Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEM

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$8.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 3, 2013
I will not get into storyline details, to avoid any potential spoiler. The gameplay is extremely smooth, Fisher moves fluently around during the mission. The story itself is what you'd expect from the SC series. The only negative for me is the single player game length, which is rather short. I would've liked to have more campaign time, as I do not play online multiplayer games. This game was clearly design with online play more so then single player, which is the way games are heading these days. That's a shame.

I rated it 4 out of 5 stars due to its attempt to "force" you to a multiplayer "experience" (Mercs vs. Spies). I bought this when it was new, so I would've like more gameplay time for my $60.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
I am a huge Splinter Cell fanboy who stopped after Pandora Tomorrow. I loved Chaos Theory and Pandora Tomorrow. I was not too interested in Splinter Cell after those two games. It looked and felt as if the franchise became "Action based" without the sneaking around option. But I must admit that SPLINTER CELL is BACK! with BLACKLIST! I love this game and had an amazing time finishing the missions! You can play this game using three styles of gameplay "Panther", "Assault" or my favorite "Ghost". Using Ghost you can literally complete a level without EVER being seen by the enemy. Like a true ninja or ghost, incredibly challenging and satisfying! I recommend this game to anyone who is a true fan of the early franchise! Note* Using Panther or Assault style gameplay you can shoot and kill using an extensive arsenal of weapons (including black market weapons), if that is your style of playing. Guns blazing, dogs barking, not a f bout nothing hahah. But personally I get a huge satisfaction at the fact that I was there... but nobody knew I was there, because I was a Ghost! - Bottom line - Great game addition to the Splinter Cell Family! Absolutely recommend this game!
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
I didn't have an Xbox for Splinter Cell Conviction so I decided that I should buy this and wanted to see how the game change and improved. Yes the voice is disappointing but the game is actually pretty good and fun. Many stuff to do and new gadget's and etc. Great buy. Splinter Cell fan's you have to try this game out. ps. The story is kind of short so I suggest to try it on the most difficulty and because you just have to :)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
The reason for me to buy a PS3 was play "Splinter Cell" coop with my brother (split screen), I'm talking when "SP Conviction" came out. I know, "Conviction" was a Xbox exclusive, but I allways wait for that game for the PS3...

The game have a cool Menu, because you have to walk in the Paladin to do things in the game.

I like the story and the way you can play the single player and coop missions. You can choose between 3 classes: Ghost, Panther and Assault. And If you play like a truly Ghost you'll earn a lot of points and money for your weapons, suits, gadgets... because you're playing like the classics splinter cell games, where you don't need to use your weapons.

I like the actors in the game. Ok! Michael Ironside (the EPIC voice) is not in the game but Eric Johnson did a new, fresh and original job in the Sam Fisher's character.

The coop (or solo, but coop is better, online or split screen) is very mixed, you have Kobin missions where you have to eliminate all the enemies. Grim missions where you have to be a ghost and take the objetives. Briggs missions where you can be a ghost but is too hard, and be a panther or assault is much easy. And the Charlie missions, these are good to get many points and money.

"Spies vs Mercs" (the Multiplayer) I like it! at first time is difficult but when you learn how to play and buy better classes of spies and mercenaries, the game will turn much easy.

If you're new in the "Splinter Cell" series and you like James Bond or you like to play spies games, you have to buy this game.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2013
I fear that in the coming years, we as gamers aren't going to have the privilege of receiving such content-rich packages like Splinter Cell: Blacklist very often. In the modern era of digital distribution, with different game modes beginning to fragment and trend towards becoming commercially viable products on their own, something as rich as Splinter Cell Blacklist is quite a treat. Splinter Cell: Blacklist delivers a very meaty, replayable single player campaign, a wealth of deep cooperative content, and some of the best multiplayer content we've seen since...well, probably since Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory, thanks to the return of the glorious Spies vs. Mercs multiplayer mode. Blacklist is a labor of love, and a fine return to form for the Splinter Cell series. This is a game that will please both the older stealth fans of the series, as well as newer players who enjoyed the more action-orientated approach of the previous entry in the series, Splinter Cell: Conviction.

After an explosive introductory sequence that does a very nice job of teaching you how to play, you take control of Sam Fisher on his floating jet/fortress, the Paladin. The Paladin serves as a hub to the game's different playable modes, as well as serving as a upgradable headquarters where Sam can purchase and modify equipment, talk to his partners, and stay in contact with the outside world. Most players will likely want to start with the single player campaign, which makes up the heart of Blacklist. While the narrative of the campaign isn't as memorable as past Splinter Cell games, it more than makes up for it with not only some of the best level design the series has ever seen, but also a level of flexibility that the series has never seen before. Three play styles are available to experiment with and master: the silent, non-lethal Ghost, the quiet, deadly Panther, and the all-out carnage of Assault. Moving through a level while sticking to a particular playstyle will not only give you bonus mastery points for doing well in each one, but also encourages replaying the levels to try new styles. Don't want to stick to either of these three? Mix it up all you want! The game allows for this too. Sam Fisher is a much more capable hero in this game, easily able to shoot his way out of a tight situation and disappear into the shadows quickly. Similar to last year's stealth masterpiece, Dishonored, Splinter Cell: Blacklist gives you numerous options for not only playing the way you want to play, but also in how to proceed through each mission. Numerous hidden paths and multiple routes through each level allow each mission to be tackled in the way that best suits the gamer. Like other recent great stealth games such as Mark of the Ninja and the aforementioned Dishonored, Blacklist gives you freedom and flexibility, and in doing do, delivers arguably the best single player campaign the Splinter Cell series has ever seen.

Also available from the Paladin is a number of side missions in all new environments that are not tied to the single player campaign. These include missions where you must remain undetected in order to achieve certain goals, missions where you must eliminate everyone in an area and detection will cause for them to call for massive reinforcemnts, and combat missions where you fight off wave after wave of enemies (ala Gears of War Horde mode). Each of these types of missions caters to one of the specific play styles detailed previously, and will force players to move out of their comfort zone. Success in these missions yields various rewards, mostly in the form of persistent monetary funds that carry over across both missions and multiplayer modes. But the best thing about these optional side missions is that they can all be played cooperatively, whether in local split screen or online with a friend. Playing the missions cooperatively adds layers of depth, strategy, and complexity that give the missions a whole new feel. And to top everything off, there is even a set of missions that can ONLY be played with someone else. These missions are a highlight of Blacklist, and are icing on the cake that is one of the richest cooperative games to release in 2013.

Rounding out all this goodness is the multiplayer, which sees the return of the classic Spies vs. Mercs two-on-two multiplayer mode. Making its first appearance since 2005's Chaos Theory, this amazing mode is better than ever, with fantastic level designs and improvements to bring it into the modern era. The perfect way it balances the third-person agility and stealth of the Spies going against the slower, heavily armed, first-person perspective Mercs remains a marvel of competitive gaming, creating some of the most tense, thrilling multiplayer around. Whether you are a Spy that lurks in the shadows seeking the perfect opening to hack the information terminals, or the armed-to-the-teeth Merc who's sole job is to stop the Spy, communication, patience, and precision are essential for teams to succeed, making Spies vs Mercs a top-notch multiplayer mode. Blacklist also brings a new twist to Spies vs. Mercs forumla with a new 4 v 4 mode that allows for players to upgrade their weapons, armor, and gadgets and bring them into battle, as well as create custom loadouts for both the Spies and the Mercs. It's a faster-paced, brighter, and very enjoyable mode that can be quite intense, if not quite as much as the classic 2 v 2. Throw in a couple other standard modes (Deathmatch, Occupy a zone for x seconds, etc) that become fresh again due to your ability to play as either a spy or merc, as well as having mixed teams comprised of both classes. These are fun modes, but it's Spies vs Mercs that will keep you coming back for more and more of this excellent and extremely addictive multiplayer goodness.

Splinter Cell: Blacklist is the complete package. There is more than enough high quality content to keep you busy for a very long time. The lengthy single player campaign is better than ever, and begs to be replayed. The co-operative missions will allow you and a friend to feel like master spies and use seemingly endless strategies to accomplish your goals. And the multiplayer is among the best out there. This is arguably the best Splinter Cell title to date, and should be experienced by all gamers who like both stealth and action games. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
When the first Splinter Cell came out on the original Xbox, I instantly became a fan. It was one of the first (if not the first) game to use light and shadow as part of the gameplay, not just for visual effect. I was impressed with the enemy AI, the robust gameplay, the responsive controls, interactive environments, and impressive real-time shadows. At the time it was released, it was all very cutting edge. The sequel, Pandora Tomorrow, was a decent game, but did nothing to progress the series forward. Then came Chaos Theory, the (still) best game in the series, and one of the greatest games of last gen. Chaos Theory improved in every area, from the AI and graphics to the story and level design, and was a significant leap forward for the series.
Double Agent, the next game in the series, and the first SC game developed for next-gen, had some high standards to live up to. Unfortunately, it did not live up to expectations, and although it wasn't a bad game, it did nothing to move the series forward and did not feel like a next-gen game. Conviction, the 5th game in the series, was a drastic change for the series, but that change was not for the better. All of the stealth elements that I enjoyed were tossed out the window for a manic run-n-gun approach. As SC games go, this was the worst in the series. And that brings us to Blacklist.

Blacklist has been described as a cross between Chaos Theory and Conviction. The truth is it's a cross between Double Agent and Conviction. That is to say, it combines some of the action elements of Conviction, like automatic Execution kills, and cover-to-cover run, and the stealth elements the series is known for. Unlike Conviction, however, you don't have to use or rely on these gameplay mechanics. If you prefer to go in quiet and use stealth, you can take out enemies one by one, quietly, lethal or non-lethal. Or, if you're really good, you can sneak by enemies unnoticed, and never even touch them. Of course, you have to option to go in guns blazing, but you probably won't last long. I appreciated the freedom of choices I was given, and only during a few moments did I feel like the game forced me play a certain way.

The gameplay has almost everything you'd expect from a SC game, from climbing upside-down on pipes to peering under doors with fiber-optics, you really feel like a super spy. Unfortunately, the level design wasn't very impressive. Each level felt like the same thing over and over. Yes, there are multiple paths and approaches for each mission, but from level to level I never really felt challenged to change my thinking. I found the most effective approach for me was to hide in a doorway, make a noise to lure in the nearest enemy, then subdue him when he got close. This worked 99% of time, and the enemies wouldn't really care much that their friends were disappearing one by one. Even if an enemy comes across one of the bodies you left behind, they'll search around a 10 foot radius and if they don't find you in 60 seconds, they'll assume everything is fine and go back to not caring. Granted, I was playing on Normal difficulty, but I played previous SC games on normal as well, and I don't remember enemies being so careless. The AI felt like a step back from Chaos Theory.

The controls feel a bit stiff and unresponsive when compared to most modern games, and although it's been years since I played Chaos Theory, I remember the controls in that game being more intuitive and responsive than Blacklist. In previous SC games, how far you push the control stick had a direct effect on Sam Fisher's movement speed. Push the stick 35% of the way, Sam moves at 35% speed. Push it 89% of the way, Sam moves 89% speed. Not in Blacklist. Sam has two speeds: slow and fast. Push the stick anywhere between 1% and 50%, Sam moves 50% speed. Push the stick anywhere between 51% and 100%, Sam moves 100% speed. WHAT THE HECK!? Analog sticks have been around since the N64 days, I'd think we'd move past this two speed crap. The fact that previous SC games had 1:1 movement responsiveness makes Blacklist's controls unacceptable. Besides that there were moments where buttons would not respond, and moments where shooting over obstacles would not respond until I released the Aim button, which caused me to inexplicably miss shots and give away my position. None of this made the game unplayable. The game is playable. It just felt dated and awkward for a big budget game from a major publisher in the year 2013. I expect better.

The graphics in Blacklist are also disappointing. They're not terrible, but they're not as good as you could reasonably expect from a big budget game in 2013. Characters look plastic and shiny, shadows often look badly pixelated, and frame rate hiccups and screen tearing are frequent. Textures are a bit blurry and some of the poly-counts looks a little low. The animations during cut scenes are really, really good, but during gameplay they look stiff.

Sound design is the best aspect of Blacklist. The music is great, and fits with the tone and mood of the game. It reacts to your situation and heightens the tension, whether you're sneaking up on a group of terrorists or running for your life from a firefight, the music enhances each moment of your adventure and never sounds mismatched or out of place. The sound effects are also well done, and many of the classic sounds like the start-up buzz of your night vision goggles return from previous games. The voice acting is great as well, and each actor plays their character with complete believability. When the excellent voice acting combines with the excellent animations in the cut scenes, it really brings the characters to life and made them compelling to watch. The sound balance is perfect, too. I frequently notice weird audio balance in games and I have to go into the audio options to balance the music, sound effects and voice levels. Blacklist does not have separate levels for the audio, but does have settings for Headphones, Stereo, and 5.1 Surround. All three are perfectly balanced for whatever your home audio setup.

Blacklist's story is pretty good. It's basically an excuse to travel around the world fighting bad guys, but the plot makes just enough sense to not make it feel arbitrary. What really works in Blacklist is the dialog. The interaction between the characters is strong, and the technical jargon is plausible yet not confusing. Each character has a strong personality and a good reason for being in the story. Even the villains felt like human beings with motives instead of just being evil for the sake of being evil like so many videogame badguys tend to be.

The multiplayer component of Blacklist is strong, with the co-op being a highlight. They don't always utilize cooperation like the co-op missions in Chaos Theory did. You can pretty much play like two lone wolves and still get through the missions, but playing cooperatively will make some parts easier. Unfortunately, the graphics, animation, controls, and frame rate all have the same problems in multiplayer that are present in single player. The whole time I was playing I couldn't help feeling like it should and could have been better.

It's a shame that the good parts of Blacklist don't outweigh the mediocre parts. The gameplay, graphics, animation, and controls all fail to impress, and feel like a step backward. The sound and writing are great but can't save what is ultimately a forgettable game.
33 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
Giving This a 5 star because I enjoy games like Metal Gear Solid, Sniper Elite, Hitman and Batman. They all require you to use Stealth and be sneaky. The best part of this game is that it has a lot of re playability. You can either complete a mission and not kill anyone Ghost Style, complete a mission and kill everyone undetected Panther Style or just go loud, Run and Gun and let all the enemies know of your presence and use all types of weapons, Granades, Drones, Etc. Assault Style. Or just for fun Simply use a combination of all 3. Either way you have a choice

There is about 10 Single Player Mission each about 45-1 hour depending on difficulty and play style.

14 Coop Missions. you can either play alone, with a friend or online to find a teammate. This is where the game is extra fun. Having a partner to complete the mission you can work as a team and dual execute enemies or you can tackle one objective while your teammate handles the other objective. At First coop missions is not easy until you get the hang of it. So don't get frustrated. Once you beat the first 2 mission and learn the controls and know what to do you will feel that its a lot of fun.

This game doesn't seem as linear because you can play the missions again and find a different entry point and play using a different strategy. example you can either go to the roof and enter the building, climb and enter through the window., go to the basement or find a vent to go through.

Multiplayer - You can choose between first person or third person mode. Multiplayer is just like any other game.

I've only played Splinter Cell Conviction and the original and I would say BlackList is the best game so far.

Controls are Improved. and very smooth, easy and responsive. You can fluidly go from cover to cover with ease. Aiming is precise.

Lots of weapon and gear customization.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
I am a long time Splinter Cell fan, and in fact a fan of the entire stealth genre of games. So, when I first heard that there was a new one coming out, I was giddy with anticipation! As more and more info became available, including screenshots and game footage, my excitement began turning to a sense of dread. The game series I loved, was looking less and less like the game series I loved.

The game appeared to be less stealth oriented, and more run'n'gun oriented. If I wanted to play Modern Warfare, I would play modern warfare. Still, despite my reservations, I ordered the game and gave it a shot, expecting to hate the game to pieces. That never happened. I loved the game, and the new direction it took!

Yes, there is more emphasis on mowing enemies down in a hail of gunfire, but in most cases, that's optional. You can play the game a variety of ways: Ghost(silent and stealthy), Panther (Attack from the shadows like a ninja), or Assault(Pretty sure you can figure this one out). So, for the most part, you chose how you want to play things.

I say "for the most part" because there are a few missions in the game, that require to to mow down your enemies, and in fact completely switches to a Call of Duty style FPS shooter. They are quick missions though, and not overly annoying.

So, while I went into this game fully prepared to toss it to the side and never touch it again, instead I ended up playing it non-stop and completely enjoying the entire experience, Including online play(And I hate online gaming). Would I recommend it to other Splinter Cell fans who were hesitant with the game? Yes! In fact, I would recommend it to most gamers, since it has a very high replay value, and can adjust to your particular gameplay style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
I must admit, I was supremely disappointed when SC: Conviction was only released for XBOX so I ordered this as soon as I got a chance.

The best introduction in my opinion is the point system with three attack approaches: stealth, combat, and predator. This really adds a cool element and rewards you for being innovative in your approach. While the game has to be linear in some regard to keep the story progression, the various avenues of approach really make this fun.

If stuff hits the fan, you can run and gun however you need to be careful as the 'realistic' setting truly is that. 2-3 rounds will down the main character. In the same regard enemies are human and will go down with one headshot or a few rounds to vitals.

The detection and AI is truly amazing, as a glimse of your character will cause the NPC to look but not necessarily pursue, spotting but not identfying leads to pursuit in the area but eventual termination of search, and then detection leaves the options of run and hide, or utilize cover and dispatch the enemies before more are alerted.

Once enemies are downed you can hide them. Adding to the suspense is a music that fades in the closer the enemy gets. This really gets your chest pounding and brings the stealth experience full circle. The cover system is phenomenal, adding seamless transitions from cover to cover.

I am so happy that Ubisoft took their time with this one and truly delivered what I believe to be a great product with attention to detail. This is the best SC yet hands down IMO as you are encouraged to take a truly stealthy yet lethal approach to accomplish objectives. This requires a lot of patience but is truly rewarding in the end.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
While I miss Michael Ironside voicing a character he was a part of from the beginning the new voice actor chosen for this games Sam Fisher did a pretty good job.

The gameplay of stealth and deadliness is what makes Splinter Cell so iconic to many fans and they have kept that genre part of the game in here very well as well as some of the abilities from the previous game too. The controls are pretty simple once you get to know them or have played the previous SC games,the effects,audio and story are top notch kudos to Ubi Soft for the great work.

So for fans of the series here's a incredible new release and for those just getting started into the series I say if you can start from the first game or at least from the previous game to get a feel on the relationship. and story background of some of the characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here