Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Final Fantasy XIV Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
5 star
85%
4 star
15%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on December 17, 2016
La ley de Herodes is funny and sarcastic. A good movie.
Todo el poder is just another routine cheap gangster/police movie with no commonsense, The citizen hero and heroin were able to kidnap the evil man's wife under the very eyes of her guards, surveillanced the gangsters' warehouse..., .Just blows my mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2010
La Ley de Herodes ("Herod's Law") is one of the funniest, most biting political satires I've ever seen. I've bought 4 copies of it: one for myself, the rest as gifts. It's a side-splitting condemnation of the right-wing PRI (Institutional Revolutionary Party) regime that ruled Mexico for 70 years--until the end of the 20th century--by bribes, extortion, vote-stealing and, at times, harsh violence. Thought set in Mexico circa 1947, the "absolute power corrupts absolutely" message applies anywhere--certainly including the Washington empire for the past 30 years.

Todo el Poder is excellent, too, exposing the utter corruption of the Mexico DF police.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2012
NOTE that in order to see each movie, you have to FLIP the disc. Each movie is on each side of the disc... The movie La Ley de Herodes is a great satire of the political, economic, and moral reality of Mexico. The acting is great, the dialogues are appropriate and it is just a delight film to enjoy watching with friends regardless of their cultural background since it has subtitles in English. I highly recommend it to anyone seeking for a good movie to watch. The other movie is a very BAD film. Sad because it has a great actor in the lead role but poor direction, predictable events, cheesy acting, just an embarrassment of movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2012
Both movies are super... need to watch them to enjoy and know what I mean ! They are both very funny and surprising. Demián Bichir is one of the star actor in one of these movies and he is just great. I truly believe that he is one of Mexico's best actors. Almost all movies that I have watched and he has a role in are GREAT ! He is number one !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
This movies are amazing to el poder is one of the best movies if want to know how are the politicians in Mexico and is very close to the reality same with tla ley de herodes I watch this movies a couple time and I'm not despoilment I like them very much you have to have this movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
If you love good foreign flicks, this is one to add to your collection. La ley de Herodes is awesome, the acting is good, the story is very good. It is right on as far as politics and it has some awesome high desert scenes with beautiful cactus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
Another brilliant satire by Luis Estrada. illustrating how power corrupts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2016
very good !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2012
Deffinately recomend this movie to everyone. I ordered it for a class that I was taking and I had to write a report on it but it will linger in my favorite movie collection from now on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here