has achieved something uncanny with this novel. He writes with unvarnished simplicity from the heart of a great calamity ― but he does it with a lightness we’ve not seen since Jurek Becker’s brilliant debut novel Jacob the Liar.” ― NZZ am Sonntag

“With this novel Robert Seethaler has created a wonderful tale of adolescence, told with great lightness and humour ― but the dark rumblings of the hard times just starting in Vienna are always present in the background.” ― kulturtipp

“For me, Seethaler is a great storyteller in the tradition of Polgar and Joseph Roth.” ― Gerhard Polt

“Superbly written and narrated by Robert Seethaler, for me this is one of the most beautiful books of 2012.” ― WDR5

“I haven’t read a more beautiful book in years.” ― SWR2 Book of the Week

“A book about friendship in difficult times and retaining one’s humanity even when scum are in power. A great novel.” ― WDR4

“With The Tobacconist , Robert Seethaler has succeeded in writing a wholly coherent, condensed coming-of-age novel. Not a word is wasted.” ― Die Presse

“Robert Seethaler is a great storyteller who loves his characters, and he has a wonderful sense of the dramatic which never gets out of hand.” ― 20 Minuten

“Robert Seethaler writes about all this in a way that is understated yet captivating and very poetically powerful, stylistically confident.” ― Junge Welt

The Tobacconist is a stirring, affecting, extremely multi-faceted book. It’s a coming-of-age novel, a love story, a portrait of society, and although it’s a work of fiction it reads like an important contemporary document of the darkest period in Austria’s history. All this is conveyed by Robert Seethaler with such literary lightness, precision and vivid imagery that, like the protagonist himself, the reader is inevitably swept up in the maelstrom of events.” ― ORF

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

ROBERT SEETHALER is an Austrian living in Berlin. He is the bestselling author of four novels, including The Tobacconist, which has sold more than 200,000 copies in Germany, and A Whole Life, which has sold more than 100,000 copies in Germany. He also works as an actor, most recently in Paolo Sorrentino’s Youth.

Charlotte Collins studied English at Cambridge University. She worked as an actor and radio journalist in both Germany and the UK before becoming a literary translator. She has also translated Robert Seethaler's A Whole Life, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize, and is co-translating The Eighth Life, an award-winning novel by Nino Haratischwili.

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • File Size : 1203 KB
  • Publication Date : October 8, 2016
  • Print Length : 224 pages
  • Publisher : Anansi International (October 8, 2016)
  • ASIN : B01EZ1MYVC
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Language: : English
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 151 ratings